We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Star Accommodation in Brockville!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brockville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Green Door Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 7 Brockville B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Five Star Accommodation in Brockville!!”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My husband and I have just returned from our 7th annual stay at Peter and Lynne Meleg's outstanding Green Door B & B in Brockville. From our very first delightful visit to our most recent time, each year is even better than the one before. All of the rooms are uniquely and thoughtfully created for comfort with a high standard of cleanliness. Every fabulous breakfast begins with freshly baked muffins and a fresh fruit salad followed by personal favourites like the lemon ricotta pancakes with perfectly crisp bacon enjoyed during relaxing conversation with interesting guests. Your generous hosts, Peter and Lynne, will graciously help you to enjoy your stay in Brockville suggesting places and things to do in the area during your memorable visit to the Green Door.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregory5749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
70
17
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nepean
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

To get away from one's working environment is, in a sense, to get away from one's self; and this is often the chief advantage of travel and change. ~Charles Horton Cooley
What a change. I recommend the "Green Door". I can not say enough about this B&B. Truly a gem in Brockville and I would say a tourist must stay destination. Peter and Lynne took an old church and renovated this building into an unique B&B. Most of the work they did on their own.
Enjoy their dream. Wonderful hosts.

Room Tip: If you like boats, you will love the Boat House room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

We stopped off in Brockville on the way to Ottawa. We'd read good reviews about the Green Door and it's recommended in the lonely planet as one of the best places to stay in Ontario. We were greeted by Peter who showed us round & explained everything really clearly to us. Our room was lovely, with high ceilings & a big bed. The whole place was really spacious & impressive & they've really created something special. There are lots of communal areas for to relax in. Breakfast the next morning was delicious with homemade scones, french toast with bacon & maple syrup & fruit salad. We'd recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cath W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2013

While planning a trip to Brockville for a nearby wedding, I was directed to Green Door Bed and Breakfast as a possible place to stay I am still smiling at the memory of this wonderful weekend.
Peter and Lynne are terrific hosts, and have created a classy oasis in this small town.
My room was cozy, tastefully decorated, with lots of period touches - lacy curtains, claw foot bathtub - with the comfort of air conditioning and an overhead fan.
Breakfasts were delicious, varied, and shared at a communal table with the other guests.
I look forward to future visits to the area, and will definitely plan to stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Just happened upon this B and B while looking for a place to stay in Brockville. Not a big fan of B and Bs but decided to try this one because of the reviews, and because it seemed somewhat unique - an old church that had been completely renovated and converted into several B and B rooms. We were it? Unique, very clean, character, so much attention paid to every detail.... The hosts are very friendly and informative. The breakfast is sumptuous, tasty, and lots... Another thing that makes this a plus for the tourist is to hear the history of this building, - how it was in such disrepair a few years ago, and changed to what it is today. The rooms are tastefully decorated, with private bathrooms. Speaking of attention to detail: The towels are nothing like the rough hotel towels...so warm and fluffy. Looking for a place to stay? Try it...you'll not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank walldor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed at the Green Door for the first time in Brockville for one night and found this converted Pentecostal church to be quite an amazing B&B experience. It was first a real pleasure to meet our hosts, Peter and Lynn who were so friendly and accommodating. Their story is remarkable. The conversion of the church to a B&B was the result of their combined skills and perseverance.
Our room was immaculate and decorated with antiques with a full ensuite bathroom. There was a common area with comfortable sofas and a fireplace; just perfect for reading.
The breakfast was excellent: coffee, orange juice and a fruit cup to start, followed by a warm plate of clafoutis baked with apples (looks like a yorkshire pudding) and served with homemade marmalade. We savoured every morsel. This was followed by ricotta pancakes with a hint of lemon and garnished with a raspberry coulis. So delicately delicious.
The Green Door is just minutes from the water front. After breakfast, it was so convenient to take a short walk down to the water. We came upon a statue called the "Woman's Memorial", created by local artists - absolutely superb!

We highly recommend the Green Door B&B as "the" place to stay in the Brockville area and would definitely stay there again. All the Trip Advisor awards this B&B has received are so well deserved.

Thank you Lynn and Peter for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I recently visited my home town of Brockville after many years. My daughter came with me and we stayed at The Green Door after receiving the recommendation from a good friend. Our experience was exceptional. The room was so unique and tastefully done. Lynne and Peter were such welcoming hosts - we felt as if we were home! Breakfast was so delicious - I am someone who almost never eats breakfast but I made a point not to miss those amazing home made scones. Both my daughter and I were delighted with the experience and we when we return we will head directly to Lynne's and Peter's doorstep! Thank you Lynne and Peter for everything!
Monica & Nikki Rok

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaintLawrenceChick, Owner at Green Door Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Monica,
We are so pleased to know that you and Nikki enjoyed your stay with us at the Green Door B&B.
Also, that you had a good time re-connecting with Brockville friends and had a chance to sample some of the restaurants in town. We look forward to seeing you again.
Thank you for posting a review.
Lynne and Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brockville hotels
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brockville
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 5 in Brockville
249 reviews
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Brockville
Days Inn Brockville
#5 of 5 in Brockville
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Noble Suites Experiences
1.7 mi away
Super 8 Brockville
Super 8 Brockville
#3 of 5 in Brockville
331 reviews
0.4 mi away
The King Orchard Inn
The King Orchard Inn
#5 of 7 in Brockville
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Door Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Door Bed and Breakfast

Property: Green Door Bed and Breakfast
Address: 61 Buell St, Brockville, Ontario K6V 4Y4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Brockville
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Brockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Door B&B is a stunning church conversion in downtown Brockville. The B&B offers three themed bedrooms, with en-suite bathrooms, a delicious homemade breakfast, complimentary parking and wi-fi. There's plenty of parking for everyone and we are walking distance to all amenities -restaurants, arts centre, shopping and waterfront. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Green Door Hotel Brockville
Green Door b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing