We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique hotel, a true gem!”
Review of Retro Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Retro Suites Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Trips to the Chatham area are a treat because of the opportunity to book a room at the Retro Suites Hotel. I have had the good fortune to stay in a number of well appointed suites, each one tastefully decorated with obvious care to detail and uniqueness. Every corner of the hotel, be it lobby, hallway, staircase or room is a treasure to discover with countless memorabilia. Furthermore, the place is impeccable! Where else are water bottles, microwave popcorn and long distance phone calls throughout North America complimentary? The cost is amazingly comparable to the express chains of hotels and the complimentary business breakfast is healthy, fresh and delicious. I was having trouble with Internet access in my suite. George left the front desk to adjust the settings on my laptop in my room then rebooted the system downstairs and called to make sure it worked. I have never experienced this level of customer service elsewhere. In fact, the staff has always been outstanding whether in the hotel or the restaurant.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helene905854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (431)
There are newer reviews for Retro Suites Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 431 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2014

Our son got married in Dec. Every thing was held at the Retro Suites-rehersal dinner, wedding & reception. It was amazing!! The staff could not have been more helpful, meals were delicious, decor beautiful & the rooms outstanding. Many of the wedding party stayed at Retro & everyone was 100% satisified. Cudo's to Peter for all his help & expertise. Our rehersal dinner was held in the Chilled Cork. It was perfect! Staff, service, food-everything stellar.
Thanks to all for a wonderful weekend!!

Room Tip: They are all good!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nurses53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We had our wedding rehearsal dinner, ceremony & reception at the Retro Suites on NYE.

It was absolutely perfect. Having everything in one location made our day stress free. The service we received throughout our entire experience was impeccable. We planned everything from Saskatoon and had no issues communicating via email and phone. RS was able to accommodate all of our requests and used their expertise to help us plan our night.

We also filled every hotel suite the night of the wedding as well as 10 the night before the wedding. We had the opportunity to see most of the suites and they are all so gorgeous. The pictures online don't even do them justice. We stayed in King William and it was like a fairytale. It is the most gorgeous and elegant room I have ever seen.

Our photographer (from Saskatoon) absolutely LOVED the environment. He had so much fun setting up shots in a bunch of the rooms and using the different backgrounds and props throughout the hotel to get some really great pictures.

Room Tip: King William - perfect romantic getaway
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brose88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan B, Guest Relations Manager at Retro Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Hello Brose88,

Congratulations and many blessings for the New Year! It was a pleasure for us to have such a wonderful group of people staying with us on New Years Eve. It was such a beautiful wedding and we thank you for letting us help out with all the details on your special day.

Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to review our property. Our staff and management team love hearing our guests feedback, we are very happy you enjoyed your time with us! Congratulations!

Wishing you all the best in the New Year!

Kindest Regards,

Nathan B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Both our wedding ceremony and reception were held at the Retro Suites Hotel on December 28, 2013. Everything was absolutely amazing. During the wedding planning, we communicated mainly via email and they always responded very quickly. I felt like I was able to ask lots of questions and they gave suggestions and helped me in any way that they could. On the day of the wedding, the staff made everyone feel welcome. The rooms were very unique and our guests loved it! The hotel staff worked together with our decorator to make everything look exactly how we wanted. The hall was first set up for the ceremony, and after the ceremony was done they closed the doors and transformed the hall into a beautiful reception setting. The service we received from both the hotel and the Chilled Cork went above and beyond our expectations. The dinner was excellent and we heard nothing but positive comments from all of our guests. We would highly recommend the Retro Suites Hotel to anyone looking to plan an event.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan B, Front Office Manager at Retro Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Hello Tanya,

Congratulations on your beautiful wedding! We are so glad that you enjoyed your special day here and we are blessed that you chose us to help host your beautiful day! Thank you for your kind words, our staff members pride ourselves on our professional service and will be reading your kind words. We appreciate your gracious feedback, thank you for taking the time to review us.

Wishing you a lovely evening! Congratulations!

Kindest Regards,

Nathan B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The Retro Suites has been nothing but amazing and flexible with the planning of my wedding. My husband's career requires a lot of moving and travelling, so I ended up planning all of my wedding from a distance. They were very understanding when I was not able to reply to their emails right away. They also were very prompt in answering all my questions and concerns.

Everything was ready to go when we arrived, and they offered/allowed my guests to relax in the Chilled Cork while the banquet hall was being flipped. Everyone was really nice and kind. Together with my decorator the hall looked amazing! It was beautiful! The food was on time, and tasted amazing. I had nothing but compliments the whole night.

We stayed in the Sky suite that night, the room was beautiful and comfortable. The bathroom was amazing. We loved the free popcorn! We had brunch the next morning with family and it was really good and the atmosphere was very relaxing.

My wedding day was amazing, and I'm so happy I choose the Retro Suites to host. I will definitely be recommending them to future friends and family.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brittany R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan B, Guest Relations Manager at Retro Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Hello Brittany,

Thank you for your kind and thoughtful words! We are elated that we got to help you plan such a fantastic wedding, it is one to remember for us and it was a pleasure meeting all of your wonderful friends and family throughout planning this event. We wish you all the best with your future endeavors and many blessings in your future! Congratulations!

Wishing you a lovely evening!

Kindest Regards,

Nathan B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We stayed in one of the cheapest rooms (Brownstone) but absolutely loved it! Very unique hotel with cool artwork everywhere.

The restaurant has been hit or miss in my experience.

Complimentary access to the gym in the mall next door and to a local yoga studio.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank eightydays11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Beautiful hotel. We stayed in the Sky suite with fireplace and large glass shower. The room had 14 foot ceilings with a stunning chandelier in the bedroom. With the room, we were offered free bottled water and microwave popcorn. Retro Suites is located in the heart of downtown Chatham, excellent fine dining within walking distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ontario1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chatham hotels
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Chatham
Comfort Inn Chatham
#3 of 10 in Chatham
33 reviews
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Chatham
Travelodge Chatham
#4 of 10 in Chatham
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Chatham
Super 8 Chatham
#9 of 10 in Chatham
274 reviews
1.1 mi away
Saxony Motel & Restaurant
1.0 mi away
Kent Motel
Kent Motel
#6 of 10 in Chatham
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Retro Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Retro Suites Hotel

Address: 2 King St W, Chatham, Chatham-Kent, Ontario N7M 1C6, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Chatham-Kent > Chatham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Chatham
Price Range: £98 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Retro Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Artfully nestled in historic downtown Chatham, The Retro Suites is a first class hotel with comfort, elegance and style that will surpass all your expectations. Being the only hotel downtown, guests are always a short walk from fine dining, shopping and live theatre. Our 35 guest suites are all individually appointed and create a one of a kind experience that is uniquely yours. With over 2,500 square feet of event space our venue is ideal for any corporate event, wedding ceremony or reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Retro Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Retro Hotel Chatham
Retro Suites Hotel Chatham, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing