We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location, Great Hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Huntsville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fairy Bay Guest House
Ranked #6 of 21 Huntsville B&B and Inns
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location, Great Hosts”
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Fairy Bay Guest House provides fantastic facilities for relaxing and exploring around Huntsville. The rooms are well furnished and spacious, and the lake side location ideal for swimming, canoeing, kayaking and barbeques (all provided). John & Christine are really welcoming hosts, and would highly recommend staying.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fjblake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
24
50
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Fairy Bay Guest House is a beautiful, peaceful, lakeside retreat perfectly located for exploring the Huntsville, Algonquin area or just relaxing by the lake. The waterfront area includes a sandy beach, canoes, kayak, fishing pier & lounge chairs. Even beach towels are provided. The day begins with a fabulous breakfast and ends with a campfire on the beach. The rooms are updated & very comfortable with large windows which open & have a nice view. A guest kitchen makes it easy to pack a lunch for the day or prepare a dinner. Grills and picnic tables are provided. Christine & John were delightful hosts and made our stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElSmCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

One of the best guest houses I've ever enjoyed. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. Other rooms available to guests include upstairs lounge/library, kitchen, downstairs lounge and breakfast room. Outdoor facilities are expansive--lounge chairs, gas grills, picnic tables, canoes, kayaks, fire pit. Breakfasts were healthy and excellent! Easy access to Huntsville and Algonquin.

Room Tip: The photos and descriptions are accurate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanG1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

My wife and I spent the weekend at Fairy Bay Guest House, and it was bliss. The house is located right by the water, and we are able to take the canoe or kayak out for a spin on the lake. At night, we gathered by the campfire and took in the night sky full of stars. In the morning, we were treated to an excellent breakfast, but my favorite touch was the constant supply for fresh bread for toasting. Nearby were the natural attractions of Arrowhead Lake and the urban attractions of the city of Huntsville. Thank you Christine and John for a most excellent weekend.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raymond C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

This was far and away the best b&b we have experienced!! The location was simply beautiful, the accommodations spectacular and the food scrumptious. The hosts, Christine and John, were truly pleasant and very hospitable.

The nightly bonfires and assorted wildlife sightings were icing on the cake! The beachfront was private with beautiful sandy beach and breathtaking view.

We stayed two weeks ago and have already re-booked for Labour Day weekend with our kids.

The Mantessos

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith and Anna-... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Our family spent 5 blissful days at the Fairy Bay Guest House. Our children, 3, 7 and 9, had an absolutely wonderful time playing on the well-kept and (well-stocked!) lakefront beach while just as happily, mommy and daddy were able to relax in Muskoka chairs :)! John and Christine were unbelievably kind and welcoming and went out of their way everyday to ensure that we were having a restful and fun visit. We all looked forward to the delicious breakfasts and we couldn't wait to see what kinds of freshly baked goodies would be waiting for us at afternoon tea. We couldn't have been more pleased! Thank you John, Christine and of course, Tucker! We'll certainly be back next summer, if not sooner!

Room Tip: Ground level bedrooms are perfect for a family retreat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sophia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

This is an upscale operation on a stunning location on a quiet, large bay leading into 4 lakes. The views are spectacular. The amenities are more akin to an Inn than a B & B as canoes , kayaks, paddle boats, fishing equipment etc are all available to the guests. The shoreline is all sandy beach, unusual for the Muskokas. The rooms are immaculate, modern and spacious. The hosts are very friendly and a wealth of knowledge about the area for sightseeing. The breakfasts are fabulous, making you feel you are in a five star hotel.
Garkar

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Huntsville
Comfort Inn Huntsville
#6 of 18 in Huntsville
178 reviews
3.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Muskoka Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hidden Valley Resort
Hidden Valley Resort
#4 of 18 in Huntsville
462 reviews
1.0 mi away
Deerhurst Resort
Deerhurst Resort
#3 of 18 in Huntsville
2,924 reviews
10.5 mi away
Pine Lodge Inn
Pine Lodge Inn
#1 of 1 in Port Sydney
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairy Bay Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairy Bay Guest House

Property: Fairy Bay Guest House
Address: 228 Cookson Bay Cres, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 1B2, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of Fairy Lake, minutes from downtown Huntsville, and a short drive to Algonquin Park.; Fairy Bay Guest House features large guest rooms each with a breathtaking view of Fairy Lake, ensuite bath, wireless internet, gourmet breakfast, fireside lounge, library, guest kitchenette, and BBQ. Enjoy the day on our waterfront with a sandy beach, peddle boat, canoes, and kayaks or adventure out to nearby golf, shopping, or on a bicycle and picnic lunch. Spend the evenings enjoying our bon-fire on the beach, curling up with a book from our library, watching a movie from our expansive DVD/VHS collection, or family time with one of our many board games. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fairy Bay Guest House Huntsville, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing