We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A True Gem!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bracebridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Spirit Bear Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 12 Bracebridge B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A True Gem!!!”
Reviewed 26 May 2010

Second time around and this B & B does not disappoint. Look no further this is THE PLACE to stay in Bracebridge! As soon as you walk in you know you are in a special place.

The hosts are warm, generous and so friendly + they genuinely care about their guests. The B & B is immaculate, turn down service with chocolate truffles + they serve a gourmet breakfast. Our first morning we had assorted goodies + 2 different quiches and sausages and the next morning we had strawberry cream cheese stuffed french toast with peameal bacon! It was over the top delicious!!!

I can't imagine going to Muskoka and not staying there + its walking distance to the main street of Bracebridge. And whatever you do ...please go eat at the R & L Bistro where the food and service is top notch!!! You won't find a better spot for brunch or dinner!

Can't wait to return in the Fall!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CelinaOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
21
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2010

Beautiful conversion of a church - enormous open-plan 'great room' concept on a split level 'ground' floor, with bedrooms & shared bathroom upstairs. The overall experience is of being a guest in an acquaintances home - while there are certainly cheaper options in the area, the included pillow chocolates, refreshments and plentiful as well as high quality breakfast make this excellent value for money.

I will definitely return, but to be fair I can imagine others not enjoying the experience - if you *need* an en suite bathroom, and want to just sit around without interacting with your hosts and other guests, or hate dogs (he's very small and friendly!) then Spirit Bear is not for you. But if you like to chat, don't mind sharing a bathroom and TV, then this is hands-down the best place to stay in Bracebridge - and I speak as someone who has been a repeat visitor to the town and stayed in four other hotels/B&Bs over the years.

Just a few minutes walk to *all* the good dining options in town, the downtown falls/bridges, tourist info as well as all the Manitoba St shops - maybe 20 mins walk to the newer supermarket/mall/chain restaurant area along Hwy 117.

For light sleepers, bring ear-plugs or the nightly train will wake you up - it uses its horn loudly and frequently going through the town area. This isn't a problem unique to Spirit Bear of course, any downtown accommodation is going to be near the railroad!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martincath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, Ontario
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2010

We have been guests at Sprit Bear Bed and Breakfast 3 times in different seasons of the year. We enjoy the wonderful rooms, friendly service, and terrific breakfast. We visit the area for outdoor activities, shopping, great restaurants during our get aways.
We have given friends and family gift certificates to stay at Spirit Bear for Wedding Gifts You will enjoy the hospitality of the owners Terry and Eva !

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brbrowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2009

Normally we book hotel ( like holiday inn..) when we travel. This time we heard about B&B, so we gave it a try. But EVA and Terry's Spirit Bear really surprised us...they made us feel like staying at home. Especially with Terry's delicious homemade pancake *_* We would say it is better than holiday innn. And you will have chance to meet a good friend and become his puppy..........his name is Eddie ^_^

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smilemeteor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2009

We arrived in Bracebridge (my husband, 11 year old daughter and myself). We had been to Quebec City and had a WONDERFUL time there, so were heading into a small town. We were greeted at this beautiful old building by Eva, the owner. This is an old church which has been converted into a b&b. Our room was great. Comfortable, clean, new. Anything we may have needed was there in the room. We went to the Griffin pub for drinks which was walking distance and we could sit outside. We were close to downtown and could have walked to many restaurants. We walked around the falls, also. In the morning we had a nice breakfast. Again, Eva was very accommodating, she made my daughter pancakes! The conversation was wonderful... it was a great stay.
http://www.spiritbearbandb.com/

Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank HaveCarWIllGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bracebridge
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 10 in Bracebridge
105 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 10 in Bracebridge
124 reviews
9.2 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
3.5 mi away
Hart of Muskoka
Hart of Muskoka
#5 of 8 in Gravenhurst
38 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wellington Inn
Wellington Inn
#3 of 10 in Bracebridge
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spirit Bear Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spirit Bear Bed & Breakfast

Property: Spirit Bear Bed & Breakfast
Address: 67 Quebec St, Bracebridge, Ontario P1L 2A4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Bracebridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Bracebridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your comforting home away from home in Bracebridge - Spirit Bear Bed & Breakfast is in a church that has carefully been renovated into a beautiful and spacious home, located in a quiet residential neighbourhood, but central to downtown Bracebridge. The frame Primitive Methodist Church was built in 1845, and purchased by The First Baptist Church at Bracebridge in 1887. In 1892 the building was bricked, and in in 1936, an addition was built at the back. The building functioned as a church until 1989. Since that time the church was converted to a home, and in 2007, to a bed and breakfast.We offer two carefully appointed guest rooms with Queen bed, luxurious linens, and complimentary spa-inspired amenities. There are two shared guest washrooms, a three-piece with shower on the upper floor with the guest bedrooms, and a three-piece with bath on the lower floor. The Great Room, formerly the sanctuary of the church, is tastefully decorated with cozy seating areas, books, games, wireless internet access, and television.Breakfast is served in the Great Room daily between 8:00 and 9:30 am, and includes hot and cold selections, fresh seasonal, and when possible, locally-grown produce. We offer a daily special along with a basket of freshly-baked goodies each morning. Complimentary cold beverages are available at all times. Please advise us of any dietary needs or allergies, and we can accommodate you.•Open year round. November to April weekends only, by reservation. •Reservations confirmed on credit card, or on receipt of deposit cheque. •Check-in after 5pm; check-out by 11am. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Spirit Bear Bed & Breakfast Muskoka District/Bracebridge, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing