We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Monster Burger is Great”

The Birches Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 79 Restaurants in Huntsville
Cuisines: American, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The Monster Burger is Great”
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We had dinner during our stay in the hotel. The staff was very friendly. The Monster Burger is delicious and the Valley burger has the best value (comparing the ski chalet food and cost). We will definitely come back next time when we stay the hotel.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Feng L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    35
    21
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Birches Bistro - Hidden Valley Resort - a great meal”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

October 21st, 2013 - The Birches Bistro 705-789-2301

We were here for an overnight get away,
and then to Bala for "all things Cranberry" the next afternoon.

Hidden Valley Resort (next to Deerhurst, near Huntsville) is on a beautiful piece of property overlooking a lake. It was typical hotel-style rooms but we appreciated the new beds.

Our evening dinner at Birches was a highlight - just excellent and quite a pleasant surprise - great food complete with a fireplace & a Lake view. Even the house wines, both red & white from Chile, were very good.

Food presentation was an unexpected surprise -
more than we expected for the area and the resort style.

We woke up the next morning to our first light snowfall of the year - beautiful view and another great brunch meal.

Service was attentive and friendly - Ian, Mandi & Joy were all top notch.

We will return some day.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WasagaBeach2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Valley resort - The Birches Bistro”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

October 21st, 2013 - The Birches Bistro 705-789-2301

We were here for an overnight get away,
and then off to Bala for "all things Cranberry" the next afternoon.

The resort is on a beautiful piece of property (next door to Deerhurst) overlooking the lake. It has typical hotel-style rooms - but we appreciated the new beds.

Our evening dinner was a highlight, and the service was attentive and friendly.

Excellent food complete with a fireplace & a Lake view.
Even the house wines, both red & white from Chile, were very good.

Food presentation was an unexpected surprise -
more than we expected for the area and resort style.

As for the staff - Ian, Mandi & Joy were all top notch - Thanks !!

We woke up the next morning to our first light snowfall of the year !
Beautiful view and another great brunch meal.

We will return some day.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WasagaBeach2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food!”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Had the family size pizza and was it ever good! Would definitely recommend. Service was great. We went during weekday so hardly anyone in there, large seating, have price range average to high on the Menu depending on your taste.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ari T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stouffville
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Cold Food!”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed for the Sunday Brunch on Thanksgiving Weekend. We were among the first people to arrive for brunch, but everything was supposedly up and ready to go. Fresh made omelet was great! Tea biscuit was very dry (I couldn't eat it), and hot items were not hot (or warm). Turkey and Beef were cold. The best dessert was the Berry Crisp (but there was no ice cream to put on it). The pumpkin pie looked very dry and was cracked and pulling away from crust. I told the hostess that the food was cold and she went back to tell the chef, but I don't know what happened after that. Probably wouldn't eat there for brunch again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank senior_traveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Birches Restaurant also viewed

Huntsville, Muskoka District
Huntsville, Muskoka District
 
Huntsville, Muskoka District
Huntsville, Muskoka District
 

Been to The Birches Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing