We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not So Bad”

Gale's Eatery Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 65 Restaurants in Yarmouth
Cuisines: International
Description: Enjoy the excellent cuisine at the Gales' Eatery Restaurant. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, the menu boasts many seafood delights fresh from the waters surrounding Yarmouth.
Restaurant details
Description: Enjoy the excellent cuisine at the Gales' Eatery Restaurant. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, the menu boasts many seafood delights fresh from the waters surrounding Yarmouth.
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed at the Rodd despite many poor reviews because we have family in the area and arrived on a whim. Having just come from The Pines in Digby, I knew we should expect less, but I must say I was pleasantly surprised. Our room had a bit of a smell to it - not unlike the first time you turn on the heat in the winter. This cleared up with the open window - a nice plus, although the screen needs to be replaced. The room/hotel does need continued updating. It is clear they have let a few things go longer than they should. If you look in the nooks and crannies you'll also find needed attention to detail, but overall our two-day stay was in a clean, quiet, comfortable room on the 7th floor (with a view!).
We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The location is ideal for easy access to all Yarmouth has to offer and the pool was of a good size and well kept - although the hot tub jets needs to be repaired and towels in the pool area would be welcomed. If you are looking for elegance and pampering, this is probably not for you at this time, but if casual comfort, location, and value for the money are your top considerations I suggest giving it a try.

Thank ScotiaPrince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert W, General Manager at Gale's Eatery Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2014

Hello ScotiaPrince,

We really appreciate you letting us know about your stay. Just wanted to let you know that we are currently under renovations and would love for you to come and see the improvements we have made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 72 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2013

The Rodd may not be 'Grand' but it is comfortable.

The service, especially at the front desk is very helpful. Our schedule required late evening dining. The hotel restaurant was closed, so the girl at the front desk made several recommendations, including calling other restaurants for their closing times.

The room was dated but the bed comfortable and clean. AM Newspaper at the door and fresh apples at the front desk make a nice touch.

Also didn't have time to use the pool and sauna but looked very clean and well kept.

Value for the price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank jocosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert W, General Manager at Gale's Eatery Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2014

Hello jocosa,

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We do try very hard at the desk so make every stay a great one. Thank you for noticing the small things we do and I hope we get the chance to see you very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We where there with my hockey team, and I have to say that from a team prospective this is the place to stay. They keep teams together and leave the pool open later than normal to accommodate a late game oh and they also allow pets at no charge and give a treat bag at the desk. The staff are great, even though the lobby and rooms are a little dated. I will return with my team in the future..

Thank Cindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert W, General Manager at Gale's Eatery Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2014

Hello Cindy R,

Thank you so much for your review. Our team does try it's best to make every stay go perfect. Staying open a little later at the pool and being able to block everyone together are just some of the small of the little details that we pay attention to everyday to be able to make your stay enjoyable. Thank you for letting us know about your stay and we hope to see you on your next trip to Yarmouth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

fresh cut fries with fresh fish, you cant beat it. Joanny in the lounge served me and it was so good, yummm

1  Thank john t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert W, General Manager at Gale's Eatery Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2014

Hello john t,

We are so glad you enjoyed your experience at our restaurant. Thank you so much for letting others know and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Thank Ariane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert W, General Manager at Gale's Eatery Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gale's Eatery Restaurant also viewed

Yarmouth, Southwest Nova Scotia
Yarmouth, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Yarmouth, Southwest Nova Scotia
Yarmouth, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to Gale's Eatery Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing