We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a treat to stay here”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Huntsville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fairy Bay Guest House
Ranked #7 of 22 Huntsville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
“What a treat to stay here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Fairy Bay Guest House for a week and loved every luxurious minute of it. John and Christine treated us like royalty. They are helpful, friendly and go out of their way, always with a smile, to make you feel welcome.

We stayed in the spacious, beautiful and charming Sandpiper room which has two huge windows looking over Fairy Bay and the beach, including a view of the sunsets. I believe all of the rooms are spacious as well, and the whole property is very clean and well maintained, looking almost brand new.

Out of a selection of canoes and kayaks provided free to quests, we enjoyed a paddle around the bay in a kayak for two, and spent many lovely afternoons just enjoying the scenery and sunshine on the beach in the Adirondack chairs. Weather allowing, John provided a beach side bonfire for guests each evening.

My husband took a one-man kayak out one afternoon and decided at the last minute to bring his fishing rod with him (although there is also a rowboat available for guests to use free) and managed to catch a pretty 15" largemouth bass, which he released without harming. An exciting experience in a kayak, needless to say!

One of the things we appreciated was how private and quiet the property is, yet how close to Huntsville's downtown - only a few minutes away. Huntsville is a very pretty town with flowers and rock landscaping everywhere, and lovely, interesting shops to spend time in.

Our room included a telephone, which we appreciated, since we live in the States and our cell phone does not have Canadian service. The TV in the room was new and we enjoyed a movie or two on evenings during our stay.

We really looked forward to the breakfasts each morning. Everything offered was fresh and delicious and so beautifully, presented - we really enjoyed the real violet flower garnishes and colorful fruit garnishes. Each breakfast included a buffet of cereals, a loaf of bakery style bread to slice for toast, homemade preserves, fresh fruit (we enjoyed a medley of fresh berries), yogurt, granola, fresh tasting orange juice and the freshly baked homemade muffins, thanks to Christine. She is a fantastic baker and runs a bakery out of the B&B. When we arrived, she was finishing up a cupcake order, and the lovely smell make our mouths water! John prepared a different hot entree each morning, with a level of finesse and professionalism seen in gourmet restaurants, such as delicious apple pancakes, or a delectable quiche, or the best Eggs Benedict I've ever tasted - the eggs cooked perfectly, and a hollandaise sauce to die for, with that tender, flavorful Canadian bacon I miss from having grown up in Canada.

We hated leaving and now plan to make the Fairy Bay Guest House an annual retreat for visiting my family. The sign in the foyer entrance says it all - "Welcome! Enter as strangers, leave as friends".

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djtho1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
24
50
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

I highly recommend the Fairy Bay Guest House. We stayed for 3 nights with our teenage children. The location is idyllic and John and Christine were truly hospitable. We felt instantly relaxed and enjoyed swimming and canoeing (John lent us the quality canoes), as well as using it as a base for Algonquin Provincial Park. The guest kitchen & outdoor dining allowed us to have a family BBQ one evening, and a relaxed lunch on another day, so we could chill out in the lovely surroundings when we didn't want to go into town to eat. It is a special place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 648Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

The Fairy Bay Guest house is located conveniently between Huntsville and Algonquin Park on a quiet bay with a sandy beach and all the conveniences. The hosts were very helpful and friendly and prepared a wonderful 5 star breakfast and a bonfire in the evening.
The room was spacious and clean and the beds so comfortable. Lots of books and games and seating in the common areas for not so great weather or unwinding after a full day of exploring.
We will definately be back soon
Debbie & Gary London Ontario

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sparrow Room overlooking the bay which was clean and large and beautifully decorate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We've stayed at the Fairy Bay Guest House on at least five occasions now -most recently the weekend of July 26th and have never been disappointed.
The accomodations are superb; breakfasts were tasty and the swimming is second to none.The hosts are very accomodating providing us on each occasion with terrific recommendations for restaurants in Huntsville.
We would highly recommend it for couples and families.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Absolutely fantastic place to stay! Facilities were basically "top-knotch". It is a beautiful place and has been laid out and decorated very well, as a B & B. John and Christine were wonderfully accommodating and provided fantastic homemade breakfasts! Besides have a lovely spacious room, there was a guest kitchen, 2 sitting areas, and other extra amenities; games, books, piano, kayaks, bbq, sandy beach..... Have no hesitation in recommending Fairy Bay Guest House to anyone. Wonderful stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirl0706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Family of three (9 year old) enjoyed our short stay at the Fairy Bay Guest House. We felt like we were in a postcard from the moment we arrived: beautiful guest house, rooms with lake views, 2 common sitting areas inside the house, great grounds with a real sand beach & shallow water entry, kayaks, canoes, lovely rooms, evening campfire/smores and excellent breakfast. We felt like we were staying at a resort, but with only a few guestrooms.

Room Tip: Although there was no swimming pool, Fairy Bay was better than any pool could be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatPittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairport NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

The hosts, John and Christine were extremely accommodating. The inn is on a lovely lake. Canoes and kayaks are available for use, as are a couple of bikes. Breakfast was homemade, delicious, and quite generous in size. The guest house is immaculate, and beds are comfortable. They even met the needs of my mother, who sleeps in recliner chair.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rocketstef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Huntsville
Comfort Inn Huntsville
#5 of 18 in Huntsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Muskoka Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hidden Valley Resort
Hidden Valley Resort
#4 of 18 in Huntsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
1.0 mi away
Deerhurst Resort
Deerhurst Resort
#3 of 18 in Huntsville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,719 reviews
1.7 mi away
Morgan House Bed and Breakfast and Wool Works Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairy Bay Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairy Bay Guest House

Property: Fairy Bay Guest House
Address: 228 Cookson Bay Cres, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 1B2, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of Fairy Lake, minutes from downtown Huntsville, and a short drive to Algonquin Park.; Fairy Bay Guest House features large guest rooms each with a breathtaking view of Fairy Lake, ensuite bath, wireless internet, gourmet breakfast, fireside lounge, library, guest kitchenette, and BBQ. Enjoy the day on our waterfront with a sandy beach, peddle boat, canoes, and kayaks or adventure out to nearby golf, shopping, or on a bicycle and picnic lunch. Spend the evenings enjoying our bon-fire on the beach, curling up with a book from our library, watching a movie from our expansive DVD/VHS collection, or family time with one of our many board games. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fairy Bay Guest House Huntsville, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing