We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best I've Ever Had.”
Review of Mike's Place

Mike's Place
Ranked #47 of 138 Restaurants in Chatham
Restaurant details
Chatham, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best I've Ever Had.”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I specifically joined this site to leave a review after reading the one below. I have been coming to Mike's Place since I was a little girl. NEVER have I had a bad experience. Also, the patio is AWESOME, and the atmosphere is great. I've never had a bad experience with service, but they do get quite busy. Best, wings, pizzas and PANZEROTTIS.OMG the Panzerottis are to die for and with out a doubt the best in town. I usually eat one of the 3, but others I have been with have never had an issue with their meals either. NEVER have I had an issue with Brenda, I think she is a sweet lady. My kids like going because they get to make their own pizza, and they get a toy. I'm sure if they did make a mistake, they would take care of you if you speak up.

Only complaint I would have is I'm always too full when I leave!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danielle0968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    13
    4
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Consistently Inconsistent”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This place used to have the best pizza in town. Actually, all their food was quite good. I was quite a regular weekly customer. Any more, the quality of the food seems to be directly related to who might show up to cook it that day. In the last 4 or 5 years it would appear they really don't care about their customers any more. They have adopted the "I don't need you as a customer becasue we're busy anyway" attitude. It starts at the top with Brenda. Getting a smile or any kind of social interaction seems to be quite a chore. It's gotten to the point where she seems to be down right miserable, and that is no way to treat your regular customers, especially when she is the one at the door most times. With the exception of one decent pizza, the last 5 or 6 meals I have had here have been edible at best, and downright awful at worst. The pub side can have a good atmosphere, and a good selection on tap, but that doesn't make up for the prevailing attitude. If you want a good place to just go drink, it's fine, but if you want good food, it's gonna be a bit of a crap shoot.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Our lunch place”
Reviewed 24 January 2013

They have the best onion rings and burgers and soup and and and1
Everything is good and we love to go for lunch. Portions are large and we usually take home a doggy bag.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank BridgetD710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing Panzerotti's”
Reviewed 27 December 2012

I don't think you should go anywhere else if you want a panzerotti. My husband won't get one anywhere else - he actually craves them haha!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“A bit pricey for basically a bar”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Took my father there and the prices were the first thing he noticed (oh and how dark the place is inside too).Onion ring were the highest we've seen. The menu items for lunch were a little on the heavy side, so we opted for the clubhouse sandwich which they made to his liking. Fries were very fresh and crisp and the overall bill for the clubs were reasonable, but that was were it was limited too. Their pricing was more in line with a dining room, not a bar.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank MikeV57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mike's Place also viewed

Chatham, Chatham-Kent
 
Chatham, Chatham-Kent
 

Been to Mike's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing