We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit of a disappointment...”
Review of Spice and Curry

Spice and Curry
Ranked #4 of 135 Restaurants in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chatham
Level Contributor
328 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“A bit of a disappointment...”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Went with a friend to Spice and Noodle. My friend suggested that I try a lunch special that included some of six different items. Not having had Indian food before I took her suggestion. The garlic cauliflower was delicious, but the rest of the meal was not to my liking. I really did not enjoy. The butter chicken was fine, but the vegetables were cooked in a very spicy sauce and were in tiny pieces. They didn't look or taste appetizing, and the lentils not much better. Perhaps if I had ordered something different it would have better.

The service was fine?

Helpful?
2 Thank jehorney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    24
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I can't count how many Indian restaurants I've eaten at. This is by far the best! Each dish is fresh and tasty. They'll make it spicy for those who love some heat or mild for those who don't enjoy the heat. The rogenjosh, paneer tikka masala, and beef vindaloo are amazing but the goat curry is my new favourite. The restaurant is small and comfortable. It's the perfect hidden gem!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vmas79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unexpected delight”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

On the suggestion of the hotel receptionist, I tried this restaurant. In a nondescript strip mall, it is small, and could be easily missed. This is a small restaurant, with a simple decor, no linen and candles here, but don't let that put you off... I wasn't expecting that the food would be as wonderful as it was. It was just great. I had the lentil soup, and it was a revelation, full of flavour, veggies and a lovely aroma. My server was friendly and helpful, and worked with me to choose a dish and spice level (I like things spicy!) to my taste. I had the lamb roganjosh. Excellent flavour, just lovely. The rice and naan were perfect complements. The food was wonderful, the server attentive and pleasant, and it was a great meal. I highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelsForWorkAndFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious food. Don't miss out.”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Delicious Indian food...highly recommended. Lots of choice for vegetarians and other. We will return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ecinaj2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Wow! Absolutely fantastic”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Great service, great food. Very genuine cuisine. If you like hot get the lamb vindaloo. The chili fish is also a favourite.

Helpful?
Thank intrepidwayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spice and Curry also viewed

 
Chatham, Chatham-Kent
 

Been to Spice and Curry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing