We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Saved our fishing weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saxony Motel & Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Elmira, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Saved our fishing weekend”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We were originally going to stay at a campsite at Mitchell's Bay from Thursday night to Monday, but due to the rain it was flooded. We called around everywhere on Thursday for the best price and The Saxony gave us an incredible deal!! only a bit more than staying on the campsite. Ken, the hotel attendant helped us carry in our gear to the second floor and was very friendly. They had adequate parking for our two boats and trucks. The rooms were very large and roomy even with 3 people too a room. The beds were very comfortable and clean, I was cautious because of the reviews I had read. They are way off the mark. This place was great. Fridge and microwave in each room and cable TV so we could relax after fishing with some cold beer and watch the hockey game. Would definitely recommend. There is also a sushi place and Tim Hortons right across the road, and a restaurant on site. Great stay that saved our fishing weekend.

Room Tip: Ask to get the best price possible. They will give you various options to get you the best deal. Go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark_elmira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    37
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
27
28
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Ken,

The renovations are great and the price was fantastic.

After my show in Chatham, my wife & I were tired...

Ken upgraded us to a king sized bed (at the same price), end room upstairs and helped us upstairs with our luggage!

Quiet motel, and convenient to 401 or highway #2 , we drove the latter to London for my next gig and lucked out at garage / yard sales along the way...

We'll recommend the Saxony Motel to anyone, who wants a great place to relax, sleep when in Chatham!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We had to come in Chatham, Ontario to attend our daughter's dance competition. We booked Saxony motel because others were full and read good reviews about this motel. But it was worst experience of the life in staying non branded motel.

We noticed bad odor when entered in the Lobby, we could not sleep because beds were uncomfortable, we will never return nor recommend to any one to stay in this motel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajan K, Owner at Saxony Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thanks for your review. I am so sorry to hear about your experience at our motel. We have recently renovated our whole property inside out. We bought the best mattresses and they are of commercial grade. We will try to keep your recommendations in mind and we will try to improve , even more. We want all our customers to be happy and comfortable and we hope to see you soon if and when your travels bring you to our town. Thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick, Ontario
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I was in Chatham for a funeral and my family worried about me staying at this motel because of previous reputation. It is under new ownership and has all been renovated - it was so nice that I invited my family to come and see for themselves. They agreed it was beautiful. An excellent job has been done on the renovations - the bed was comfortable and everything was very clean. I highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TechTravellerOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajan K, Owner at Saxony Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thanks for your review. We really appreciate your comments. We want our customers to be happy and feel at home. I am very pleased to know that you loved our newly renovated rooms. Thanks for staying with us. Please visit us again if and when your travels bring you to our town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park Ridge, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed here for New Years Eve 12/31/13 because we were too tired to drive through the night back to the States from the Falls.
Well, When he opened the Door , I was pleasantly surprised at the nice furniture and updated decor and cleanliness.

There was a clean microwave, refrigerator, great signal / many cable channels, WIFI included.
FREE Breakfast offered! Muffins, cereal, coffee, fruit, waffles.

The attendant on staff was very nice and brought us extra blankets and even set up the sofa bed for our kid.

The only complaint i have is that the wash cloths were stained badly and should be thrown away if the chlorine didnt clear that up. The pillow cases should also be changed after each guest.

very decent motel. It appears that they updated the place since 2011. Keep up the good work and thank you for the pleasant stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationxpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajan K, Owner at Saxony Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thanks for staying with us and taking time out of your busy schedule to write this review. I will like to congratulate the Saxony Motel's whole team which includes front desk staff , housekeeping and maintenance personnel for doing such an amazing job.. Now, let me address the issues you have raised. The pillow cases are changed every time the guest, checks - out whether it is a short or long stay. We apologise if it was not up to your satisfaction. On Jan 11th,2014, we have added new inventory of wash cloths, fresh pillow cases batches, hand towels and some bath sheets as well too. We really appreciate your input because it pushes us to work even more harder to make this property one of the best in Chatham, ON.I hope that you will stay with us again if your travels brings you to our neighbourhood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAUBAUSHENE, ON
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I would like to report that this was a very clean and newly renovated motel, located remotely (about 5 minutes from downtown Chatham, ON) to restaurants, banks, etc.

The staff were very accomodating, and yes the room (We upgraded to jet tub suite) was all newly redone and was remarkably, fresh and clean.

This room was equipped with a bar size fridge and microwave, all in clean and working order also take out available till midnight on a weeknight. The TV was meh, but who really watches TV away from home?

I would definately stay here again, or recommend to future guests!

Lots of thanks from Tom and Eileen (Waubuashene, ON)

Room Tip: Jet tub suite was right beside the rental office, and the jets were a bit noisy, but suited our need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malo_y_Loca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajan K, Owner at Saxony Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write this review. Our team works very hard to satisfy and fulfill most of our guest's requests. Honest reviews really help us grow & push us to make the experience even more better for our guests. Thanks Tom & Eileen for staying with us at Saxony Motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

My wife and I traveled from Detroit to Buffalo and stopped in Chatham ONT Canada for a business call the following morning while my wife remained in the motel room.

This is a family owned motel that is very clean - with well equipped rooms including fridge and microwave and lots of TV stations. Our bedding was new and the bathroom was newly renovated so it was an excellent stay. They offered lots of pastry and good coffee for breakfast, that morning but our diets didn't let us sample the donuts and pastry.

I always hate to bring up pricing, but no matter what the price this was a good motel to visit - and made especially nicer because of their more modestly priced rooms.

Room Tip: There was an on site independent restaurant - didn't try it since we had eaten along the way. Lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajan K, Owner at Saxony Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Thanks for writing this review . I am very pleased to know that you really loved our room. Please keep writing your honest reviews & we will keep on working hard to make your next stay more comfortable & pleasant. I hope that you will visit us again , when & if your travels bring you to our town. thanks for staying at Saxony Motel in Chatham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chatham hotels
1.1 mi away
Retro Suites Hotel
Retro Suites Hotel
#1 of 10 in Chatham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 10 in Chatham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Chatham
Super 8 Chatham
#8 of 10 in Chatham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
3.5 mi away
Travelodge Chatham
Travelodge Chatham
#3 of 10 in Chatham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kent Motel
Kent Motel
#6 of 10 in Chatham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saxony Motel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saxony Motel & Restaurant

Property: Saxony Motel & Restaurant
Address: 521 Grand Ave E, Chatham, Chatham-Kent, Ontario N7L 3Z2, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Chatham-Kent > Chatham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Saxony Motel & Restaurant 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Saxony Motel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saxony Motel & Restaurant Chatham, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing