We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Guest House, Owner is Lovely!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Guest Lovitt House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yarmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Guest Lovitt House B&B
Ranked #2 of 5 Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Guest House, Owner is Lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Twyla was wonderful to us. We didn't have our rental car yet so she drove us out to the lighthouse herself and stayed while we explored. The house is immaculate and gorgeous, definitely go up to the Widow's Watch to experience the sunset. Yarmouth is a really nice town with welcoming people and some of the best food in Nova Scotia. Not as touristy as some but a great town to walk through and discover their hidden treasures. Breakfast was excellent and Twyla gave us half a dozen muffins for the road, which we really appreciated on our drive around NS.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LAParent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
79
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

The Title says it all! The Number 1 B+B in Yarmouth, if not Nova Scotia and now the Ferry is back between Yarmouth, NS and Portland, ME well, it just makes it perfect. Stay overnight before your ferry crossing and arrive at the ferry terminal in Yarmouth well rested and exceptionally well fed.

This period property is immaculately maintained with many original features. It is decorated in the manner one would expect from a Victorian ships Captain.

The beds are sumptuous and the pillows plump and full. On waking you are greeted by the smell of fresh cooked muffins, a splendid breakfast and copious amounts of coffee (and probably tea if thats what you drink!). There's also fruit juice if you prefer. I started with a fabulous fruit salad followed by a full cooked breakfast to die for. The jams/preserves are all home made as is the toast you spread it on and it doesn't disappoint.

Bruce and Twyla are both excellent hosts and nothing is too much trouble. Bruce even got up at 5am to collect the morning paper as I had to leave by 6.30am.

I can't recommend The Guest-Lovitt B+B highly enough. I've even booked rooms for when my parents come to visit from the UK its so nice.

Room Tip: Dr. Webster Room if you can but it books up fast because of the adjacent hot-tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Thank you Twyla for going out of your way to accommodate us in your bed and breakfast. we enjoyed the uniqueness of your beautiful home. I would highly recommend your home to all. The breakfast was good and much different from the buffet breakfasts at hotels. What a welcome break!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed in many B&B's on our PEI and NS trip, and this one was tops. Great house, great host and we were the only ones spending the night, so we really got to know Twyla, and her dog. She gave us a terrific recommendation for a lobster dinner at the Stanley Lobster Pound. Her breakfast was excellent. We only wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay ay this lovely B&B. Our room had a hot tub and very comfortable king size bed. We were travelling with my elderly monther-in-law who was catered to very nicely. Twyla is an exceptionally good host. Tremendous attention to detail, sumptuous healthy breakfasts. We highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripper063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Youngstown, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

We recently toured all over PEI and NS staying in B&B's the entire trip. The Guest Lovitt was without a doubt the finest in both provinces. felt like we were at home the entire stay, Breakfast in the morning was amazing and came with a bag of fresh muffins to go for the day! First morning breakfast nobody seem to want to leave. Twyla was so entertaining and took care of us like we lived there, The décor was outstanding, the food mouth watering and the company perfect. We recommend this without hesitation - you will be glad you chose Guest Lovitt.

Room Tip: All rooms are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rollonbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

6 years ago we went to Nova Scotia, and the Guest-Lovitt house was a place to stay. Now Guest-Lovitt and our host Twyla, is our destination. We rode 300 miles out of our way just to spend the night so we could enjoy Twyla's fine home, excellent accommodations and fantastic food. We were greeted with a glass of wine, and left with bags of Twyla's home made muffins.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hdroadking04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yarmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn - Yarmouth
Comfort Inn - Yarmouth
#4 of 6 in Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#6 of 6 in Yarmouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
8.3 mi away
Churchill Mansion Inn
Churchill Mansion Inn
#3 of 5 in Yarmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
2.8 mi away
Voyageur Motel
Voyageur Motel
#5 of 6 in Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guest Lovitt House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest Lovitt House B&B

Property: Guest Lovitt House B&B
Address: 12 Parade St, Yarmouth, Nova Scotia B5A 3A4, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Yarmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You may enter our B&B as a traveling professional, vacationer or a honeymooner. Yet you will share an experience and a feeling common to all of our guest: A desire to remember and to return. You can enjoy a complimentary glass of Nova Scotia wine, either in the widow's watch or outside in the gazebo. We hope you will take time to enjoy all that Yarmouth has to offer! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Guest Lovitt House B&B Yarmouth, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing