We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Manage Expectations on Facility”
Review of Cranberry Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cranberry Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Collingwood
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Location - Manage Expectations on Facility”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We booked an RCI Timeshare exchange to Cranberry as we wanted to explore this area of Canada. I am thankful for TripAdvisor as this helped manage my expectations going in - and this would be my encouragement to anyone booking here: MANAGE YOUR EXPECTATIONS. Don't expect modern, new facilities, and you won't be disappointed. We were in the "Fairways" condos as part of our exchange. The unit we had is showing its age -- could use some new carpet, appliances, and furniture. The mattresses and linens appeared to be pretty new and we found them comfortable. The walls appeared to have been painted recently, but there were lots of chips and holes in the walls - likely remnants of all the ski equipment there in the winter. Mildew stains were pretty heavy in the bathroom showers, sinks were a bit stained (again, it's the age thing - and we all have some unsightly aging, don't we?) - but baths were clean. The units were generally clean but could use a good deep clean in every corner, nook, and cranny. The dishwasher in our unit did not work (and we just handwashed - no big deal) - but the issue was not addressed, even though we talked to two different people early in our week-long stay. Upon check-out, we found that there was no record of our repair request at all. When we checked in, we found a few bulbs in our until needed replacing, and this was done very quickly from when we let the front desk know - we were impressed by this! The washer/dryer combo was old and the dryer needed to run two or three cycles to dry our relatively small loads. The indoor pool is in dire need of an upgrade, and it was our understanding that this upgrade was scheduled to begin this month. The outdoor family pool was great - our kids loved it!

Bottom line, expect an older unit that is showing its age, and you will be fine. It's not the nicest timeshare exchange we've done, but we enjoyed our week and time in the unit. The area is great - as others have said, visit Blue Mountain Village and Scenic Caves for some excellent views and good physical activity in the summertime!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingDrJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonBuckle, General Manager at Cranberry Resort, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your review. All hotels from time to time need to upgrade their furnishing and ownership is in the process of addressing this issue, We have already completed 2/3 of the rooms at the main hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    210
    211
    143
    183
See reviews for
339
364
15
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We (2 senior in laws, me, wife, 5yo boy) went July 2014 for a timeshare presentation in return for a deal-$100 for 2 nights (in laws paid full price $300). We were told we would be staying at the place the time share guests stay. Not True. Mr. Law (the owner) put everyone in the Cranberry "resort" (not quite as nice as a Motel 6), a short distance from "Living Waters" the fancy place they try to sell you.

The Bad - No elevator so you carry luggage up stairs to room; Housekeeping did a perfunctory job cleaning / making bed; The pool was not clean; The Restaurant food was tasteless but the flies did not seem to mind.

The Good - Staff friendly to a fault; The pontoon boat ride included was excellent; Restaurant booked live entertainment (Derek the guitar player was excellent); The sales presentation was bearable, they (comissioned salespersons) want $18K plus $900/yr for 99 years of "points" usable for about 2 weeks stay at their locations; The manager offered us modest compensation when they saw the state of our room.

Tips: You are no worse off staying at the Holiday Inn express, Luxury Inn or at the Intrawest timeshare deal. At Scenic Caves BRING RUNNING / HIKING SHOES or you will have to buy them there.

The rating would be higher if we were not lied to about where we would be staying when we signed up / paid at "the taste of italy" festival in Toronto. We highly recommend visiting the nearby Scenic Caves and Blue Mountain Village.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ultimatefrisbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonBuckle, General Manager at Cranberry Resort, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Collingwood hotels

Guelph, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2014

When staying on any of the timeshares on the property ... You night want to ask for a refurbished suite... As they working hard to complete all of them
I was pleasantly surprised that they now have a great breakfast buffet with lots of information about all the activities there and in the area. It also gives you a chance to meet others staying on the property
The wine and cheese event has been very classy in recent years... Held in the Bear estate looking over the water... And now it is even larger... With addition of hot and cold appetizers. When I was there this week the theme was South American and they even matched the food with wines from Argentina... The theme was only announced half way through the event so would be nice to know at the beginning. There was also live music... A great eve!
I would like to reccommend that the chef label the items...so people know what they are eating and it would help anyone that has allergies

On Wednesday eve there is free live jazz in Collingwood by the station with food and beverage sales... Bring you own chair for a fun eve
On the first weekend after july1 there is a jazz weekend at blues mountain village only a few minutes away from the resort

Room Tip: Ask for refurbished timeshare duties when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 27Sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonBuckle, General Manager at Cranberry Resort, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for your sincere comments. We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us and would recommend us to other visitors. We will definitely look into the food labelling as you generously suggested.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

So...I booked a couple days away at The Living Water Resort for my annual mother-daughter get-away. Received the confirmation for the Harbor Street location (3 confirmations). We showed up to the resort on our check in day and were told our room was booked at this resort...down the street. I was confused...but thought maybe there was another section? We went to the address they gave me and ended up staying here. This was NOT the room I booked...NOR was it the resort I booked. Needless to say...we were very disappointed. The room is very outdated...there wasn't even a fridge or microwave in our room. The tv didn't work properly...the pop machine was out of order...and the best part was...you needed your room key to get ice. We tried to make the best of our get away...but this was a major disappointment for both of us. I'm still trying to connect with hotel.ca to try and figure out what went wrong...but have not heard back from them. First time I've used that site to book a room...and it will certainly be the last time! This place is not a resort...not even close!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jellybean99Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonBuckle, General Manager at Cranberry Resort, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
All hotels from time to time need to upgrade their furnishing and ownership is in the process of addressing this issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We recently spent a night in the Living Waters Resort Residence on the Cranberry Resort property. First I would like to thank the Cranberry Resort for donating the gift of a one night stay and $100.00 spa treatment to the Canadian Cancer Society's Relay For Life in Mississauga in June 2013. This prize was one of many offered at the Survivor dinner at Relay For Life. This was a special year as it was the 75th anniversary of the CCS. I was the lucky cancer survivor who won the grand prize that night a year ago from the Cranberry Resort. My partner and I waited until June of this year to claim our prize. Our prize was a double bed room but we asked to be upgraded to a king room. This was no problem for the helpful staff at Cranberry. In fact we were given a beautiful two room king suite with a full kitchen. We liked everything about the room and were grateful for the upgrade. All of the staff at the front desk were friendly and very helpful. Our room was ready a few hours early and this was another plus. Our treatments at the spa were good as well. The spa is not large or of the quality I am used to but it was adequate and the staff were great. We enjoyed using one of the pools indoors both days of our stay. We had dinner in the Tapas restaurant and the food was great. We found the Tapas restaurant to be understaffed. However our waitress did her best under the circumstances. Again, thank you Cranberry Resort for your generous gift. Mary & Peter

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonBuckle, General Manager at Cranberry Resort, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for your very detailed and complimentary review. The Cranberry Golf Resort and our employees is always happy to participate with many charity organizations as well as the community. As part of our "FUN and CARING" community attitude at the resort it was a pleasure working with the Canadian Cancer Society's Relay For Life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I had asked for a renovated room on the 3rd floor and it was wonderful, updated and very clean. The pool is badly in need of repair Nd painting. Looks very unappealing. Also the restaurant bistro or whatever its called is very old, dated, scratched chairs and table and the floors are dirty and lifting. Flies were everywhere in the restaurant. Also unappealing. Friendly, helpful staff, tho.
I dont think i will return.
Also no elevators. Have to use the stairwell.

Room Tip: Make sure u ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonBuckle, General Manager at Cranberry Resort, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for your review. I am please that you were able to enjoy one of the newly renovated rooms. This project will be completed by the end of August. I am also excited to let you know that the pool is also currently receiving a new make over and will be ready by August 08th. In the meantime our two outdoor pools are available for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I found the staff to be very friendly the area surrounding the resort has excellent shops and restaurants I would strongly recommend going to blue mountain village and checking out the caves and caverns and going for lunch in the village there's a plethora of restaurants and pubs... I was a little disapointed with the cleanliness of our suite... The room wasn't ready when we got there but we were given a key anyways. The indoor pool should be drained and painted ... The resort is dated and the garbage bins were overflowing with garbage and the seagulls were spreading it everywhere... Not sure if I would return to this one.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGrizwalds1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonBuckle, General Manager at Cranberry Resort, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
I appreciate you choosing to stay with us and taking the time to leave feedback on your trip. Our pool is currently being upgraded and will make a splash once it is completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Collingwood
1.1 mi away
Georgian Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 11 in Collingwood
305 reviews
0.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Collingwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain
3.7 mi away
Blue Mountain Inn
Blue Mountain Inn
#4 of 8 in Blue Mountains
354 reviews
0.3 mi away
Living Water Resort
Living Water Resort
#2 of 11 in Collingwood
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranberry Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranberry Resort

Property: Cranberry Resort
Address: 19 Keith Ave | Highway 26 West, Collingwood, Ontario L9Y 4T9, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Collingwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Collingwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cranberry Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cranberry Resort, set against the panoramic backdrop of Blue Mountain and the beautiful waters of Georgian Bay, is a world-renowned, 750 acre year-round vacation destination. At the Cranberry Resort, you can experience an expansive 18-hole golf course, full-service marina, fine dining, a luxurious spa and a wide range of outdoor and indoor fun the whole family can take part in. Cranberry Resort is a 4-season vacation paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cranberry Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranberry Hotel Collingwood
Cranberry Resort Collingwood, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing