We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Away from it all” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cedarwood on Lake Muskoka

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bracebridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cedarwood on Lake Muskoka
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
181 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Away from it all”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Booked a stay here for my Dad, my brother and myself on the Internet from Ireland. Hosts were quite friendly and helpful in responding to my e-mails.
When we arrived we were upgraded to a 3 bedroom cabin with no additional cost. Is is certainly on Lake Muskoka - the Lake was 30 yards from the cabin.
The solid fuel burner was amazing and the log pile was just outside the door. The cabin was so warm inside - even though the end of September nights were getting quite chilly.
All we needed was inside the cabin - cooker, fridge, delph, pots and pans etc. The was a shop/delicatessen across the road which had home made chicken pie that was nice. This shop was not cheap but Bracebridge is just a few miles away. I still can't believe that you had to go to two stores in Canada to buy Jack and Ginger as the liguor store didn't sell Ginger and the Supermarket didn't sell JD!!
We had a few meals in Turtle Jacks in Port Carling - well worth a visit too - just 20 minutes away
We spent 4 great days here - the only downside was that the towels were never changed by staff in that period so bring a few spares - otherwise brilliant.

  • Liked — Away from Everywhere
  • Disliked — No towel changes
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank GerryR18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    10
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
27
7
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

I stayed here on a trip with my family. They were there several nights and I joined them for one.

I don't think the accommodations were all that cheap, but the real perk here was that the place was spic and span. I've been to a few of these sorts of places and have seen a real variety of crap. I was pleasantly surprised.

That said, I'm not a huge fan of these cottage getaways. Lugging groceries around and cooking meals is not my first choice for a holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Just got back from the best cottage experience ever! I couldn't imagine anything that would beat Cedarwood on Lake Muskoka if you're looking for a nice, relaxing cottage experience. It is right on Muskoka lake with access to complimentary Kayaks, Canoes, and paddle boats! The dock has to be right in the most beautiful, scenic part of the lake too. You will be welcomed by two of the nicest people around, Jade and Mark who work hard to make your stay an experience.

I spent my first night in one of the cedar rooms, which was great. It has the full-on cottage feel to it, but in the size of a normal hotel room. Each room has its own private screened in porch which I think is a really awesome feature. BBQ's are a few steps away from your room, and the lake is only a stone's throw away.

After the first night I was blown away when my generous hosts upgraded me to a cottage!

The Pines 2 cottage was fantastic! It had a great view of the lake, a private deck, BBQ, full on kitchen, living room, two bedrooms. The place was immaculate!

Words can't do it justice; you will have to go experience it yourselves!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

Cedarwood Resort was the perfect getaway for the long weekend. It's far enough away from Bracebridge that you avoid noise and traffic, but close enough (a 5 minute drive) that you can still enjoy a nice evening at a restaurant, and there are many to choose from. Everyone was pleasant and helpful at Cedarwood, and the grounds and rooms were immaculate! Mark and Jade recommended some hiking trails in the area, and they turned out to be a blast. Lake Muskoka is a short 2 minute walk away, and the canoes and paddleboats are free readily available. Cedarwood is a fantastic place to visit, and I would definitely go again with no hesitation!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Char M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

With it being just outside of the busy city center it is such a relaxing spot to stay... The room are so nice and relaxing and u even have a screened in porch to relax and have some supper outside.... Lots of water events to partake in... Great place to visit and i will definately be taking my family there next trip.....

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Clean (new) cabins with great view of Lake Muskoka. Having a cabin with a kitchen and bathroom was important for us and kept the total trip cost low. We also really like the fact that the canoes and paddle boats were free to use. Mark and Jade really know the area well and helped us by recommending and booking a lovely dinner cruise. We will definitely be returning...with and without the kids!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DMVcustoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

We splashed out for the Pines cottage. Plenty of space and well equiped but one of the most expensive places we stayed in Canada. But then you have to consider what you are getting; the location, jetty, beach (tiny), boats, lots of space to relax. Our daughter loved the beach and swimming. A memorable few days - thanks

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andynewboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bracebridge
9.1 mi away
Residence Inn Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
4.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 10 in Bracebridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
14.6 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#5 of 10 in Bracebridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
1.3 mi away
Patterson Kaye Resort by Regalton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedarwood on Lake Muskoka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedarwood on Lake Muskoka

Property: Cedarwood on Lake Muskoka
Address: 1515 Hwy 118 W, Bracebridge, Ontario P1L 1X1, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Bracebridge
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Bracebridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for tasteful cottage accommodation, scenic views, and a relaxed informal setting, then come to Cedarwood Resort on Lake Muskoka! We believe you will enjoy our treasure in Muskoka as much as we and our annual repeat guests do. Our waterfront property comes with complimentary canoes, kayaks, and pedal boats next to our spacious waterfront deck! Cedarwood offers excellent access for boating on Lake Muskoka, Lake Joseph and Lake Rosseau. Shopping is close by in the quaint tourist towns of Bracebridge and Port Carling. Activities abound within minutes, golf, artist studios, tourist attractions and Santa's Village. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cedarwood On Lake Muskoka Muskoka District/Bracebridge, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing