We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warmth and Hospitality at Its Best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Touchstone Resort on Lake Muskoka
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Bracebridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We visited Touchstone as a one-night get away, to explore the Bracebridge area. On arrival, we had lunch at the resort dining lounge, Tastes, and were so impressed with the food and service, we booked our dinner reservation for the evening. Again, we were delighted with the menu, relaxed atmosphere, intimate setting, and excellent service. Our room was well appointed, spotlessly clean, and very comfortable. Though we visited in early November, the peaceful quiet and beautiful setting of the resort made walking the grounds a pleasing pastime. We felt so comfortable and relaxed we didn't leave the resort to go to town at all! We will definitely return to Touchstone for a mid-winter weekend getaway!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2012

Our three adult children and their spouses were looking for a resort between North Bay and Toronto as a gift for our 35th anniversary. They chose Touchstone because the booking staff really appeared to want to provide a special experience. We were given the "Taste Package", which included, among other things, one dinner including a bottle of wine, two nights accomodation, a cheese tray and access to all the amenities at the resort. The "Taste" menu dinner proved to be spectacular. The service was second to none. We used the steam room, hot tub, pool, and walked the grounds. The view from our suite, overlooking beautiful Lake Muskoka, was spectacular. My wife and I indulged ourselves in the spa where again the service was above reproach. We both had full massages and one of us had a pedicure. (fantastic) For our second dinner, based on the previous night's experience, my wife selected from the full menu and I left it to the chef to decide what I was going to have. This resulted in another perfect experience. The service was over the top.

The only negative part of our stay was that the sauna wasn't working. That said, this resort clearly surpassed our expectations.

As a result of this experience, we are in the process of booking suites at Touchstone this New Years for seven couples. Can't wait!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RickandMary2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heiditouchstone, General Manager at Touchstone Resort on Lake Muskoka, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

Good afternoon,

Thank you so much for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor! We were so pleased to read your comments and look forward to welcoming you and your friends for a fabulous New Years' celebration. I was sorry to hear that the sauna was not operational but am happy to report that it was tended to immediately and everything is in working order.

Thank you,
Heidi Watt-Lamb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We just recently got married up at Touchstone...and we have nothing but AMAZING things to say about the place and the people working there!

First off- if you're looking for a fabulous venue, with incredible food and service for your wedding...look no further!! Touchstone is the place for you!
The service and professionalism from day one with the entire staff at Touchstone was top notch!

Jo-Anne Young (event coordinator at Touchstone) was absolutely amazing to work with!! She answered all my emails and questions very promptly, and helped me through the entire process of planning a wedding (which can be very stressful at times!). Her suggestions for our DJ (Jason from The Muskoka Touring Company-AMAZING/INCREDIBLE/FANTASTIC DJ!!! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!), officiant (Derek Shelly-AWESOME!), and rental company (Muskoka Party Rentals) were all dead-on with what we wanted! Jo-Anne is a complete sweetheart to work with! When our day hit a bit of a hiccup (RAIN before our outdoor ceremony), Jo-Anne and her staff alleviated all my stress and concerns by handling the entire situation and moving the ceremony indoor to the Boat House (which was stunning!). I have nothing but amazing things to say about Jo-Anne Young!!!
Also, Wayne (food and beverage manager) was outstanding to work with!! So friendly! So professional! On top of things!!! Fantastic staff to say the least!!
And Pascale (Room Coordinator) was just fantastic!! On the ball with everything and always available to answer any, and all, of my questions!

Everything about our wedding was amazing! Our guests were floored with the venue, service, and food!!!

If you're looking for an Ontario "destination" wedding...Touchstone is PERFECT!!!!!!
We can't wait to go back on our anniversaries for many years to come!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeremy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Stayed in a Grand Muskokan 4 bedroom condo by the beach area. The master bedroom was amazing, it had it's own 2nd floor sun deck and a giant whirlpool tub with a view of the lake. The other bedrooms were nice enough too, and the living room was very nice. Buffet breakfast at the restaurant was top notch.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TorontoMike86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We stayed at the Grand Muskokan for 5 days in August of 2012. The cottage was beautifully decorated and the views were to die for. We ate at the restaurant Taste and the food and service were excellent. The spa services were also superb. All of the amenities including the exercise room, hot tub, steam room, pool, beach and playground were well equipped and clean. There is even a fire pit on the beach where you can make s'mores and relax. We have already booked the same accommodation for next year. Simply a wonderful palce for a family vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heiditouchstone, General Manager at Touchstone Resort on Lake Muskoka, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back next year!

Heidi Watt-Lamb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We wanted to let everyone know about this resort and how the staff here gave us our dream wedding.

Jo-Anne Young, the wedding planner, was available any time I needed her. She answered all my questions and every time we spoke I felt more and more confident with any decisions we had to make about the big day. She has tons of connections in the Muskoka area and a real eye for detail. I didn't even see the dining room set up until we came in for dinner and everything was perfect. When any slight issue arose (ex. we forgot to write the violinist a cheque) she and the General Manager Heidi were on top of it, making sure we were relieved of any stress.

Wayne (food and beverage manager) and his wonderful staff were on top of everything, working their butts off to make sure the food came out on time and everyone had a full drink.
Most of our guests stayed at the resort and their courteous front desk staff ensured that rooms could be split and paid for separately (which I'm sure was a huge hassle but worked out beautifully).

Our guests were full of compliments about the delicious food, great service, the beautiful rooms, and most importantly the scenery during the ceremony. It couldn't have been any more beautiful.

The only issue of the night was caused by a rude couple who thought it was appropriate to crash the wedding and then make a big stink about not being able to stay. Had they congratulated us and been polite we would have been happy to have them join in the fun but they were disgustingly rude to our guests and the wonderful Touchstone staff. They had been told there was a wedding at the resort when they booked their room and even joked that they would probably crash the wedding. It's amazing how much time one can waste by fighting and causing drama just so they won't have to pay for their room. I was very impressed with how the resort staff handled this very 'classy' couple. Hopefully, they left feeling a little embarrassed about their behaviour and won't do that again. For us, however, it's a great wedding story!

There is nothing we can do or say to show how much we appreciate the Touchstone staff for helping us plan our wedding and providing us with the most amazing day of our lives.

Room Tip: Go with another couple and enjoy the two bedroom lodge in the main building. The pool is heated and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AliAli82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heiditouchstone, General Manager at Touchstone Resort on Lake Muskoka, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments. It was an absolute pleasure working with you and your family. We are so pleased that everything turned out the way you had envisioned. On behalf of the entire Touchstone team - thank you for letting us share a part in your special day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Touchstone is a beautiful hotel. The rooms are stunning. The lake and pool is breathtaking. Worth every cent with memories that will last a life time. Kathy was so helpful, she made our vacation that much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bracebridge
18.7 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
9.2 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 10 in Bracebridge
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 10 in Bracebridge
133 reviews
21.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
3.3 mi away
High Falls Bay Cottages, Camping & Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Touchstone Resort on Lake Muskoka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Touchstone Resort on Lake Muskoka

Address: 1869 Muskoka Rd 118 W, Bracebridge, Ontario P1L 1W8, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Bracebridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Bracebridge
Price Range: £92 - £868 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Touchstone Resort on Lake Muskoka 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Touchstone on Lake Muskoka offers a mix of pristine lake views and elegant sophistication. Whether you choose our well-appointed Main Lodge Suite, private Villa or Cottage you will experience breath taking views of Lake Muskoka in luxurious accommodation.Enjoy the Infinity Pool and other deluxe amenities while taking in the best views in Muskoka. Take part in the recreational opportunities Touchstone has to offer; from boating to golf it is all just outside your doorstep at Touchstone. Enjoy a fabulous meal at our Touchstone Grill or a relaxing treatment in our Spa. Plan your next getaway at Touchstone whether a family holiday, or romantic weekend for two, Touchstone on Lake Muskoka delivers a unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Touchstone Resort on Lake Muskoka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Touchstone On Lake Muskoka Hotel Bracebridge
Touchstone Resort On Lake Muskoka Muskoka District/Bracebridge, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing