We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect B&B experience!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brockville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Green Door Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Brockville B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed for one night at the Green Door in early August… and only wished it had been longer! The accommodations are unique – a converted church, complete with high ceilings, large windows, and an interesting history. Recently renovated with thoughtful planning and attention to detail, the décor is an eclectic mix of antique and new, lending the place plenty of period charm, while still feeling fresh and new. Our room with ensuite bathroom was large, comfortable, and absolutely immaculate. Best of all was the main living area – an immense great room, where our group of four settled in for the evening, relaxing on comfy sofas to chat and flip through some of the books from their library shelves. And did I mention breakfast? Delicious! Fluffy scones, fresh fruit, homemade preserves, and a fabulous Eggs Benedict. Finally, a note about the hosts themselves. Peter and Lynne were friendly, informative, gracious, without being overly intrusive… they gave us the run of the place and made us feel right at home. The perfect B&B experience!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
There are newer reviews for Green Door Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2013

Too bad that Brockville is such a hick town. My judgement comes from the perspective of their restaurants, but I will address this in another review. The Green Door is a converted Evangelical Church that has been transformed into one o fht enicest places to stay in all of Eastern Ontario. the owners, (their names escape me) are lovely people. Breakfast is wonderful. Fresh fruits, amzing french toast and bottomless cup of coffee. Freshly baked scones and fresh fruit juices. Yummy. the rooms are immaculate and well appointed. The main building has been completely revamped with a lovely sitting area, fireplace and spectacular kitchen. I highly recoment a visit to this B and B. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoadWeary2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I can't say enough about the Green Door Bed and Breakfast. My sister is now in a retirement home and my sister's home was sold. The Green Door B&B has become our home when we are
in Brockville. It is a cocoon from the maddening world and a great place to rejuvenate the spirit. Peter and Lynne are wonderful hosts. We just love the "Boat Room". It is whimsical and a great way to cruise without leaving the dock. Cheers to Peter and Lynne

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This trip marked our second stay at Green Door Bed and Breakfast. After driving across Canada, staying at several B&B's along the way, it was nice to know our final destination was a place we had stayed previously and enjoyed.

The room we prefer is the Majestic room, it has a vaulted ceiling, air conditioning (needed in August in Brockville), a large private bathroom, amazingly comfortable bed and is spacious enough to store luggage and still easily walk about.

Lynne and Peter are friendly, helpful and kindly provided us with a perfect dinner recommendation for a surprise birthday party (Buell Street Bistro). We stayed at the Green Door for two nights and enjoyed a breakfast of eggs benedict with homemade scones one morning and quiche with fruit salad and fresh muffins the next.

The Green Door will always be our first choice of accommodation when traveling in Brockville, it is a lovely place to stay and was a nice place to unwind after what was a very long drive. We would not hesitate to return or recommend it to others.

Room Tip: We prefer the Majestic Room, it has a private bathroom, large vaulted ceilings and is spacious.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteelersNationCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We had the delightful opportunity to spend 2 nights at the Green Door B&B in the lower level accommodation which featured a lovely guest room and adjacent full amenity bathroom complete with a heated floor. Our hosts were welcoming and gracious serving a well presented and delicious breakfast. The common area for dining and relaxing was tasteful and interesting. We spent 2 quiet "happy hour" evenings enjoying the sitting area before heading out to dinner.
MLO and MSO

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marylouandmilne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Thankfully, the heavenly Green Door B & B was recommended by friends. The experience was an absolutely stellar one from start to finish. Hosts Peter and Lynne went above in providing me with so much valuable local information, the old church was charming and beautifully redone and my room was amazing (with an antique tub and 14-16 ft ceilings). I was travelling alone and felt very comfortable and secure there. The gourmet homemade breakfast might be one of the BEST I have ever had. Perfect poached eggs over spinach with ham, grilled baby tomatoes, homemade jam, homemade warm cranberry muffins, toast, fresh fruit parfait with raspberries, papaya, pineapple, lovely yogurt AND fantastic coffee. All were served in a gorgeous dining room with lovely tableware. I was impressed by the host's very thoughtful attention to detail and questions regarding allergies and my preference for coffee or tea, the day before. Even the location was perfect as I was able to walk everywhere with such ease. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Stay on the main floor where the ceilings are the highest. Lynne had two rooms back and recommended...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadaMelanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Green Door B&B last Saturday night so that we could go to a concert at the Brockville Arts Centre. We shared a twin bed
room,with 2 large windows, and an ensuite. It was lovely....sparkly clean,comfy bed, nice linen and pillow. It is a purpose built B&B, so you do not get the feeling that you are invading someone's home. The whole main floor is dedicated to the B&B, and charmingly decorated.Peter and Lynn served ricotta pancakes and hot scones for breakfast.....a guest commented that it was like having high tea for breakfast ! very yummy.
I highly recommend the Green Door.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandyj66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brockville hotels
0.3 mi away
The Noble Suites Experiences
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brockville
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 6 in Brockville
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Brockville
Days Inn Brockville
#6 of 6 in Brockville
431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sir Isaac Brock B&B Luxury Suites
0.3 mi away
1000 Islands B and B
1000 Islands B and B
#1 of 5 in Brockville
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Door Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Door Bed and Breakfast

Address: 61 Buell St, Brockville, Ontario K6V 4Y4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Brockville
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Brockville
Price Range: £70 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Door B&B is a stunning church conversion in downtown Brockville. The B&B offers three themed bedrooms, with en-suite bathrooms, a delicious homemade breakfast, complimentary parking and wi-fi. There's plenty of parking for everyone and we are walking distance to all amenities -restaurants, arts centre, shopping and waterfront. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Green Door b&b
Green Door Hotel Brockville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing