We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another good stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cobourg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Breakers on the Lake
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cobourg
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Another good stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed twice during our annual visit to our family near Ottawa. The location is great, next to Lake Ontario with its own private beach and in its own well-maintained grounds. The welcome is friendly and helpful. The only changes to our room from last year are a new coffee percolator and the kitchenette worktop now has fluorescent lighting. Lighting generally is poor, the two standard lamps did not work, the table light has a tungsten bulb and the ceiling light is too dim. Time to up-grade to energy efficient lighting! Despite this it is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Auxiliary7010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    33
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
33
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nepean, Ontario
Level Contributor
121 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

The Breakers has been the scene of our annual family reunion, (about a dozen strong) for about a decade. It never fails to provide a welcome setting. The rooms are clean, comfortable and well-equipped. The outdoor areas have barbecues, fire pits picnic tables and lots of seating. The beach is sandy and clean. Cobourg itself offers all you need in shopping and walkable attractions. Unfortunately, the Breakers is usually booked up on summer week-ends with regular repeat visitors. You might have a better chance mid-week or in the off season. The office staff is very helpful and ready to lend nearly anything you need. The larger units have full kitchens, the smaller ones mini-fridges and microwaves.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Northern_Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundridge, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

The weekend of March 28-30 was our team's year end hockey tournament and we needed 10 rooms. I had seen the Breakers sign when lost in Cobourg on a previous trip and called them up. Although they do not usually book hockey teams, they took a chance on us and I'm so glad they did.

The service was exellent, with the staff staying in contact with me the month prior to our arrival to confirm rooming list and miscellaneous items. Upon arrival, we found the rooms spotless, the location perfect, and all the ameneties we needed for a weekend stay.

I had a corner housekeeping unit (#11) and I loved the loft bedroom, and the well appointed kitchen. Other parents had rooms with 2 beds, and some had the units on the second floor with a great view of the lake.

It is an ideal location if you enjoy walking as you are close to the marina, the beach, and the Main Street with all the neat shops and restaurants. I had parents tell me they would come back for a couple's vacation.

Thanks again to the staff, we had a great weekend!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RachelMilne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We ended up at The Breakers just before Christmas due to loss of heat and hydro at our home in Toronto after the ice storm. With a toddler and a large dog, our options were limited. We couldn’t stay in our unheated home, but couldn’t find a pet-friendly hotel in the city. Along with two other family members, we escaped to The Breakers, which turned out to be a blessing in disguise. We stayed in one of the ground floor corner units, which provided plenty of room for our busy toddler and 85-lb dog. We appreciated the fully equipped kitchen facilities which allowed us to save on meal costs, and the gas fireplace which kept the room cozy and warm. Little extras like dog towels and dishes were also greatly appreciated. The Breakers is ideally located on the lake, and was especially beautiful with the frozen landscape. In spite of the ice and intense cold, we also had the opportunity to explore the quaint town of Cobourg. We’d love to come back again, and joke that this may become our new pre-Christmas family tradition.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank desertlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

A few of my friends and I went to this hotel for an overnight get away from the hectic Christmas schedule. Our room was perfect. It was clean and well appointed. Had all the amenities and you could see Lake Ontario from our big bright window. The staff are friendly and it is definitely a family run operation not a big chain hotel. I would recommend this place. The Christmas lights in Cobourg were a high light for us. (no pun intended) A great little town.

Room Tip: Room #14 is a good room with a fireplace and lots of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mary lynne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, ON
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

In November, my husband and I were visiting family in Fenelon Falls and making a trip to Port Hope the next day. I checked out hotels in the area and this one sounded interesting, being right on the lake. We like small, unique, non-chain hotels when possible. They also accepted our tiny dog and it was very reasonably-priced.

Our room had a gas fireplace that took the chill off nicely after a cold night. It was literally steps from Lake Ontario, close to the picturesque downtown of Cobourg and a park. The dawn was spectacular.

The room was very clean and had lovely doggy amenities: a food mat, a blanket and towel. The beds were firmer than we prefer, but still good. There is a fully-equipped kitchenette with tableware and cutlery, a coffee-maker and a small refrigerator; a round wood dining table with two chairs, a couch and armchair, and still enough room for a square dance. I would suggest a bit of local art on the walls, a small coffee table for the couch, a light over the dining area by the fireplace (maybe a swag?) and a fold-away webbed stand for luggage, but otherwise it was extremely well-equipped and cozy. There is a little play set for small children outside, and the beach just beyond.

The floors were laminate I believe - very good for allergy sufferers and for sweeping up sand that might get tracked in. The floors, bath and kitchen were spotless. The rooms are not "fancy", the decor is a bit dated, but everything is sturdy and clean.

The hotel was decorated for the Christmas season. The location is very pretty, with many mature trees. Great location for those who like dawn and sunset walks.

The staff called us after we left because we had forgotten the dog's leash; they were prepared to mail it to us, but we were still nearby and picked it up.

We really liked it and would stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 6, the end unit by the lake. It has a gas fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlmaFudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

The Breakers is a charming older property located on the shore of Lake Ontario in the little City of Cobourg, Ontario. The location is very quiet, being somewhat removed from both the 401 and the main City streets. However, it an easy walk to the core of downtown Cobourg, which has many charming stores and restaurants, as well as some interesting architecture.

While the interiors of the rooms have been updated and renovated recently, the exterior is in bad need of a wood scraper and new paint. Inside, the room had two comfortable beds, a gas fireplace, well-equipped kitchen and a small, older TV (with mediocre reception). An array of DVDs and VHSs (yes, they still have VHS) were available for rent. Pets are allowed on the first floor of the two story buildings, so we opted for a second floor room. Very quiet, with no noise from plumbing or neighbours.

The service was small-town friendly. I would recommend this spot for families or couples. Well-priced, especially in the off-season.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cobourg
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cobourg Inn & Convention Centre
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Cobourg
Comfort Inn Cobourg
#3 of 6 in Cobourg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
6.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Port Hope
Comfort Inn Port Hope
#2 of 2 in Port Hope
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Woodlawn Inn
The Woodlawn Inn
#1 of 7 in Cobourg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mackechnie House Bed and Breakfast
2.0 mi away
The Cedarview Motel
The Cedarview Motel
#4 of 6 in Cobourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakers on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakers on the Lake

Property: Breakers on the Lake
Address: 94 Green St, Cobourg, Ontario K9A 3W1, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Cobourg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cobourg
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Breakers On The Lake Hotel Cobourg
Breakers On The Lake Cobourg, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing