We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Drawer B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Suncatcher Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 6 Truro B&B and Inns
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Top Drawer B&B”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

The rooms are very comfortable, spacious and with separate baths. Food is wonderful, including fresh baked evening deserts! Ruth will assist you on your trip and her historical perspectives of Nova Scotia were very insightful. Great stay.

Room Tip: all are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuncatcherTruro, Owner at Suncatcher Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
I am pleased to know that you enjoyed learning about Nova Scotia's history re both the Mi'kmaw & the many cultures which have arrived in our province. History is so much more interesting over tea/coffee & cake!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
21
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Ruth is just fabulous! The evening chats with her over tea and home made desserts were so interesting - good conversations and a great insight into the area and the people who live there. Staying at a B&B (such as this one) is such a great way to meet and mix with the local people - we met many super friendly people on our trip - but Ruth was a stand out! Not to mention a lovely home, conveniently situated and fantastic made to order breakfasts!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaffa12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuncatcherTruro, Owner at Suncatcher Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you so much for your great review of your stay here at Suncatcher B&B! I am always pleased to be able to tell my guests about Nova Scotia re its history, interesting out-of-the-way sites, good restaurants for experiencing our local produce, etc.

Glad to know that the evening tea/coffee/dessert time was both enjoyable & relaxing at the end of your busy touring days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moose Jaw, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed by chance & glad we did!
Very friendly & extremely welcoming.
Room was very comfortable & clean.
Enjoyed night time desert, tea & visit.
Breakfast was marvellous, presentation was beautiful & conversation even better!
Would definitely recommend to others.
Thanks Ruth!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuncatcherTruro, Owner at Suncatcher Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for your positive review of my B&B. I did enjoy your "stayed by chance" reference as sometimes a last minute choice offers a great experience while travelling. It is always rewarding as a B&B operator to know that my guests have pleasant memories of their time at Suncatcher B&B, especially of the evening tea/coffee/ dessert time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klagenfurt, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

the suncatcher is located about 3 km outside of truro, easy to find.
the rooms are very large and well decorated.
ruth is very friendly and helps with every problem.
in the evening she offers tea and cake to her guests.-we had a very nice chat :-)
the breakfast offers nearkly everything you can dream of.
i would call it is a "more than eat and drink as much as you can" :-)

we will come back here!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gunther_hebein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuncatcherTruro, Owner at Suncatcher Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
At Suncatcher B&B I like to serve a "can't-eat-lunch" breakfast so that my guests will be able to go through the day nicely filled! At tea/coffee time each evening, I also enjoy hearing about their day's activities & their impressions about what Nova Scotia has to offer tourists.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alamosa, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Excellent assortment of fruits, jams, breads in a very delicious breakfast. The bedroom/bathroom suite was very comfortable. Hostess was well-versed in local as well as more general information. She provided menus of local restaurants & maps of how to get to them. Price was comparable to other similar accommodations. We enjoyed chatting with other guests at breakfast too. Many thanks! Kathy & John

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuncatcherTruro, Owner at Suncatcher Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
It is always a pleasure to tell my guests about places to visit here in the Truro area as each visitor has different interests. I like to point out some of the sites that are not as well advertised such as the Dalhousie School of Agriculture's on-going project & ever-growing Rock Garden. Glad to know that you enjoyed my locally sourced jams/jellies!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magog, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed here in our way back home from Nova Scotia to Quebec, the room is very comfortable and very nicely decorated, and Keltie is sooo cute, its just like been at home, ...and the breakfast Mmm Yummy Yummy!!
We loved very much chatting with you :) Thanks you Ruth.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elkanguronomada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuncatcherTruro, Owner at Suncatcher Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Thank you for your positive comments re your recent stay here at Suncatcher B&B. I always enjoy chatting with my guests during the evening tea/coffee & dessert & again at breakfast time. Lots of guests have questions about the history & geography of Nova Scotia as they travel around our province, one of the oldest settled areas of North America.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castro Valley, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

The name Suncatcher is based on all of the stained glass suncatchers and pieces, all designed and made by Gerry, throughout the house. Also noticeable are the strikingly complex and beautiful needlepoint pieces, also made by Gerry. The B&B, in a modern home, has two spacious bedrooms with very attractive en suite bathrooms. A unique extra provided by Ruth and Gerry is the opportunity to have a homemade dessert (we had a delicious pie with the flakiest of crusts) and coffee in the evening while chatting with them and the other guests. The next morning we were treated to a lovely, made-to-order breakfast of scrambled eggs and salmon. A friendly and comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuncatcherTruro, Owner at Suncatcher Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Thank you for your kind memories of your stay here at Suncatcher B&B. Gerry's talents with both stained glass & needlepoint are always appreciated by our B&B guests with lots of picture taking of his creations. We are glad that you enjoyed our "team efforts" of the evening pie serving. Gerry is the pastry chef & Ruth creates the various fillings using in-season fruit whenever possible. Apple with mango-flavoured cranberries is the current favourite!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Truro
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn - Truro
Comfort Inn - Truro
#5 of 8 in Truro
118 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Truro
Holiday Inn Truro
#2 of 8 in Truro
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Baker's Chest Tearoom and B&B
3.5 mi away
Willow Bend Motel
Willow Bend Motel
#1 of 8 in Truro
282 reviews
5.4 mi away
Super 8 Truro NS
Super 8 Truro NS
#3 of 8 in Truro
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suncatcher Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suncatcher Bed & Breakfast

Property: Suncatcher Bed & Breakfast
Address: 25 Wile Crest Ave | Colchester County, Truro, Nova Scotia B6L 6Y5, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Truro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Suncatcher Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Suncatcher B&B, located in a suburban area of Truro but only five minutes drive from the downtown core. Suncatcher B&B is a four-level split house built in the early 1970s. The B&B rooms are the entire upper level which allows for two large airy rooms each with a spacious four-piece ensuite. After a day of traveling and sight-seeing, my B&B guests are invited to gather in the living room for tea/coffee and home-made dessert. This is an enjoyable part of the B&B experience for me as your Host as I enjoy helping with any trip plans and recommendations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Suncatcher Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suncatcher Bed & Breakfast Truro, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing