We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfasts”

Chilled Cork Restaurant and Lounge
Ranked #3 of 136 Restaurants in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$30
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
East Jeddore, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Breakfasts”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We were staying at the Retro Suites and had free breakfasts at the Chilled Cork. It bright, clean with great serviced. The room was decorated with old movie posters and all the tables and chairs were different styles and colours. Loved the eclectic look.
Best bacon ever, but we had to ask for it well done.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank happyhounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    67
    25
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ailsa Craig, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We live out of town and visited Chilled Cork for brunch today and were quite disappointed in the food. There were 6 of us; one person had the Full English which was quite good and ample, four had the Classic which was good although not ample and the potatoes were rubbery. I had the Mexican Eggs Benny which was a real disappointment. The Full English and the Mexican Eggs Benny were priced the same at $12 but there was no comparison. It was described as 2 poached eggs (they were fine), tortilla (crisp strips only), black beans (probably 2 tablespoons in total), pico de gallo, anco aioli and guacamole (the latter 3 were just a small swirl each upon which the 2 eggs were placed). The server asked if I wanted an order of toast with the Mexican Benny when I ordered which would have been extra but I didn't because anything benedict elsewhere is always ample. What food was there was well prepared but there was just not enough of it. Potatoes are cheap, so why skimp out on them. Maybe the fault was mine in not asking more questions about the dish but I have eaten in alot of good restaurants for brunch and have never had such a disappointing meal. In Chatham, although the decor is amazing I would stick to Churrascaria.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brosser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, General Manager at Chilled Cork Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Hello Brosser,

Thank you for taking the time to review us online, we really appreciate your thoughtful insights. We strive to be the best in the industry as service industry professionals; we apologize for any inconvenience this experience has caused you. We would love the opportunity to change your views about the Chilled Cork Restaurant and Lounge; if you could please contact me directly I would like to see personally to your possible reservation. I truly apologize for your experience and we would really like to make this up to you. Please don’t hesitate to email me at pete@retrosuites.com or call me toll free at 866-617-3876.

Thank you! Wishing you all the best!

Kindest Regards,
Peter Tsirimbis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeKalb, IL
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Re: Conor is THE MAN!!”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stopped at the bar inside of Retro Suites and it is worth a stop. In addition to all the kitschy works of art and original paintings, and tables of all size shape and colors, and despite Conor the head bartender is missing a 'N' in his name, he is extremely pleasant and knowledgeable about every piece in this mini-museum and of Chatham in general.

The bar is mostly a beer (only in bottles) and wine and liquor establishment. No iced or blended drinks, but they do feature 2 full shelves of Canadian beers. (I went with Alexander Keith's)...fantastic by the way. Perhaps an under-whelming selection, and while it's a quiet place, there is SO much to see and Conor will point out little tidbits about some incredible pieces of art! Be sure to ask about the chandelier of spoons! Kudos to Conor, and the Chilled Cork and Retro Suites. Hoping for MANY continued successes!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MajkMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our favorite restaurant!”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Thank you for a great anniversary dinner tonight! Chilled Cork is our favorite restaurant for the incredible staff and the fantastic food! Where else would we go on our special night?!!! With a shout out to Conor. Thanks for making the best spicy Caesars. :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pharmgirl89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“BEST breakfast in town!!!!!”
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

Amazing staff. Great atmosphere and decor. And excellent prices and food!! There are so many varieties to choose from and daily menu options.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chilled Cork Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

 
Chatham, Chatham-Kent
 

Been to Chilled Cork Restaurant and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing