We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe and Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Mermaid Yarmouth
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Yarmouth
Reviewed 5 March 2014

When I read some ones review about not being clean I just had to respond as I have been going here for 12 years monthly and have never found it dirty .The rooms towels ,sheets all clean and fresh .They are renovating and up grading their hotel .They put in air conditioning last year .
I always like the front as you can see the water ..In Jan the room I usually use was being renovated so they placed me in a room where bed is on same side of room ..In bad weather if I am late getting in they call to see if I am ok . This is an older establishment but has a lot of character and fits the town .They are strong people and getting the Ferry back will just make it better .This is a business owned by a local person not a chain per say and hires local personal.
Please try them again .

Room Tip: My fav is the front back is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWMermaid, Manager at Best Western Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Hello Margaret T,

Thank you for writing us such a great review. It means a lot to us that you still stand behind us and stand up for us 12 years later. Your loyalty is certainly appreciated.

We are constantly doing upgrades and will continue to do them in the very near future. Keep your eyes open for more changes!

It is always a delight to have you. We certainly try our best to keep you happy and have you coming back to us month after month. :) We look forward to seeing you next month! Safe travels!

Thank you, Dawn Robicheau Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

Friendly staff. Very nice rooms. Upper floor may be preferable as walls, ceilings seem a bit "thin". can hear people walking above you or yelling from parking lot. Comfortable beds, pillows. Clean rooms. Lots of towels. Appears recently renovated.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWMermaid, General Manager at Best Western Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Hi Mike M,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay for the most part. We do however want to apologize that you had an issue with noise.

It is always nice hearing from our guests that they enjoyed the comfort of our beds and pillows. We also like to pride ourselves in our clean rooms.

We have done several renovations and are continuing to do more renovations. We hope to see you again so that you get the chance to experience them.

Thank you for taking the time to give us review. Have a wonderful day!

Dawn Robicheau, Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Yarmouth was the worse hotel I have ever stayed in. No heat in October. Noise from up stairs was terrible. Dirty and old. My Mother was having her 90th birthday and we wanted her to have a great trip as she has been sick. This was not the place to take her. We left early and went to the Best Western Plus in Bridgewater wish we had known ahead of time how bad it was in Yarmouth.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
12  Thank Maryln B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWMermaid, Manager at Best Western Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

The Best Western Mermaid apologizes for not meeting the standards needed for your stay with us. We try our best to keep our property looking its best for all guests and are constantly doing improvements. We had newly installed A/C-heaters and were having a technical issue. We did, however, provide a space heater for the room in lieu of the heater not preforming properly and another room was offered. An electrician has been in and rectified the problem we were having. We do hope that when you are traveling our way in the future that you would consider staying again. We again apologize for any inconvenience during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

A room with a view and serenity. A quiet and great place to stay. All rooms have the view of the sea and the tide. Nice Sunset viewing although when it is not cold. Even a pool with warm water. Overall quite enjoyed my stay and if I pass by this area again, for sure I will stay there again. Thanks,

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Hossein B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWMermaid, Manager at Best Western Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Its so wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in Yarmouth and that you will stay with us again on a return trip. We try our best to make each guests stay as enjoyable as possible. See you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Nice rooms that met our needs and wants. The front desk staff were extremely helpful! And to the attendant who checked us out Saturday morning, I lost the family farm as I was wrong again. I should know better.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bearsded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWMermaid, Manager at Best Western Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Hello Bearsded,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our rooms and that we were able to meet your needs and wants. We are delighted to hear that you found our front desk staff extremely helpful. We have amazing ladies working for us. Sorry to hear that you lost the family farm yet again :) I was wondering if you had. :) Better luck next time perhaps?? See you next time you are in this area.

Dawn Robicheau, Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed a few nights here as it was the only place with a king size bed and glad we did. When we drove up the outside looked a bit run down so were wondering if we made a bad decision, but the room itself was updated and very clean. The high speed worked great, no problems. Big tv, comfy bed with new pillows and linens, carpet and bathroom were clean. Super hot water and water pressure was great. The lobby was bright and clean and the breakfast was all that you need, boiled eggs and saugage, toast, bagels waffles to toast, yogurt etc. No fridge or microwave but coffee maker with supplies. Also has the outdoor pool which was cleaned every day but we did not use it. Check in and out staff were pleasant. The only thing we noticed were the side steps and railings on the top floor need to be fixed. For a clean decent hotel with breakfast and wifi, overall turned out to be a good place to stay that we would stay at again in the future. We definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LoveMySpouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWMermaid, Manager at Best Western Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

So glad you gave us the chance to show you that we are a nice place to stay the night. Our motel is undergoing several changes in the next couple years. New upgrades to the rooms have started already with the addition of the flat screen TV's, air conditioners and hard wood flooring. More are to follow. Our breakfast has expanded to include a hot meat, and more seating was added.

Check us out again on your next trip to Yarmouth and see what changes have taken place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

One of the most frustrating things about travelling for business is either not enough outlets for powering up electronics or ones that don't work at all. I am writing this from my laptop that I had to locate on the bathroom counter. Yes, not a great idea but it is what it is! I could have moved some furniture and unplugged some bedside lamps! Should I have to? If you do not care about bells and whistles and just need the basics, this place is fine. Unfortunately, the price per night does not reflect what you get. I would look elsewhere if I were in the area again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank restless1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWMermaid, Manager at Best Western Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

We are sorry to hear that you were not completely happy with your stay. We do have ample power outlets in our rooms for our business travelers. We have a table in the room with seating that has access to the nearby power outlets making it easy for our guests. This provides for a comfortable enjoyable work atmosphere. We also have Free Wi-Fi in all our rooms along with 3 hard wired rooms on property as well for those that need direct connection for their business needs. We have 5 access points on property for our wireless internet so that our guests can be assured to have the proper internet connection for their needs. When our guests let us know that there is an issue we most certainly do our best to accommodate them. We are continuing to make many changes to better serve our guests.
Again we apologize or any issues that you incurred while staying with us. Our guests are important to us.
Thank you, Dawn Robicheau, Assistant General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarmouth
0.5 mi away
Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn - Yarmouth
Comfort Inn - Yarmouth
#3 of 6 in Yarmouth
151 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lakelawn B&B Motel
Lakelawn B&B Motel
#1 of 6 in Yarmouth
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Voyageur Motel
Voyageur Motel
#5 of 6 in Yarmouth
80 reviews
16.9 mi away
Cape View Motel and Cottages
7.7 mi away
Churchill Mansion Inn
Churchill Mansion Inn
#3 of 5 in Yarmouth
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Mermaid Yarmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Mermaid Yarmouth

Address: 545 Main St, Yarmouth, Nova Scotia B5A 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Yarmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Yarmouth
Price Range: £84 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Mermaid Yarmouth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth is conveniently located within walking distance to the Ferry Terminal where the Nova Star Cruises will take you to Portland, Maine. Several Museums, and a variety of nearby dining and shopping options are all within 2 kms from the Hotel. We are a proud 2 GREEN KEY holder. Each spacious guest room features all the extras that make a difference while traveling. Our AIR CONDITIONING UNITS will ensure that you have a comfortable and pleasant stay with us. Each guest room includes free wireless high-speed Internet access, 42" Flatscreen HD Plasma TV's, HD Digital Cable, free local calls, and a free Hot breakfast. Other amenities include a heated outdoor swimming pool (seasonal), guest laundry and business center. BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth is also pet friendly (feels apply). Bus tours and groups are welcome! Whether attending one of the many outdoor festivals, enjoying a game of golf, sight-seeing, or enjoying one of beautiful beaches all within a 15 minute drive. Our friendly staff is ready to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Mermaid Yarmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Yarmouth
Yarmouth Best Western
Best Western Mermaid Yarmouth Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing