We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mini-vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sword Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sword Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bancroft
Thornhill, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mini-vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We used the Best Western Sword as a base to explore North Hastings. It was comfortable, clean and close to the restaurants, shops and theatre of Bancroft. Staff were friendly and helpful ... we had no troubles.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    56
    33
    23
    19
See reviews for
53
55
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

The Friday of our stay at the Sword best Western a very bad storm blew in. The hydro was out for over six hours. Despite all this our room was cleaned and our towels were changed. The staff were very professional and friendly . the restaurant was very good. We only ate breakfast there .The food was good and our waitress was a real doll. She just received her Canadian citizenship she will be a real asset to Canada.

Room Tip: We prefer the rooms on the outside the main building..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hurley060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunil P, Owner at Sword Motor Inn, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Dear Hurley,
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 613-332-2474.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Mr. Sunny Patel
Owner
BEST WESTERN Sword Motor Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
303 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We were there July 5/13, and had Room 147. It is in the inner part as they call it. You need a key to get into the hall, and then your card for your room door. There is a large inner court room, which made us wonder if there would be noise during the night. but no, it was extremely quiet. Our room was a decent size and you could tell it had been repainted and looked like recent carpet. the television was a new one. The bathroom had lots of towells, in really good shape and they had lots of kleenex, shampoo, cream rinse, mouth wash and soap.They do have a pool, gym and restaurant on site. the people who own it and the ones who work there are pleasant and eager to please. We have stayed there twice and enjoyed this time even better.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBJOHNSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunil P, Owner at Sword Motor Inn, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 613-332-2474.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Mr. Sunny Patel
Owner
BEST WESTERN Sword Motor Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

There aren't a lot of hotel options in Bancroft and this is probably the best one. The staff is friendly and accommodating and the rooms are clean (though somewhat dated). I wasn't happy with the bedding. It consisted of sheets and one thin blanket covered with another sheet. There was a draft from around the air conditioner and the blanket wasn't enough to keep me warm. I checked the closet for extra blankets, but there were none. Also, the pillows were lumpy, like they'd been washed in a washing machine too many times. For what we paid, ($150/night), I expect better.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoTeresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bancroft, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

I've read many, not so nice, reviews on the restaurant. I don't know if it's because of the new management, or if there's a new chef......but I've ate there twice now and was really impressed. The meals were delicious, the serving sizes were large and the service was great. There was only one waitress both times I was in there, and she did very well. On the second occasion it was fairly busy [super time], but she was still very friendly and accommodating [even with the not so easy customers].
I will definitely be back and I highly recommend it to anyone else who wants a good meal and a relaxed atmosphere.

Caroline Davis

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
135 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

We have stayed at the Best Western Sword Inn many times before, but this visit ranks as one of the most restful, as we both slept quite well on very comfortable beds. On a separate point, at the time of check-out we left a couple of items behind in our room, but were able to retrieve them when we returned a couple of hours later, thanks to the very gracious help of the front desk receptionist.

Room Tip: The very best and quietest rooms are at the back of the hotel, facing the west-side parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ottawa_retiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
151 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

If you are staying overnight in the Bancroft / Hastings area , this hotel is the only option you should consider, the staff was very friendly and helpful, checking in and out was smooth, the room was bright, clean, and had amenities like a fridge, microwave, blow dryer, cofefe maker, and flat screen TV. The bed was very comfortable, and the property was quiet at night. The bathroom was bright and spotless. You could also do some ironing, and laundry service was available. The hotel itself offered a nice pool, a small gym , but big enough for a workout, and a restaurant, if you are there on the last Thursday of the month, which I was then you can also enjoy a home cooked Indian meal prepared by the owner Sunny and his wife. Overall , this is the only place I would stay at, in this area , and would recommend this place to anybody I know.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmyrozner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bancroft
1.6 mi away
Bancroft Inn & Suites
Bancroft Inn & Suites
#4 of 4 in Bancroft
3.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
13.9 mi away
Benaaron Guest House
Benaaron Guest House
#1 of 10 in Bancroft
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Arlington Hotel
The Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Maynooth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Teddy Bear Bed & Breakfast
Teddy Bear Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 10 in Bancroft
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
8.9 mi away
Footprints Resort
Footprints Resort
#1 of 5 in Bancroft
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bancroft Bed & Breakfast
Bancroft Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 10 in Bancroft
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sword Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sword Motor Inn

Property: Sword Motor Inn
Address: 146 Hastings St, Bancroft, Ontario K0L 1C0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Bancroft
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bancroft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sword Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located just on the north side of Bancroft near the end of Hasting St. We accommodate Sledders, ATV's, Pets, Rock Hounds and just the passer buyer. We have a heated in door pool, Hot tub and dry sauna along with a games room. All our guest receive a complimentary continental breakfast in our lovely breakfast area with there stay. This includes Hot waffles, hard boiled eggs, cereal, choice of different breads and pastries, coffee, tea, juice and much more! We are with in walking distance to almost everything in town and have a park right beside us that the York river runs through and right behind our location as well. So if you are a canoeist this is the spot to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sword Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bancroft
Bancroft Best Western
Sword Motor Inn Bancroft, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing