We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel ! Excellent Service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel ! Excellent Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

We recently stayed at the Holiday Inn in Chatham during a weekend for a minor ball tournament. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. They had the kitchen staff start breakfast service 1 hour earlier to accommodate our very early morning game. The beds were so comfortable. We had a suite and really enjoyed having the extra space with the living room and kitchenette with table & chairs. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area. We had first class service all the way! Congratulations to the staff! We even won the tournament to boot!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frewie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    80
    16
    6
    4
See reviews for
60
35
11
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
140 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

Very fast checkin, lots of free parking, huge, well appointed rooms with excellent beds. Rooms have a flat screen TV and there is free wifi in the rooms and a great buffet style breakfast! Very well organized Hotel with a big salt water pool and a very nice fitness center.

Room Tip: There are no bad ones! They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajax, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

When I arrived on the first night of a business trip, I was told that my room had been upgraded since a large family group was expected in and they wanted to make sure I was quiet and comfortable. Although the group was very amicable, the extra consideration was much appreciated.

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor facing the parking lot, generally quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tecumseh, Canada
Level Contributor
163 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

The fairly new Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Chatham, Ontario has the potential to be a great place to stay. Stayed there last week as part of a conference that was being held in the John D. Bradley Convention Centre located on the same property. More on that later.

We were on the second floor and, for a no smoking area, one was hit in the face by stale cigarette smoke upon exiting the elevator. This created a first impression that was not easy to dispel.

The front desk staff was terrific and very accommodating. The room was clean and there were no issues with housekeeping.

But the cigarette smell, well ......

This property has the makings of a world class centre for medium sized conferences except for the fact that there is no connection between the hotel and the conference centre. We were required to walk outside between the two venues. So, on the more formal night when it rained that was not a good thing. I also think that it would be a detriment in the winter with the snow and slush on the ground or during a snow fall. Too bad that they cannot link the two.

We would stay there again, but would request a higher floor. Our colleagues on the 6th floor did not experience the same issue.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the upper floors and get a suite if possible. They are exceptionally nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

Staying for a conference and was excepting a "good enough" hotel, but I have to admit was "wowed" The lobby is small but nicely decorated. Check-in was extremely smooth and front desk staff helpful, efficient and friendly. Room was spacious and very clean. Bed was perfect with all-white linen and a good variety of pillows. Lots of hot water (and the hotel was fully booked) with great water pressure. No restaurant on-site but they did offer a great self-serve breakfast that even included a selection of hot items.

Room Tip: Had a room facing the the road so no issue with train noise as stated in other reviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Acton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, Canada
Level Contributor
185 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

Stayed here two nights. Small but clean (salt water) pool, bed mattress is comfy but thin walls so don't plan on making too much nighttime noise....Lots of parking, large breakfast area with your basics: hot scrambled eggs, boxed bacon, etc, but I admit i do love those cinammon buns!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a suite-- you may get an upgrade. they have fridges
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FromChathamOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

We went to Chatham for a tournament and really didn't know what to expect. The Holiday Inn was a better than we expected. Staff were really friendly and accommodating. Rooms were clean and the staff were "flexible" with special requests which we were grateful for. The breakfast is basically continental even though there are eggs, sausage it was really packaged food. So enough to fill you, but not healthy. The arcade was better equipped than in most hotels, with prize too.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CC-CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chatham hotels
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 10 in Chatham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Chatham
Travelodge Chatham
#3 of 10 in Chatham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
2.5 mi away
Super 8 Chatham
Super 8 Chatham
#8 of 10 in Chatham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Saxony Motel & Restaurant
2.3 mi away
Kent Motel
Kent Motel
#6 of 10 in Chatham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
3.0 mi away
Colonial Motel
Colonial Motel
#2 of 2 in Chatham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South
Address: 575 Richmond St, Chatham, Chatham-Kent, Ontario N7M 1R2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Chatham-Kent > Chatham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, IHG and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Chatham South
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing