We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!”
Review of MacKinnon-Cann Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yarmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
MacKinnon-Cann Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We took the ferry over from Portland and stayed three nights in the 1940's room. The room was clean and comfortable. The inn was quite beautiful. We were able to take a peek at the other rooms before the other guests arrived. Neil was very friendly and accommodating. We showed up without much of a plan and he was able to give us some great tips about places to visit while in Nova Scotia. We had dinner two nights at the inn's restaurant, the food was delicious! Breakfast was good as well. Location was well within walking distance to the downtown area. We would certainly return to this inn anytime we visit this area and would highly recommend to others!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
There are newer reviews for MacKinnon-Cann Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed one planned night Friday July 4 and one extra night because Hurricane Arthur came through Yarmouth, and our ferry trip back to Portland on Saturday July 5 was cancelled and rescheduled for the next day. We were traveling with two other couples, and we were all hopeful that our ferry would be cancelled so we could spend another night at the Mac-Kinnon Cann Inn! Neil greeted us with open arms and such a friendly welcome. He showed us all to our rooms and gave us the history and explanation of each room. All our spacious rooms were lovely - well appointed, comfortable beds, spacious very clean bathrooms, and WiFi (until the Internet was knocked out by the high winds of the hurricane). When the hurricane struck Yarmouth, the power in the entire block (and much of the city) went out. We were fortunate that one of the three zones of power in the Inn remained on the entire time that other residences were totally dark. The Internet in the entire area went down for a few hours. We still enjoyed our reserved dinner at the Inn for the 6 of us with Chef Michael preparing a lovely 5 star meal with one light burning in the kitchen and the use of their propane gas stove. We had an unbelievably delicious seafood chowder, pork tenderloin for some of us (the best ever) and a scrumptious cooked-to-perfection haddock entrée for a few of us. The Blueberry Crisp for dessert was over the top wonderful. Neil was our server and did a very professional job. The next morning Neil cooked breakfast for us and served it in time for us to relax and enjoy our meal and get to the ferry in plenty of time. We enjoyed spending time with Neil and Michael to learn more about the history of the building they completely renovated, the other buildings on the property, the former owners who built the residence, etc. We had lots of time on our hands since we were stranded because of high winds and torrential rain and had to stay inside most of Saturday for our own safety. Neil and Michael went out of their way to make us feel at home and extended the utmost in hospitality to all of us. They had lots to tend to since branches and big limbs were breaking out of trees throughout their block and 2 or 3 doors down a huge tree fell on a house.. They were so quick to gather up all the branches that had been strewn in their parking area and front lawn and move them to curbside for a later pick up. They also stayed in touch with the ferry and remained vigilant by the radio (the only form of communication since the Internet was down and the televisions did not have power in the rooms.) They gave us periodic updates on the hurricanes progress. We actually found it to be quite an adventure and were thankful no one was hurt. Unfortunately there was a considerable amount of property damage in the area. Some of the locals said it was the worst hurricane they'd ever experienced in Yarmouth. Neil and Michael as well as Chef Michael all took it in stride and stayed focused on our comfort, enjoyment and safety. We want to stay at this Inn if we ever get back to Nova Scotia and have recommended it to everyone we have talked with about our trip. We wish you much success at your Inn Michael and Neil! You work very hard and deserve your great reviews!

Room Tip: Our room was the 1900 room. It was beautiful. Our friends had two other rooms that were also lovel...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann-Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had a wonderful stay at this carefully renovated Inn in the historic district of Yarmouth. The rooms are individually decorated with lots of eye for detail. Ours was spacious and spotless and had a very comfortable bed. WIFI is free. Neil, our host, made us feel welcome right from the start and prepared a delicious breakfast. Recommended to all ferry- and other travelers.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MetooAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Our short one night stay at the Mackinnon-Cann Inn earlier this month was exceptional. We had a lovely room, extremely well decorated in the "Queen Victorian" style. We were well looked after by our host Neil. It was great to have a "history tour" of the property with Michael and listen to the history of the previous owners and about the renovations Neil and Michael have done on the property. I would definitely recommend this property to anyone staying in Yarmouth, or on the west coast of Nova Scotia.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GCHOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I'm not sure what I can add to the previous reviews. This inn is lovely in every way. We took the ferry from Portland, staying one night at the inn. Neil and Mike are gracious hosts and their love for their buildings is reflected in the meticulous renovations. The location is great - in the historic district with lovely tree lined streets. Our room (1960's) was very comfortable, quiet and spotless. The inn was full but we didn't hear a sound, not even the squeak of a floor board! Breakfast was lovely, cooked and served by the ever cheerful Neil, who ran us down to the terminal to catch the ferry back. We will definitely stay here when we visit Yarmouth again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

(a) wonderful innkeeper at the top of his game. He went the extra mile to adapt to our needs/desires. breakfast was fresh, tasty and perfectly-timed for the outgoing Ferry.

(b) the rooms have pizzazz: they are cleverly decorated to evoke a particular decade. we stayed in the 1900s room, which sports a whirlpool bath.

(c) optimum location in a quiet residential neighborhood. Somewhat removed from the main drag, the Inn is still only a short walk away from shorefront dining. There is convenient access to the Ferry terminal.

Room Tip: rooms are well-described on the web site; all were restored about the same time
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Our children's first visit at the Inn was mid June 2014. Apparently, after leaving the bank card at home, they came off the boat on hope and prayer! Until funds could be received, the men were gracious enough to care for the girls with a sincere, loving generosity. The children report the Inn to be beautiful, and they've even been showered with excellent home cooked food! The Inn has provided a warm introduction to Nova Scotia and truly opened the door to a welcoming new friendship!
If you cherish special attention to the finest of details and intend to maintain the best company the world can provide, book your stay at the MacKinnon-Cann Inn!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InTheKnow2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yarmouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel
0.7 mi away
Best Western Mermaid Yarmouth
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn - Yarmouth
Comfort Inn - Yarmouth
#4 of 6 in Yarmouth
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lakelawn B&B Motel
Lakelawn B&B Motel
#1 of 6 in Yarmouth
434 reviews
2.9 mi away
Voyageur Motel
Voyageur Motel
#5 of 6 in Yarmouth
78 reviews
8.4 mi away
Churchill Mansion Inn
Churchill Mansion Inn
#3 of 5 in Yarmouth
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacKinnon-Cann Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacKinnon-Cann Inn

Address: 27 Willow St, Yarmouth, Nova Scotia B5A 1V2, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Yarmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Yarmouth
Price Range: £102 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MacKinnon-Cann Inn is located in Yarmouth Nova Scotia, on the Evangeline Trail on the Southern Shores. The Acadian Shores are full of history with the Acadian Culture and the Bay of Fundy. Come and experience Yarmouth’s dramatic views and of course local cuisine and small town hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
MacKinnon-Cann Inn Yarmouth, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing