We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WiFi Was Unsatisfactory” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Cobourg Inn & Convention Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cobourg Inn & Convention Centre
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cobourg
Certificate of Excellence
North Bay, On
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“WiFi Was Unsatisfactory”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had a two night stay for a friend's wedding. The room was quite satisfactory, lovely King bed, quiet and dark. Only had one bath towel so we called for a few extras and they were delivered with no problem. All rooms were taken for the Friday and Saturday.

We were in 162 and the WiFi was terrible, in fact unusable and we had to go to the Lobby and even there it was only okay, certainly not what it should be. I spoke to the desk several times and they said they were having problems. I would have been more upset if I was a business person needing to get work done. Upon checkout the counter person apologized for the poor WiFi and said he would add 250 points on my Best Western card which was appreciated.

No Free Breakfast at this Best Western as they have a big restaurant on site (Arthur's). Sunday Breakfast Buffet was $11.95 and quite satisfactory. In the plaza across Burnham there is Open Plate Restaurant where we had lunch and it was fine.

Don't miss Main Street shopping, Victoria Park and the Marina and super beach. They had 48 Volleyball nets set up for a tournament that weekend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    121
    52
    11
    9
See reviews for
120
64
15
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We have yearly business to do in the Cobourg area. We always stay here and bring the kids with us too. There was a time (read my last review) when it was great service from Lisa and Brian. The front desk has expanded and now that great service is also rendered by JT. Every one of these staff members will go over and beyond the call of duty to make sure you're happy. This stay around we had some minor issues with the internet not working and the key lock system just being a pain in the you know what!

Everything was apologized for and fixed as fast as possible. What more can you ask for when you are on the road away from home. All I can say is that we're already looking forward to our return in 2015!

Room Tip: If you're planning on staying for a number of nights with the kids, ask for the rooms with 3 que...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2hotheaded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

A good place to stay in Cobourg. The pool was great for our kids. The youngest really enjoyed the water features in it. Rooms were clean and comfortable. A bit pricey. One night cost me $171 including tax and I have a Crown Club membership.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank scubafamily2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We were travelling through and showed up at the hotel without reservation but evidently there was not too many people there. The front desk lady gave us the special rate for CAA. Our room was a good size, beds were ok and the place was clean. The hotel is not far from the 401 which makes it easy to get to. The room was average both in terms of size and decor. The hallways appeared somewhat rundown with the carpets fairly worn and the beige wallpaper really dated so much so it seas falling off the walls in a few places. There is a dining room in the hotel but we did not have a breakfast included which would have been a plus. Parking was not an issue and was free. The dining room appear also in need of a refresh however the food there was good. Overall good place for travellers but it will not mark your imagination.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danoonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glammis
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

After numerous stays at this hotel, I can say the experience just keeps on getting better. From the quick checking in and out at the main desk, to the cleanliness of the rooms. My last stay was on the second floor and I couldn't smell any cigarette smoke in the hallways anymore that used to come from the ground floor. Ahhh... to wish for a smoke free hotel, what a concept! The weekday breakfast buffet is outstanding along with the separate egg and omelette station with made to order requests. Amazing comfort of the mattresses and bed. Only issues were with the heating/ cooling system at night sounding like a jet engine going to full throttle and then shutting down. Hot tub and pool were always appreciated at the end of the day after training as well. Hope they would designate the three spots in front of the main doors for motorcycles only though for lighting and security. Thank you,

Room Tip: Has an electric vehicle charging station on the west side near the pool, for those going along the T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Westerwald1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stay at the Best Western hotel at least twice a year the serice at the hotel is Excellent the people and rooms are very comforable and very clean. The only thing is don't have beakfast there, the eggs were burned and pototes taste like they were the night befores potaotes heated up There are lots of restauturat in the aera that are very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Philomena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Enjoyed our stay at BW Cobourg. From check-in to check-out, wonderful stay. Restaurant experience was also excellent. Would recommend this hotel without hesitation. Found the hotel staff and restaurant staff very accommodating and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Randy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cobourg
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Cobourg
Comfort Inn Cobourg
#3 of 6 in Cobourg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Port Hope
Comfort Inn Port Hope
#2 of 2 in Port Hope
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
7.6 mi away
No photo provided
Budget Inn
#1 of 2 in Port Hope
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Otonabee Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Otonabee Inn
#1 of 12 in Peterborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
24.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bowmanville
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bowmanville
#2 of 3 in Bowmanville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Woodlawn Inn
The Woodlawn Inn
#1 of 7 in Cobourg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Cobourg Inn & Convention Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Cobourg Inn & Convention Centre

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Cobourg Inn & Convention Centre
Address: 930 Burnham Street, Cobourg, Ontario K9A 2X9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Cobourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cobourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Cobourg Inn & Convention Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Cobourg Inn & Convention Centre is a full service property offering an indoor pool, whirlpool, fitness centre, inhouse restaurant and lounge, business centre and 11 meeting and convention/banquet rooms. We are conveniently locate a 1/4 mi south of highway 401 off exit 472 and offer 87 guest rooms and suites for your business or getaway needs. Our friendly and courteous staff will make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Cobourg Inn & Convention Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cobourg Inn And Convention Centre
Best Western Plus Cobourg Inn & Convention Centre Hotel Cobourg
Best Western Cobourg
Cobourg Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cobourg Inn & Convention Centre Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing