We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“high price wine and average pasta which was disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Trattoria Azzurra

Trattoria Azzurra
Ranked #10 of 116 Restaurants in Collingwood
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Eatery serving refined Italian cuisine with a focus on local ingredients & fine wines in a homey, elegant atmosphere.
Guelph, Ontario
Level Contributor
290 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“high price wine and average pasta which was disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

On July 25, 2014 we dined at Trattoria. The atmosphere is upscale and classy. We both ordered a glass of wine of which both were excellent, except for the price as you can buy a whole bottle at the LCBO for less. This is what is going to stop people ordering wine in restaurants as they are pricing themselves out of the market. I ordered the soup and it was excellent. We both ordered the same dish and it was average at best and I could make a better dish at home so was disappointed. The music playing was irritating and I spoke to someone about it but they never did change it so I guess they really do care. To top it off I ordered the apple cherry crumble and it was very good. Our server was Alicia was very good and really enjoyed her service. Probably would not go back to this restaurant again, but I hope they can do better.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goldenboy1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    91
    34
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quispamsis, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great evening...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Great food and setting! A romantic evening! The staff was very helpful and courteous. A must when visiting Collingwood!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike2916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic !!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

My husband and I shared a wonderful evening out at Azzura's !! The food was exceptional ! On every level !! The Flax salad - and fresh trout - were outstanding !!! Cannot wait to return !! Thumbs up !!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruthann-Caroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornbury, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Another wonderful dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Having lived/worked in Italy and recently travelled there, Azzurra always brings me back to what I love about Italian food: freshness and simplicity. Just had another fantastic meal on their patio the other night with friends and family. We had the sharing menu that offered a nice choice for everybody. Service was friendly and attentive. Very good selection of wines, tried a great syrah from Niagara. Overall just a wonderful meal with friends and I look forward to our next dinner at Azzurra.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MuchFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
292 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Average Italian cuisine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

My husband & I dined here to celebrate our wedding anniversary. I did have the impression this restaurant was upscale fine dining, but it was very casual in reality. All other diners were wearing shorts or jeans, so that was a bit of a mood changer since we were out for a special dinner.

The service is perfectly fine; nothing wrong with it at all.

Our meals were a little lackluster. For an Italian restaurant I expected the dishes to have a lot more flavour. In actual fact, our own homemade pasta dishes are more flavourful. We shared the marinated olives and I had the bison tagliatelle as my main dish.

I wouldn't return to this restaurant again when in the Collingwood area because there are many other restaurants to try & this one missed the mark.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank trvlwrldgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria Azzurra also viewed

 
Collingwood, Ontario
Collingwood, Ontario
 
Collingwood, Ontario
Collingwood, Ontario
 

Been to Trattoria Azzurra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing