We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Accomodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saxony Motel & Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Chatham
Hagersville On
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Accomodations”
Reviewed 4 December 2012

In the past three weeks my partner and I stayed there twice each week for business in Chatham. The rooms were great, and the host Roger and his handyman Ken, and the cleaner were very polite and helpful. As for the earlier reviews about bugs etc, there were none. The rooms are now remodelled (new beds etc) and they are now very clean and tidy. I gave it a rating of 5 and would recommend this motel to everyone and anyone who would like a nice clean room without worry about bugs or problems of any kind. Next week I have to finish my business in Chatham and will be staying there again.

Room Tip: I stayed in three different rooms and all of them were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    37
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
27
28
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lindsay, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Front desk clerk was friendly. Outside is dated, but rooms have been remodeled nicely. Beds are comfortable and clean. Bathroom looks like it belongs to a higher end hotel. We stayed with our three small boys and they were very accommodating, offering a crib and extra towels if needed. Internet was working (they actually have 2 internet connections available, just in case). Breakfast was standard continental fare, but fine. Overall, great hotel for the price. We would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Chose this motel for a nice night away with the girlfriend. The choice was made based on the reviews I had seen here plus the rate. The motel was easy to find with a GPS and I do have to agree that the outside is needing work. Once you step inside the room the opinion totally changes! You have to agree its the room not what the building looks like that matters. The bed was very comfortable and served its purpose very very well. The room was perfectly clean with no hidden surprises. The bathroom was good took, with a decor that you might see in a higher end hotel. We didn't try the continental breakfast as its not our style, but right next door is a resturant (forget the name) that served us well.
As someone that works and is involved with the hotel/motel business, I am picky where I stay especially when its motels. I hafe to say that this little beauty is one that I would recommend and will be returning to.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelWorker71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajan K, Owner at Saxony Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Thanks for writing this review & sharing with us .Honestly speaking sometimes when we read these reviews we feel overwhelmed with emotions ( Good ones ) . We feel very blessed & justfied
by our guests as if they are speaking on our behalf to the whole world.Thanks a million. We would keep on making the changes you ask for & until we can afford to do it.Our goal is to make this property one of the BEST in chatham & we will make it happen, one day , we are pretty sure about it , of course with your help ( your suggesstions & recommendations ). One more good news I would like to share with all of you , we have ordered the new balcony railings , now it is just matter of installing it on time & that is totally in the hands of our contractor. So, please be patient & keep on sending your honest views & thoughts to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012 via mobile

Super nice owner, above average cleanliness of rooms. Sheets are definately washed every day, breakfast isnt fancy but better than nothing. The slightly dated outside def. does not match the inside!

Only complaint is there should be deadbolts on the doors...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dutchtuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Having found this motel on TripAdvisor, we decided to give it a go, and were very happy with it, so stayed 3 nights. Large, clean, very nicely renovated room, huge bed, and the fridge was a bonus - so many motels in Canada don't seem to have them. Very pleasant owners and staff, who seem eager to please, which is a refreshing change. They are doing a good job renovating the motel, and deserve to do well, especially if they keep their prices low. We were aware of people going up and down the outside metal stairs in the early morning, but the noise wasn't too bad. Internet access is free, and a "help yourself" continental breakfast is available in the office area. Recommending this motel, as very good value.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TopazTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajan K, Owner at Saxony Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Thanks for writing this review & sharing with us. I find great satisfaction in knowing that you loved the room , you stayed in. It gives me great joy to learn that you had a wonderful & very comfortable stay. We are here to make you happy, comfortable & feel welcomed everytime you walk in through our doors. We do enjoy & remember the discussions, the suggesstions & the recommendations made by our guests. We like to listen to our guests needs & even try to fulfill them if we can. We do feel highly appreciated & lucky in the sense that our guests take time out of their busy schedules & write their honest views & then share it with all of us.Please feel our heart felt thank you & really really hope that if your travels bring you in our area please give us another chance to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2012

The redecorated rooms at the Saxony are lovely and very clean, the beds comfortable and the owner is extremely pleasant. As soon as the exterior work is completed, this motel will easily be worth a five star rating. Value for money is excellent. I was very happy with my choice of lodgings. I have in the past paid much more for much less at other establishments.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajan K, Owner at Saxony Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write this review & for understanding. I am glad that you loved the room ( newly renovated ) . We are working very - very hard to make this place one of the BEST place to stay in Chatham. We do face lots of challenges & hardships when it comes to the renovations but we are determined to take them on & not give up. We owe lot to our guests who over the years have stayed with us & wrote their honest views without distorting it or exaggerating it. These kind of reviews help future guests to see the clearer picture of the place.Rome was not built in one day & Saxony Motel's renovations are not done either. So, Please keep giving us little more time so that we can make you happy at your next visit. We can just dream about being 5 - Star but as they say dreams do come true if you work hard .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valders
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

This is a motel which from outward appearances we never would have stayed at. But alas we had already paid. But once inside the door of the room we were quite pleased and satisfied. The room had recently been refurbished and updated and though some things were lacking it was nice. But the lobby and exterior is really sad. It's an older motel that appears near collapse. Breakfast is limited as hotel breakfasts go and space to eat in the lobby was almost non-existent. The room lacked a deadbolt or secondary chain or latch and the neighborhood was older. There's a popular restaurant next door and Tim Horton's across the street. Not all rooms are updated. If you stay here make sure to get an updated room in the back.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room in the back of the motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Feml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajan K, Owner at Saxony Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write this review. I am very pleased to know that you loved the room you stayed in.Now, I would like to address few of the concerns you have raised. Firstly, in regards to the dead bolts on the doors, we would not be able to install until all the new doors are in & painted. Secondly, our contractor has started to work on the exterior of the building but you did not do justice in explaining the exterior of our building There are no safety concerns with the exterior of our building. Let me reassure all our future guests that it is safe & nice & clean building. Having said that Yes, ,there needs to be some work done on our balcony i.e railing & paint but that can only be done once the exterior work is finished & all doors are in.We have very strict guidelines when it comes to the safety of our guests & we would never do anything to jeopardise that.Our contractor is going to fix the balcony too so please be patient & keep sending your honest thoughts & views, we really appreciate them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chatham hotels
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Chatham
Super 8 Chatham
#8 of 10 in Chatham
262 reviews
1.1 mi away
Retro Suites Hotel
Retro Suites Hotel
#1 of 10 in Chatham
382 reviews
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 10 in Chatham
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Travelodge Chatham
Travelodge Chatham
#3 of 10 in Chatham
234 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South
0.2 mi away
Kent Motel
Kent Motel
#6 of 10 in Chatham
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saxony Motel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saxony Motel & Restaurant

Property: Saxony Motel & Restaurant
Address: 521 Grand Ave E, Chatham, Chatham-Kent, Ontario N7L 3Z2, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Chatham-Kent > Chatham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Saxony Motel & Restaurant 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Saxony Motel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saxony Motel & Restaurant Chatham, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing