We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Choice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spirit Bear Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bracebridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Spirit Bear Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 12 Bracebridge B&B and Inns
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
343 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
“Great Choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

Spirit Bear is, in every way, a lovely place to stay. The building is interesting and the hosts pleasant and helpful in a relaxed yet efficient way. The bedrooms are aesthetic, super clean, and very quiet. Breakfast included lots of options. The location is easy to find and convenient for the more interesting part of town. Eddie, the dog, really is as charming as other reviews suggest.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emilee l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
21
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

Look no further... this is the only place you will want to stay in Bracebridge and/or surrounding. This lovely church converted into a B & B is so charming, clean and comfortable. In fact, this was our third stay.

The Innkeepers, Terry and Eva, are the best hosts and make you feel like you are at home. The breakfast is top notch. The first morning we had a Croissant Pudding with a fruit coulis, turkey bacon, fresh breads, and a beautiful fruit salad... and plenty of coffee and juices. On the second day we were served a tasty smoked salmon & asparagus quiche with sausages, fruit salad and cinnamon/brown sugar scones!

The B & B is a street over from the main strip where you will find all the shops and restaurants. And we urge you to stop by the R & L Bistro for dinner... it was amazing!

All in all, the Spirit Bear is a fantastic place to experience the Muskoka's!

Room Tip: Both rooms are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CelinaOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickering, Ontario
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

My husband and I stayed for one night passing through Bracebridge. Welcoming host & hostess, very nice space - large, clean and comfortable. Only 2 bedrooms so the huge common area feels very private. Unique & interesteing remodeled church. Eva booked us and reserved R&L Bistro for dinner which we thoroughly enjoyed... wine, apps and beautiful fish dinner. Nicest (by far) of four places we've stayed at on the same path over the past 4 years. Easy/smooth booking and process. Relaxed atmosphere. Breakfast was very yum. Overall - very nice - both the Bed and the Breakfast.

Room Tip: Bedrooms are in the large new section added to the back of the church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Checked-it-0ut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

You can't ask for a more unique and idyllic setting. This converted church is grand and cozy at the same time, and its hosts Terry and Eve are a delight. We will definitely be back!

Karen and Dimitri

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ktvk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cantley, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2010

The great restoration of the old church turned into this lovely B&B is a great concept! We were greated by sweet Eddie (sweet puppy dog) and Eva and felt right at home. The home is very spacious and the rooms very cozy and comfortable. Although the bathroom is shared, there is only two rooms in the inn. Furthermore, you have two sinks and a nice sized shower, so nothing feels cramped up. The skylights around the second floor provides nice refreshing air and natural light.

We enjoyed every small touches around the house, from the treasure basket on the nightstand, to the cool books about the Spirit Bear and the complementary beverage cart. Everything to make you feel at home and relaxed. It was nice to chat with Eva for a little while and then read a book while listening to the soft jazz on the radio. Our spot was in the front "living room" (it was the church formaly) and the other couple stayed in the kitchen by the fireplace.

For breakfast, we had a selection of scones, viennoiseries, fruit juices, coffee and a homemade ham and cheese quiche. If we didn't feel like having this, Eva was more than happy to cook anything to our heart's content.

The inn is located in the heart of Bracebridge and litteraly walking distance to the restaurants and shops on Manitoba Street. But it's far enough to keep the area quiet at night. Fortunately, we didn't hear the train... didn't even know there was one around. Either we slept through the sound or it didn't come through that evening. Anyway, we really slept comfortably and enjoyed our visit very much.

Thank you Eva and Eddie. We hope to meet Terry during our next visit. See you then!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MeeowMix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laval, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2010

Service and Food was execellent and with professoral presentation. Host was very helpful in local information and suggested tourist sits. There is a pleasant outside patio with hot tub. Great of after golf.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brennerkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyomissing, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2010

This is an old church that has been converted into a two room B&B. It is located two blocks from the center of Bracebridge, which makes it very convenient for dining and shopping. The interior has been very tastefully decorated, with the former nave now serving as an amazing 'great room'. Eva and Terry Watson are wonderful hosts, full of information about the lake district that surrounds Bracebridge and ready to please in any way that they can. Breakfasts in the great room were wonderful. And their little dog Eddie won us over quickly. My wife and I spent a week there and recommend it without reservation.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patvan81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bracebridge
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 10 in Bracebridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
9.2 mi away
Residence Inn Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
0.8 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#5 of 10 in Bracebridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
9.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - Gravenhurst
3.7 mi away
Patterson Kaye Resort by Regalton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spirit Bear Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spirit Bear Bed & Breakfast

Property: Spirit Bear Bed & Breakfast
Address: 67 Quebec St, Bracebridge, Ontario P1L 2A4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Bracebridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Bracebridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your comforting home away from home in Bracebridge - Spirit Bear Bed & Breakfast is in a church that has carefully been renovated into a beautiful and spacious home, located in a quiet residential neighbourhood, but central to downtown Bracebridge. The frame Primitive Methodist Church was built in 1845, and purchased by The First Baptist Church at Bracebridge in 1887. In 1892 the building was bricked, and in in 1936, an addition was built at the back. The building functioned as a church until 1989. Since that time the church was converted to a home, and in 2007, to a bed and breakfast.We offer two carefully appointed guest rooms with Queen bed, luxurious linens, and complimentary spa-inspired amenities. There are two shared guest washrooms, a three-piece with shower on the upper floor with the guest bedrooms, and a three-piece with bath on the lower floor. The Great Room, formerly the sanctuary of the church, is tastefully decorated with cozy seating areas, books, games, wireless internet access, and television.Breakfast is served in the Great Room daily between 8:00 and 9:30 am, and includes hot and cold selections, fresh seasonal, and when possible, locally-grown produce. We offer a daily special along with a basket of freshly-baked goodies each morning. Complimentary cold beverages are available at all times. Please advise us of any dietary needs or allergies, and we can accommodate you.•Open year round. November to April weekends only, by reservation. •Reservations confirmed on credit card, or on receipt of deposit cheque. •Check-in after 5pm; check-out by 11am. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Spirit Bear Bed & Breakfast Muskoka District/Bracebridge, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing