We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We enjoyed our stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Sunrise
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunrise
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
7 reviews
Sunrise
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 11
Bracebridge, Muskoka District, Ontario

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
kered2016
Owen Sound, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Somewhat dissappointed.”
Reviewed 7 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The pluses first, beds were comfortable, the outdoor sitting area was quite pleasant, the lake was small but clear and beautiful. Now the row boat was not usable due to the missing oar pin,i looked forward to going around the lake to fish and swim, the mouse dropping in the dishes and the visits to all rooms by multiple mice causing blood curdling screams from some of our group was not a happy thing at all, area by the lake needs a lot of work, (easy fix just a little muscle and sweat), fire metal pit worn out, be nice if out door furniture was as in picture, not the holy dirty worn out green things avail able , the baroque was filthy and brush to clean it was worn out . i do understand ware, but expect it to be clean and usable, sorry if this is harsh but i call them as i see them, it was after all my vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the lake
Liked least: the mice and lack of usable things ie. boat ppor outdoor furniture
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2016
Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our cottage. Your feedback is extremely important, as we always strive to improve with each and every stay. I’m glad you found the beds comfortable and you were able to enjoy our relaxing outdoor seating area with elevated, panoramic views of beautiful Spring Lake.

I’m sorry to hear you were disappointed with our outdoor furniture. Indeed they are the same as reflected in the pictures on our webpage; nevertheless I hope you had the opportunity to relax in our brand new chairs by the lake.

Thank you for mentioning the missing the row boat’s thole pin – this was the first time I’d heard it may be missing. I will be sure to look into the issue and work on getting a replacement if necessary.

You mentioned our barbecue - I will take a look to ensure our propane and charcoal barbeques are properly cleaned. Also, I’m not entirely sure what you specifically mean when you state that the area by the lake needs a lot of work – I’d invite you to contact me directly as I’d love to hear your suggestions.

I can assure you that mice are an ongoing struggle for all cottages, particularly those close to a wooded area. Please be reassured that we do our level best to deter them by sealing entry points and setting traps – especially when the cottage is closed for the season. However, I would stress that this is a perennial problem for all cottage owners, not just us. Much as I would love to, I hope you understand that despite our best efforts this is an issue that can never be eradicated entirely.

In taking great care of our charming cottage, our main objective is to continue offering a well-maintained and comfortable atmosphere at a low rate. Actually we’ve only raised the rate once during the five years that we’ve offered the cottage for rental, but have always aimed to provide more value for our guests such as free Internet, new furniture, landscaping and an overall pleasant experience. At the end of every season we take a good hard look to see what needs to be replaced or updated. I hope you would agree that compared to similar properties in the area we offer a great overall package at a competitive rate.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawntread...
1 review
“We enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed 22 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The cottage, Lake and location was great. With small children it was good to be up from the water and the water entry was good. A bit of a problem with a pesky squirrel chewing holes in the screen and coming into the cottage.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2016
Thanks for staying at the cottage - I’m really happy that you had a good time and enjoyed cooling off in the lake.

We hope to see you again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jkmo21
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lots of potential in this lake property, but it's poorly maintained.”
Reviewed 22 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My experience dealing with the owner was great, he responded quickly and was very helpful with any of our questions.

We traveled with our toddler and were very disappointed to show up to the property to find that it was completely overgrown with little to no upkeep -- unlike the pictures in the listing -- the grassy field was overgrown with weeds and unusable as an outdoor space and the path down to the water was difficult to navigate. The cottage itself has that rustic cottage feeling, and gave us everything we needed to cook and sleep. There were a bunch of holes in the screens that made it impossible to keep the windows open for air flow at night because the squirrels would come in and eat the food.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The proximity to Bracebridge
Liked least: Outside property not maintained at all
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2016
Thanks for taking the time to write a review.

I’m sorry that you found the grass unkempt and overgrown. The person who normally cuts it was actually sick for a while but we’ve now found someone to take care of it so this issue has been resolved.

Sorry to hear about the screen. Previous guests recently damaged it; we’ll add it to our maintenance list.

Thanks again for staying at the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
srahman24
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“Great lakeside cottage, very smooth booking process”
Reviewed 7 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The cottage is exactly as described/pictured!!

It was roomy enough for the 10 of us who went, clean upon arrival, beautiful view of the lake from, and had a great outdoor seating area that fit all of us around the firepit. The owner was very accessible by email and we're thankful he let us have a late check out upon request. It was pretty much the perfect weekend getaway for a group of old friends.

The only thing keeping it from being a 5/5 location is that the path from the cottage to the dock/lake is not well maintained. A bit of landscaping and the cottage would be flawless.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for the positive review! We always try hard to make our guests stay an enjoyable experience and respond to emails quickly, so I’m really happy to hear that you all had a great time and that the cottage met your expectations. :-) Point taken about the landscaping - the grass was a bit overgrown at the time. Unfortunately the regular person who cuts the grass was sick for a few weeks, but we’ve now found someone else to take care of it and the lawn is looking much better now. Thanks again for staying at the cottage; we hope to see you again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
586Tania
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“Beautiful vacation”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We all loved the cottage, very cozy and comfortable, any need is thoughtfully cared for. Comfortable access to the lake, great for swimming, very cool pedal boat, awesome grill!
The place itself is just magically beautiful: sunrise and sunset, mist over the lake in the morning, clear water, wide-open airy skies and balsamic fragrant air of the forest. Reviving spirit and completely dissolving worries.
Thanks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the cottage. We always do our utmost to ensure an enjoyable stay. I’m delighted that you had the chance to unwind, away from the stresses of everyday life. We hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J.A.B. C
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: De plek, de omgeving
Liked least: Inrichting, staat van onderhoud
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2016
Thank you for your positive review! This is the first time we’ve had a review in Dutch so I had to use the internet to translate it! Thank you for saying that the booking process went smoothly. I’m delighted you enjoyed the beauty of the cottage as well as being able to do some sunbathing. I hope you had a safe trip back to the Netherlands – if you ever return to Canada we would be delighted to host you again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing