We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Truro - Glengarry
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balmoral Motel(Tatamagouche)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (313)
Filter reviews
313 results
Traveller rating
118
97
42
18
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
97
42
18
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main hotelspecial thankssmall elevatorindoor poolnova scotiacomfortable hotelwould stay here againcomfortable bedsbreakfast was includedgreat place to staycape bretonvictoria parktruro areabwconferencehalifaxstopover
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
224 - 229 of 313 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We recently stayed 3 nights at this hotel. We found the facility and location to be quite nice, and the room very comfortable. It was nice to be able to open the windows for fresh air. There were a couple of small irritations: one being the very small elevator and only one making service slow; the other was the limited breakfast menu. It would be nice to have a healthier choice like pancakes. I was a little disappointed with the hotel restaurant when I had dinner there one evening. My food was not very hot but when I mentioned it to my server she quickly discounted my bill. We found the staff very helpful and friendly overall. We would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: The rooms on the back of the hotel enjoy a nice sunset and a view of the pool and greenery. More quiet than the busy road side.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJP695rue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy N, Owner at Best Western Truro - Glengarry, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear MJP695rue
We appreciate you taking your time to review our property. Thank you for your kind comments on our facilities and we take all comments to improve our facility and service to our guests. Thank you for commenting on our friendly staff. We are very proud of them and we try our best to fullfill our guests expectations. Our complimentary full served hot breakfast has a great selection and we do have pancakes on our regular menu but we will consider adding or substituting them to our complimentary breakfast for the future. Thank you again for your kind review. Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We traveled from Maine to Nova Scotia and all along stayed at Best Westerns and stayed here for one night. For some reason this one was the most expensive one, but the amenities were about the same. The front desk was helpful and the rooms and beds were comfortable and clean. The pool area was nice too.
Unlike the other Best Westerns we stayed at (where the included breakfast was a buffet), here it is served to you, so you are given an little card with a few breakfast options that include eggs, toast, juice or coffee, etc., you order the option that you prefer and then have to wait for them to bring it to you. We had to wait about half an hour for them to bring ours. If you are not in a rush, that might not be a problem, but we had hoped to get back on the road fast to go to out next destination, so a long breakfast was not what we had in mind.

Overall, it was a nice and comfortable stay but we’ve been in nicer Best Westerns.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sotada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy N, Owner at Best Western Truro - Glengarry, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear LuzdeLuna
We thank you for taking time to write a review of our property. We take all comments, good and bad, as constructive and try to do better. We are pleased you found our services to your expectations. The breakfast is a bit different in our hotel as we are a full service hotel with a convention center and most other Best Westerns are limited service with a breakfast room only. We have a full dining room and coffee shop. I'm sorry that it took a bit longer than usual for your breakfast and we will address that problem. Thank you for all your positive comments on our facilities and we hope you will visit again when you travel this way. Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We had a fantastic stay at this hotel. The hotel was in excellent shape, our supper was great and reasonably priced and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. I would recommend this hotel to anyone without any hesitation. One note would be to confirm what hours the breakfast buffet runs to so you don't miss it like we did.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank BagsPacked2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy N, Owner at Best Western Truro - Glengarry, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Dear BagsPacked 2010:
We thank you for your great review of our property. Your comments were much appreciated and your strong recommendation of our property. We take all comments to improve in all areas so thank you so much. Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My husband and I were married at this location this past weekend. The venue was amazing as it is a convention centre and can facilitate any kind of function. The reception room was large and held the dance floor off to the side so moving tables and chairs for the dance was not necessary. The staff did up a separate room for the ceremony so we weren't stuck in the same function room all night. The staff were amazing, always checking in with us to see if we needed anything, facilitating and accommodating every one of our requests. The entire day ran smoothly and the food was AMAZING! We had many comments from our wedding guests about how great the food tasted. We were given an executive suite for our wedding night and it was very spacious, comfortable and very clean. We were even treated to a complimentary chilled bottle of champagne in our room. I would definately recommend this venue/hotel to others. It is a very nice setting, very nice atmospher and the customer service is excellent!

Room Tip: Did not see the standard rooms, but the two room executive suite is well worth the extra cost coming with a very comfortable king size bed, pull out sofa bed, fire place, two bathrooms, jacuzzi tub and patio overlooking the outdoor pool.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy N, Owner at Best Western Truro - Glengarry, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Dear AshleyZ: Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your recent wedding in our conventon center. We have a fabulous catering staff and they take great pride in making a very special day even more special and as stressless as possible. Thank you again for your comments. Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

The front desk staff could not have been more helpful or pleasant. Our dinner in the dining room was excellent and priced right. Great place to end our two weeks in Nova Scotia and New Brunswick. We definitely recommend this to people staying in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank SusanShetrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy N, Owner at Best Western Truro - Glengarry, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Dear SusanShetrom: Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our property. Our whole team is very happy to hear you had a great stay. We hope to see you again if you return to our area. Thanks again. Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews