We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for.”
Review of Berry's Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Berry's Motel
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Truro
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I saw the rave reviews so I thought for a quick overnight stay, I'd try this place the value seemed to good to be true and the reviews were mostly excellent. BEWARE. If it seems too good to be true, it usually is! Boy was I in for a surprise! However, I must keep in mind, I should have listened to my gut feeling about price not matching reviews. It was not what I call clean. To me clean means to dust all the room including headboard! The room smelled very musty, thought opening window would help but it didn't. Couldn't wait for the next morning to leave. I told my husband that I was not going for the "free" breakfast but he wanted to try. It was in a little back space in the office with nowhere to sit. Nothing laid out. You had to look in the shelves through things to see what was there. We left.

The walls in the room were obviously painted in spots and the color didn't quite match up so paint roller marks were visible in several places. Beds were clean but everything was old and obviously used for years. The vanity and wall around the bathroom sink were splattered with something. Honestly it looked as if someone may have tried to clean a paint roller and drips of water went all over the place.

The bed was comfortable. I can't say it was awful but I wouldn't stay again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank leg5254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RKBerry, Owner at Berry's Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

I'm sorry you weren't happy with your stay. While many of our rooms are newly renovated, there are some which haven't been; judging by your description I'm sure you stayed in one of our older rooms. As is posted in every unit, if you're not happy with your room we'll either give you a refund or upgrade you to a better one (a couple of reasonable conditions apply). As always, we're quite happy to give you a key to a room so that you can check it out beforehand and ensure it meets with your satisfaction.

We don't have a commercial kitchen so we can't offer cooked breakfast dishes, but we have a continental style breakfast which includes coffee, tea, milk, juice, toast, bagels, jams, both hot and cold cereals, yogurts, etc. The breakfast area is part of the front office and while it's not large we do have a few tables with chairs. There are styrofoam trays which you can load up and take back to your room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed at this motel Apr. 2013.( Very clean) My wife is a diabetic and we needed a room where we could cook our own meals. They put us in a suite consisting of a private bedroom , a kitchen/ living room with a full size fridge and a 4 burner stove. Rules are any noise after 11.00 p.m. you will be evicted immediately. This motel is only a 2 minute drive off highway 102 in Truro Nova Scotia. Checked in for 1 night and stayed for 4 nights. There is a shopping mall across the street with a grocery store. ( sobeys ) When I go back to N.S. for a visit I will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thomas b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RKBerry, Owner at Berry's Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Hello and thanks for taking the time to post your review. As a person with certain food sensitivities, I share your appreciation of being able to cook while on the road and that's why I'm converting more units into kitchenette suites. We have only one super-suite with a full 4-burner stove/oven, but all of our regular kitchenette suites have various countertop cooking appliances (microwave, cooktop, toaster oven, electric frying pan, etc.). Yes, we try to screen out the partiers and keep the motel a quiet place to stay (I live here at the motel and I like it quiet); if a guest is causing a commotion we'll give a warning or two first before calling the police or considering an eviction. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay and please come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Never been to Nova Scotia, and booked Berry's from Bangor Maine over the phone based on the good reviews and reasonable prices offered. Was not disappointed. Place was clean. Microwave and fridge in room. Front desk staff pleasant and helpful. Wifi signal was good and fast near the office. Although I had a smoking room, it smelled just fine. Breakfast included was good, with boiled eggs, bagels, toast, coffee, juice, cereals hot and cold. Heater worked fine, and quiet.
Food and Canadian Tire close by across the street, a short walk. Motorcycle was safe as I parked right outside the room.

Room Tip: Want good WIFI? Get a room close to the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xxxHOMEBREWxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RKBerry, Owner at Berry's Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for staying at Berry's Motel and I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Balancing quality and value can be tricky at times, but I'm glad to hear that we're getting it right!
Enjoy your travels and please come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My stay at the Berry's Motel was not pleasant at all. We stayed in the older section of the motel. My bed sheets and the mattress pad had a blood stain on them and I did not notice until the next day and I can guarantee it was not from me. .I found it very disturbing and when I complained to the owner the next day and asked for a reduced rate the next night he was very rude and told me I could leave if I didn't like it. He told me he thinks the sheets were clean but maybe the stain was not noticed. There is no way you would not have noticed that stain. it matched up perfectly to the mattress pad so I know the sheets were not washed. There is mold in the bathroom ceiling tiles and the tub needs a thorough cleaning. I HAVE NEVER BEEN TREATED SO RUDELY BY A HOTEL EMPLOYEE /OWNER. They need a lesson in customer service when dealing with customer concerns.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RKBerry, Owner at Berry's Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

I'm very sorry that your stay at Berry's Motel did not meet your expectations. I convened a staff meeting today and we brainstormed ways to prevent "dropping the ball" like this in the future. I'm now confident that everybody here has a much clearer awareness of the importance of doing their jobs right the first time. Yes, I agree that some of our older rooms look tired, and that's why we offer them at a lower rate than our renovated rooms ($59 during the last off season). If for any reason you do not like the room you're given, we'll either upgrade you to a newer room or give you a refund (a couple of reasonable conditions apply). I have cleaned off the mildew which was on a few of the bathroom ceiling tiles and painted them with alcohol-based, mildew-killing BIN 1-2-3 sealer. I inspected the bathtub and while it looks old, it is certainly clean. Eventually all of our units will be renovated, but in the meantime we offer guests the choice of a new room or the opportunity to save money by staying in an older room. Please contact me and the next time you're staying in Truro I'll definitely make sure things are made right for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

I found it easy to find near highway. Grocery store across street, decent breakfast for a quick parting in morning. Drive up room. Nice lady at check in. Was 79$ with all taxes in. This hotel is locally owned. Room was clean and the bed and pillows were wonderful. Even had a fabricville out front too. Was about 40$ then some of the larger chains in the area on this Feb night and breakfast was free and self serve (boiled eggs, waffles, oranges,orange juice, oatmeal, cereal, yogurt, bagels and cereal.)

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CatherineLawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RKBerry, Owner at Berry's Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Thank you very much for staying at Berry's Motel! Not only do we have a large Sobeys grocery store across the street, but we're surrounded by restaurants as well (all just footsteps away)! Even though you can save $40 or more by staying with us instead of a larger hotel, we're constantly working to improve our rooms and keep them updated and modern; we strive to keep our prices as competitive and fair as possible. Our free continental breakfast is a recent addition and I'm happy that you were satisfied with it. Since we don't have a commercial kitchen we are unable to offer a cooked breakfast, but we try to provide a satisfying continental style.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I read several reviews about this place before booking and I was not disappointed! The girl at the reception was very pleasant and helpful. The room is lovely and seems to have been recently renovated. A mini-fridge and a microwave in the room, flat-screen tv, lovely bathroom. What more could you ask for at $79?

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RKBerry, Owner at Berry's Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review! We have two types of rooms, Berry Best and Berry Budget, and I'm so happy that you enjoyed the Berry Best! It's great to know that our improvements are meeting your expectations. We hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Stayed there last Thursday,Was offered ether old room for $69 or renovated nonsmoking room for $79.Was told bathroom was renovated ,new flat screen.new mattresses.I opted for the renovated room,A new vanity and mirror does not constitute renovated!!! paint pealing off the wall, Tub taps dripped so bad we had to put a towel under it so we could sleep!!The flat screen turned into an OLD tv with a red picture.The carpet had more give than the mattress.!!It might be nonsmoking but the room had an old smoke smell. This room was not worth the $10 I paid extra for .My wife DID NOT consider the room "clean" I do NOT recommend this hotel to anyone!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joe c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RKBerry, Owner at Berry's Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Oh my gosh, I'm so sorry, but I can tell by your description that you were placed in an older smoking room, not one of our newly renovated units (all of which have flatscreen TVs). Did you contact us at the front desk? I can't remember a recent Thursday which was a full house, so we could have easily switched you over into the new room you were promised. I personally posted a Money-Back Guarantee in each room a few months ago, stating that if you do not find the room to your satisfaction, we'll refund your money within 30 minutes (provided the beds and bathroom have not been used, of course). I'm sorry that the front desk person made such a grave error; I'll certainly bring it up at our next staff meeting! But again, if you're not happy with a room, please let us know; we're happy to either refund your money or switch you to a new room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Truro hotels
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Truro
Holiday Inn Truro
#2 of 8 in Truro
354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn - Truro
Comfort Inn - Truro
#5 of 8 in Truro
130 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Truro - Glengarry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Stonehouse Motel & Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Willow Bend Motel
Willow Bend Motel
#1 of 8 in Truro
322 reviews
2.7 mi away
Super 8 Truro NS
Super 8 Truro NS
#3 of 8 in Truro
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berry's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berry's Motel

Address: 73 Robie St, Truro, Nova Scotia B2N 1K8, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Truro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Truro
Price Range: £45 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Berry's Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Berry's Motel is centrally located in Truro, known as the 'hub' of Nova Scotia. Many of the province's favorite tourist attractions are located within a daytrip of the motel, so you can make us your one stop destination while visiting beautiful Nova Scotia!Berry's Best Features: Friendly staff, spacious grounds, small-dog friendly (sorry, no cats please), drive-up rooms (no stairs to climb), close to many eating establishments, amenities available at the front office, iron & blow dryer available, free WI-FI, picnic area, free ice, cable PLUS, free local calls, air conditioning, large parking lot to accommodate our trucker friends, fridges and microwaves in all rooms, complimentary local paper at front desk, laundromat. Plan to stay a while? Special monthly rates available. We have both regular motel units and mini-apartment suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Berry's Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berry's Motel Truro, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing