We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best place in Cochrane by far”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Swan Castle Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cochrane
Certificate of Excellence
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
210 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“best place in Cochrane by far”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

Clean, modern amenities, friendly staff, accross the road from the train station if you're venturing up the coast. Really about the only solid choice in cochrane.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramblingsalesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    49
    15
    0
    3
See reviews for
28
25
6
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2011

We stopped there while being on a snowmobiles trip. The place was very charming, beds are really comfy and the continental breakfast was just what we need for a quick leave. Their rooms were nice and clean. And the staff were friendly and helpful, even the housekeeping staff always had a smile. It felt warm and welcoming!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZackL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wherever
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2010

Usually a nice place to stay, but we were absolutely appalled when we found an extra 150.00 charge that was added to our credit card about a month later. I called the hotel to find that they had THOUGHT a dog was in our room because they saw us outside with a friend who had a dog. When I called to ask them to remove the charge they wouldn't even though there was never a dog. My advice? Tell all friends with animals not to come near the hotel and don't initial the fine print where it says that they can charge you for something after you leave without reason. Even after calling their head office, nothing was done. I was very dissapointed, and to this stay still have to swallow the ridiculous charge.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank avidtraveller085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

This is a newer hotel in the Cochrane area and probably the best . Clean and large rooms. Only complaint is that the hotel is located in a shady part of town (off main street). Lots of kids hanging around with not much to do (other than to vandalize). I had my car damaged by in the hotel parking lot..

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe_ETF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sudbury
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2010

We stayed at the Swan Castle for 2 nights. We arrived, from North Bay, on the train at about 9:30 PM. The train station is right across the street. Reception was quick and very curteous. The hotel was very clean, appealing and very quiet. The continental breakfast was good. The hotel is within walking distance from everything needed.
We visited the polar bears which was just amazing. However, we walked there. Instead of crossing the railway tracks we walked around. Don't recommend that in the heat we did it in. The New Mandarin restaurant is excellent.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nctrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2010

I was in Cochrane for only one night and flew out of Timmins the next morning to return home to Toronto.

My stay at the Best Western was pleasant and drama free. The front desk was extremely helpful and Rita (who is bilingual) was very friendly.

The rooms were clean and spacious. Ample parking to the side and front of the building.
Breakfast was more than satisfying! (Originally I worried that we would have to make a stop at Tim Hortons on the way to the airport). There were lots of grains (toast, bagels, english muffins, etc), cereals, eggs, oatmeal, bacon, juice, coffee, etc. A complete continental breakfast to say the least.

If ever I have to travel to Cochrane again, I will be sure to stay here again.

** please note to drive with caution on the highways (especially Hwy 655). The area is known for moose, caribou and bears. Please do not feed wildlife if you see them, or discard your garbage on highways and rural roads. It attracts wildlife, which poses a threat to your life and theirs. Imagine hitting a baby black bear on the road? We saw one and stopped to take photos.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KittensFever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2010

We needed a place to stay somewhere along highway 11 that was past Kapuskasing and we didn't think that we would be able to make it to Kirkland Lake that night. The Best Western Swan Lake Inn seemed to be the best bet. We called the hotel from the highway to book a room for the night. The front desk clerk was very patient and put up with multiple dropped calls from our cell due to poor reception and we got a room for the night.

The hotel was very clean and looked as if it had been recently renovated. We had 2 queen beds in our room, and not just 2 double beds, which was a real treat. The only complaint that we had was that the air conditioner was not on so the room was very hot when we got in. That was solved in just a few minutes after we turned it on. The beds were comfortable and the pillows were great. Overall, this was a great overnight hotel on highway 11.

The hotel is across the street from the train station. The next morning we heard no less than 5 trains come in a very short period of time but we were awake by that point so it didn't bother us.

The continental breakfast was edible but not great.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvcuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cochrane hotels
64.3 mi away
North Adventure Inn
North Adventure Inn
#5 of 7 in Cochrane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thriftlodge Cochrane South
0.0 mi away
The Station Inn
The Station Inn
#3 of 7 in Cochrane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Swan Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Swan Castle Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Swan Castle Inn
Address: 189 Railway Street & 7th Ave | P.O. Box 1118, Cochrane, Ontario P0L 1C0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Cochrane
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cochrane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Swan Castle Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Swan Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cochrane
Cochrane Best Western
BEST WESTERN Swan Castle Inn Cochrane, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing