We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very informative B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Suncatcher Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 6 Truro B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Excellent assortment of fruits, jams, breads in a very delicious breakfast. The bedroom/bathroom suite was very comfortable. Hostess was well-versed in local as well as more general information. She provided menus of local restaurants & maps of how to get to them. Price was comparable to other similar accommodations. We enjoyed chatting with other guests at breakfast too. Many thanks! Kathy & John

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuncatcherTruro, Owner at Suncatcher Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

It is always a pleasure to tell my guests about places to visit here in the Truro area as each visitor has different interests. I like to point out some of the sites that are not as well advertised such as the Dalhousie School of Agriculture's on-going project & ever-growing Rock Garden. Glad to know that you enjoyed my locally sourced jams/jellies!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed here in our way back home from Nova Scotia to Quebec, the room is very comfortable and very nicely decorated, and Keltie is sooo cute, its just like been at home, ...and the breakfast Mmm Yummy Yummy!!
We loved very much chatting with you :) Thanks you Ruth.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elkanguronomada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuncatcherTruro, Owner at Suncatcher Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Thank you for your positive comments re your recent stay here at Suncatcher B&B. I always enjoy chatting with my guests during the evening tea/coffee & dessert & again at breakfast time. Lots of guests have questions about the history & geography of Nova Scotia as they travel around our province, one of the oldest settled areas of North America.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

The name Suncatcher is based on all of the stained glass suncatchers and pieces, all designed and made by Gerry, throughout the house. Also noticeable are the strikingly complex and beautiful needlepoint pieces, also made by Gerry. The B&B, in a modern home, has two spacious bedrooms with very attractive en suite bathrooms. A unique extra provided by Ruth and Gerry is the opportunity to have a homemade dessert (we had a delicious pie with the flakiest of crusts) and coffee in the evening while chatting with them and the other guests. The next morning we were treated to a lovely, made-to-order breakfast of scrambled eggs and salmon. A friendly and comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuncatcherTruro, Owner at Suncatcher Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Thank you for your kind memories of your stay here at Suncatcher B&B. Gerry's talents with both stained glass & needlepoint are always appreciated by our B&B guests with lots of picture taking of his creations. We are glad that you enjoyed our "team efforts" of the evening pie serving. Gerry is the pastry chef & Ruth creates the various fillings using in-season fruit whenever possible. Apple with mango-flavoured cranberries is the current favourite!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

A great welcome from Ruth & Jerry, you feel part of the family and Keltie the dog is very friendly. A lovely room - Chignecto - spacious & comfortable with roomy bathroom. Lots of stained glass round the house made by Jerry. After an evening out Ruth provides coffee with homemade dessert & plenty of chat!

Room Tip: Both rroms are comfortable and roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathyS51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuncatcherTruro, Owner at Suncatcher Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2012

Keltie was very pleased with himself when I read your review to him about your time at Suncatcher B&B. He never likes to be left out! We are happy that you felt so "at home" as it is important to us that our guests feel relaxed, comfortable, & well-fed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stay here every April while attending a bridge tournament. Ruth and Gerry are the friendliest of people, the room is very clean and comfortable and the breakfast is superb.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophieNovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuncatcherTruro, Owner at Suncatcher Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

It is always great to host our returning guests over the years! We feel privileged to know that our guests enjoy Suncatcher B&B enough to stay with us whenever they are attending events in the Truro area. We look forward to having you with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I had the pleasure of spending an evening at Suncatcher B&B while in the Truro area for business. I arrived very late (sorry Gerry and Ruth)....but I was welcomed warmly and felt like I was family. I slept soooo good and was shocked to see that I slept till 7:00 AM as I never sleep past 6:00. Woke to the smell of bacon and coffee. Breakfast was perfect and prepared me for my long day of meetings. Oh yes, one other thought....Ruth and Gerry, you should consider turning that bathroom into another bedroom....it's HUGE! So many thanks for the great stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nova1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuncatcherTruro, Owner at Suncatcher Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2012

We are pleased to know that you had such a restful sleep while here at Suncatcher B&B. We often get positive comments on the size of our ensuite bathrooms & we are glad to be able to offer our guests lots of towels & lots of room!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We just spent a most enjoyable night and morning with Ruth and Gerry and their dog "Keltie", the owners of this great Bed and Breakfast in Truro, Nova Scotia.

Their home is very clean and well appointed with exquisite stained glass work and needlepoint that is of a quality we have never encountered elsewhere in our travels. A tour of Gerry's stained glass workshop is an experience not to be missed.

The breakfast was delicious as well as the tea and gingerbread served in the evening.

The bed was extremely comfortable with a choice of different pillows including wonderful grain pillows.

Their lovely keeshund, Keltie, was very playful, well controlled and never a problem. Also, she is trained not to go on the upper level where the guest rooms are located.

All of the above niceties are nothing compared with spending some time with Ruth and Gerry. They have travelled extensively and share many interesting stories of their lives while Gerry was a diver with the Canadian Navy.

The B & B is only about 3 minutes north of the Trans Canada Highway and 5 minutes out of Truro which not only makes it convenient but quiet for sleeping.

We are looking forward to our next visit in this area and Suncatcher Bed & Breakfast will be tops on our places to stay.

Garry and Connie Miles
Sydney, NS

Room Tip: Either room is excellent but the Bird Room has a day bed to accomodate a thrid person or a couple wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuncatcherTruro, Owner at Suncatcher Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2012

We are glad to know how well you enjoyed your time at Suncatcher B&B. Gerry loves to give our guests a tour of his stained-glass studio & explain the process of creating in this medium. The gingerbread recipe is a family favourite; a comfort food! We look forward to hosting you again sometime soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Truro
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Truro
Holiday Inn Truro
#2 of 8 in Truro
347 reviews
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn - Truro
Comfort Inn - Truro
#5 of 8 in Truro
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Best Western Truro - Glengarry
3.4 mi away
Tulips and Thistle Bed & Breakfast
1.5 mi away
Baker's Chest Tearoom and B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suncatcher Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suncatcher Bed & Breakfast

Address: 25 Wile Crest Ave | Colchester County, Truro, Nova Scotia B6L 6Y5, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Truro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Truro
Price Range: £83 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Suncatcher Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Suncatcher B&B, located in a suburban area of Truro but only five minutes drive from the downtown core. Suncatcher B&B is a four-level split house built in the early 1970s. The B&B rooms are the entire upper level which allows for two large airy rooms each with a spacious four-piece ensuite. After a day of traveling and sight-seeing, my B&B guests are invited to gather in the living room for tea/coffee and home-made dessert. This is an enjoyable part of the B&B experience for me as your Host as I enjoy helping with any trip plans and recommendations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Suncatcher Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suncatcher Bed & Breakfast Truro, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing