We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Oshawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised!”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Chatham, Ontario, is not renowned for its hotels, but the arrival of Holiday Inn Express in 2010 may very well change this perception.

I have stayed in a number of Holiday Inn Express hotels before so I was pleased that one had replaced the Wheels Inn--so-named by locals because of the Ferris wheel that was located behind it.

The Holiday Inn Express, Chatham, is the result of the re-modelling and refurbishing of the Wheels Inn.

As a new hotel, I expected and discovered current decor and comfortable furnishing. Rooms were spacious and clean. I chose a room with a king-sized bed, although the same type of room also offers two queens. My room came with a queen sofa-bed.

Perhaps I was most satisfied by the bedding. All sheets and bedding, including duvets, are white. This is always a good sign for me because it reflects how conscious hotel staff about providing clean bedding. I was especially heartened when I noticed that sheets and duvet covers are changed when a room is vacated (I actually took my time in the corridors and observed the housekeeping staff). There was even a selection of different size pillows to choose from.

The air-conditioning/heating unit was a little noisy, but tolerable and it did not prevent me from falling asleep.

Holiday Inn Express serves breakfast at no additional cost, but it was the usual hotel fare in a comfortable room that easily seats 60 people.

The staff made me feel very welcomed. They were happy to tell me the history of the hotel and encouraged me to return. I will definitely stay there on my next trip to Chatham.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HalseyV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    85
    17
    6
    4
See reviews for
67
35
11
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brantford
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We went to this hotel with a team for tournaments over a weekend. I think we were way overcharged for the room - there was supposed to be a block of rooms together for the parents and kids. They did separate the team on two different floors (which I wasn't too happy about). The rooms were clean, the staff was pleasant. The maintenance man does double duty on the weekends he also works as security, we were talking and he had received a call to fix a toilet - he went to It Immediately. They advertise free continental breakfast and It was way more food then what we were expecting. They had a machine that made pancakes fresh, bread, bagels, english muffins, cereal, scrambelled eggs, yogurt, fruit, coffee, tea, oj and cranberry juice, milk. They also had sausages (I didn't try them - they were the only thing there that didn't look good). When any of the breakfast Items were getting low the staff was there Immediately to refill It. I wouldn't go there again because of the cost, I would only normally go to Chatham for tournaments anyway, but the amount they charged our group was too much. The pool was advertised as a salt water pool (which I was looking forward to) It had been clorenated because of the amount of people staying at the hotel. There was a games room for the kids - which they enjoyed as well. The kids didn't care that the pool was not salt water (that was just me) they loved the pool as well.

Room Tip: The suites are the only rooms that have a microwave In them - we were lucky, that's what we ende...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantford, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a ball tourn here two nights clean comfy rooms spacious all amenities here the pool is on the small side but the kids loved it and the arcade is maxing nice decorated modern hotel I would highly recommend and full breakfast owlets bacon sausage etc .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tammypalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We stayed here for an overnight getaway. We booked a suite. The separate bedroom had a very comfortable king size bed. The kids used the queen size pull out sofa - and they loved it...maybe because they could watch tv in bed - a simple luxury for them. The room had plenty of space for the four of us. Lots of restaurants close by. We ordered in food for supper and ate family style in the room - because there was a great kitchen table/chairs in the suite. Kids loved the pool - not huge but perfect for them. Fun games room that didn't hurt the pocketbook. Morning breakfast was perfect - every home should have their pancake machine....staff were outstanding. I can't say anything wrong about this property...on the way home we went bowling at the bowling alley around the corner from the hotel...great getaway.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cawwac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

This is a brand new hotel on the site of the old Wheels Inn. The rooms are large, very clean and the staff were very friendly. The breakfast is standard hotel fare but good, hot with a nice variety. I would absolutely recommend it for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Used to live in Chatham and regularly visited the "Wheels". The Bradley family have done a very nice restoration job with a modern lobby and very helpful staff. I now visit sick friends and they do a special rate for people coming from out of town for funerals, hospital visits, etc. It's nice to be back home and made to feel like it!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drugb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

The lobby is very bright and welcoming. Lots of space to lounge and have breakfast. There is no restaurant on Site but many places to eat close by. A hot breakfast with good selections available free. Good fitness centre and there is a games room. Rooms were clean and well appointed.
I would recommend staying here. Front staff very friendly.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the front of the hotel. There is a train that runs along the back around 11 pm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chatham hotels
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 10 in Chatham
24 reviews
1.4 mi away
Retro Suites Hotel
Retro Suites Hotel
#1 of 10 in Chatham
400 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Chatham
Travelodge Chatham
#3 of 10 in Chatham
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Super 8 Chatham
Super 8 Chatham
#8 of 10 in Chatham
264 reviews
2.5 mi away
Saxony Motel & Restaurant
2.4 mi away
Kent Motel
Kent Motel
#6 of 10 in Chatham
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South
Address: 575 Richmond St, Chatham, Chatham-Kent, Ontario N7M 1R2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Chatham-Kent > Chatham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Chatham South
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing