We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and friendly!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saxony Motel & Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Chatham
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We just stayed at the saxony this past weekend for a baseball tournament and were very happy with our stay at the saxony.Very large clean rooms, beds were very comfortable! Staff was very friendly every time we walked by them they were sure to ask how are team was doing and wish us luck etc.Very nicely renovated rooms and highly recommended! oh and the breakfast was pretty good too offering pastries, ,cereal, muffins bagels waffles,juice coffee and tea! ...and tim hortons located right across the treet was an added bonus!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CarsonsBaseball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

64 - 70 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

We were in Chatham visiting family and stayed one night this weekend at the Saxony motel. We booked a queen room and when we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised to find that we were upgraded to a king room. The room was fairly basic but had everything we needed for one night's stay.

Bed was comfortable, linens clean, bathroom with a shower and soaker tub, tube TV and small sitting area, desk/chair. The one night stay price included free wifi and breakfast which was fairly simple but was all we needed. The only negative was the room smelled musky even after we ran the air conditioner for a couple of hours and although the motel said all rooms were non smoking, we could smell a faint smoking odour -- not sure if this used to be a smoking room before the renos. For the price, you can't beat it even with the one negative issue.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GusToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Nicely renovated and clean room. Bed and pillows new and comfortable. Overall good attention to detail, for a simple motel. Decent, affordable room for the night on our road trip. Basic breakfast included too.

Room Tip: Strong smell of air freshener in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BH-ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajan K, Front Office Manager at Saxony Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for the great feedback! Here at Saxony Motel we strive to make each guest's stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our motel. We would love to accommodate you again sometime in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We were originally going to stay at a campsite at Mitchell's Bay from Thursday night to Monday, but due to the rain it was flooded. We called around everywhere on Thursday for the best price and The Saxony gave us an incredible deal!! only a bit more than staying on the campsite. Ken, the hotel attendant helped us carry in our gear to the second floor and was very friendly. They had adequate parking for our two boats and trucks. The rooms were very large and roomy even with 3 people too a room. The beds were very comfortable and clean, I was cautious because of the reviews I had read. They are way off the mark. This place was great. Fridge and microwave in each room and cable TV so we could relax after fishing with some cold beer and watch the hockey game. Would definitely recommend. There is also a sushi place and Tim Hortons right across the road, and a restaurant on site. Great stay that saved our fishing weekend.

Room Tip: Ask to get the best price possible. They will give you various options to get you the best deal. Go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark_elmira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Ken,

The renovations are great and the price was fantastic.

After my show in Chatham, my wife & I were tired...

Ken upgraded us to a king sized bed (at the same price), end room upstairs and helped us upstairs with our luggage!

Quiet motel, and convenient to 401 or highway #2 , we drove the latter to London for my next gig and lucked out at garage / yard sales along the way...

We'll recommend the Saxony Motel to anyone, who wants a great place to relax, sleep when in Chatham!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We had to come in Chatham, Ontario to attend our daughter's dance competition. We booked Saxony motel because others were full and read good reviews about this motel. But it was worst experience of the life in staying non branded motel.

We noticed bad odor when entered in the Lobby, we could not sleep because beds were uncomfortable, we will never return nor recommend to any one to stay in this motel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajan K, Owner at Saxony Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thanks for your review. I am so sorry to hear about your experience at our motel. We have recently renovated our whole property inside out. We bought the best mattresses and they are of commercial grade. We will try to keep your recommendations in mind and we will try to improve , even more. We want all our customers to be happy and comfortable and we hope to see you soon if and when your travels bring you to our town. Thanks for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I was in Chatham for a funeral and my family worried about me staying at this motel because of previous reputation. It is under new ownership and has all been renovated - it was so nice that I invited my family to come and see for themselves. They agreed it was beautiful. An excellent job has been done on the renovations - the bed was comfortable and everything was very clean. I highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TechTravellerOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajan K, Owner at Saxony Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thanks for your review. We really appreciate your comments. We want our customers to be happy and feel at home. I am very pleased to know that you loved our newly renovated rooms. Thanks for staying with us. Please visit us again if and when your travels bring you to our town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chatham hotels
1.1 mi away
Retro Suites Hotel
Retro Suites Hotel
#1 of 10 in Chatham
479 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Chatham
Super 8 Chatham
#9 of 10 in Chatham
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Chatham
Comfort Inn Chatham
#3 of 10 in Chatham
46 reviews
3.5 mi away
Travelodge Chatham
Travelodge Chatham
#4 of 10 in Chatham
268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kent Motel
Kent Motel
#6 of 10 in Chatham
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saxony Motel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saxony Motel & Restaurant

Address: 521 Grand Ave E, Chatham, Chatham-Kent, Ontario N7L 3Z2, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Chatham-Kent > Chatham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Chatham
Price Range: £31 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Saxony Motel & Restaurant 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Saxony Motel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saxony Motel & Restaurant Chatham, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing