We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great greater & greatest” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westside Fish & Chips Family Restaurant

Westside Fish & Chips Family Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 78 Restaurants in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Huntsville, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great greater & greatest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

eat here and love it.. i could say more but dont need to. if it's sunday morning and you've got a huge hangover.. eat here and love it even more. this is the place to eat breakfast and the even better place to eat fish and chips.though.. the breakfast is still amazing.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank blah372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    66
    28
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great food, great prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

We came into Huntsville for a wedding, and I had seen the positive reviews about the Westside on TripAdvisor, so while I was waiting for my partner to arrive, I went across the road for dinner. He arrived partway through dinner, so we stayed there a while. The next morning, disappointed by the small choice at the hotel's "breakfast", we went back.

We both had the fish (Haddock) and chips for dinner, although I had the coleslaw as well. Everything was very good - the fish was done really well, the fries hot and tasty, and I loved the coleslaw. We each had a few beers, which come by the 355ml can, and a piece of pie apiece - the pie was great too. All together it came to about $60.

Breakfast was equally good, both food and service. He had the Starving breakfast (3 egg, bacon, ham, sausage, toast, home fries), and coffee, and I had the pancakes, side of bacon, and tea. The pancakes were huge, and I couldn't finish them, even though they were fluffy and tasty. He said his breakfast was great. All told, it came to just over $20.

The restaurant is not a fancy place, but there's room for 40-50 or so. The back room has a view of the water, but all the rooms have big windows. There's even a patio area, which didn't appear to be in use at the time because of the weather. There is a large bathroom with a changing table, and the sign says it is wheelchair accessible. There's a pretty varied clientele, but everyone seems happy with the food.

We will certainly return if we're back in Huntsville.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ottawavalleytourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best Fish - And That's No Tale”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Well known all over Ontario for their fish, and the rest of their menu is great too. Staff is awesome. If you like tea pots you need to see their collection.

Helpful?
Thank SKIP-BO-STFU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Service and Okay Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

We went to Westside Fish & Chips after an afternoon of snowtubing at Rockridge. It was a restaurant recommended by family members. Firstly, the service is really great. The woman who waited on our table was friendly and was fantastic with our 2 little boys.

Unfortunately, the food was just okay. The portion size was a little small. We order a lot of kids meals, and this by far, has to be the smallest portion size my boys have ever eaten [they are 4 and (almost) 3 yrs of age]. They actually ate their whole meal and probably could've eaten more (we ordered the kid's Kraft dinner and 3 haddock pieces with fries).

I ordered the 1 piece halibut meal with half coleslaw and half fries. A little skimpy on the fries, but the meal was satisfying. The one thing that I couldn't understand was why they were serving little packets of tartar sauce and lemon juice - they are supposed to be a fish and chips place, so homemade tartar sauce and fresh lemon wedges should be an important part of their business. It was a little disappointing considering some "non-fish and chips" restaurants have their own tartar sauce (i.e. Jack Astors).

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mich&Cam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravenhurst, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Small town experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Love the atmosphere here. Very tasty food= home cooking.

Helpful?
Thank L and b P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Westside Fish & Chips Family Restaurant also viewed

Huntsville, Muskoka District
 
Huntsville, Muskoka District
Huntsville, Muskoka District
 
Huntsville, Muskoka District
Huntsville, Muskoka District
 

Been to Westside Fish & Chips Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing