We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice tv”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stonehouse Motel & Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Truro
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice tv”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

The room was average for an older roadside motel. Comfortable bed, noisy refrigerator , relatively quiet room until someone in the room next to your unit showers or flushes then it's sound like all the world is letting loose . My shower leaked and sprayed so much water outside of the tub enclosure and I did have the curtain tucked in correctly, it was the actual shower head that leaked , the walls, the floor, the ceiling even the toilet paper roll got soaked. Over all a cheap place to stay . Keep in mind there are no amenities , no iron, no hair dryer, no coffee maker, no pool. There is a cafe with slightly below par food. Over all a cheap place to SLEEP.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dodger4yu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fred4408689, Owner at Stonehouse Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Hi
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are in the process of buying newer shower heads. I do apologize that the shower was not working well. We do not keep ironing boards or iron and other amenities in the rooms but are available at the front desk. We have retired the loud fridge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    6
    12
    12
    14
See reviews for
12
17
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

When I am on a road trip to a distant location, I look for a place to sleep. It's utilitarian and my major criteria are; Clean, cheap and quiet. The cheaper the better. I that situation, I really don't need the more up-scale comforts I would otherwise look for in a destination stay. A decent cheap breakfast is a plus.

The Stonehouse Motel and Restaurant in Truro, Nova Scotia in Canada meets those criteria well enough for me. The room was functional and clean. The fact that it was indicative of a motel 3 or 4 decades past its prime was not a concern. I know that area to be relatively crime free. The bed offered a tired traveler a good sleep.

The attached restaurant provided as good a breakfast as one would expect for twice the price.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EyesWest2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fred4408689, Owner at Stonehouse Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a positive response. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

This is a basic room for a basic price. Our room was very clean. Quite new furniture, comfortable bed. There was a fridge, no coffee maker, no microwave, no hairdryer, but I new this going in. The price was so good that this did not matter to me. There is a great little restaurant at the Motel and a nice little lounge. We had supper and got our breakfast coffee at the restaurant. There is a launderette for guests - super reasonable price. A super bang for your buck.

Room Tip: Easy to find, we were in unit 20. Nice and quiet. Great food at the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fred4408689, Owner at Stonehouse Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the kind words. I am working on having coffee makers, microwaves and fridges in all of the rooms. Next time just ask and we can get a microwave and fridge put in your room so that your stay is even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parrsboro, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

I booked this motel as an economical alternative to the hotels in Truro. I wasn't expecting a great deal based on the outside appearance. I was pleasantly surprised by the space afforded in the room/bathroom. Yes, the decor is a bit tired but it is clean, centrally located and comes at a good price. Although it is located at a busy corner, the rooms at the far end of the parking lot were very quiet. I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: sk for a room at the far end of the parking lot. Meals at the attached restaurant were very good and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank kitnkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fred4408689, Owner at Stonehouse Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Hi
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for listing some room selection tips. We look forward to another return visit to our motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

We love stopping in here for a quick bite and drinks when we are in Truro, NS visiting family. The staff are always cheerful, and the crowd friendly. There is a motel if we need a room and the restaurant serves good food, games and occasionally live music. Check out the bar in the lounge for a great place to chill and try drink specials!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

I had a great trip staying at the stonehouse motel the service was excellent an the staff was very helpful an friendly, I had my birthday while I was staying at the stone house an the bar tender was nice enough to give me a free t-shirt, next time I vist truro I will be staying at the stonehouse motel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fred4408689, Manager at Stonehouse Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Thank you for the positive review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to your next stay at our motel. Happy Birthday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
american
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Been traveling from the us to eastern canada and found the stonehouse to be one of the better stops we made. our tv remote didn't work and what seemed like seconds a man came and fixed it for us. Recommend this motel mainly because of the friendly people running it.

Room Tip: Stay here and if you have any complaints they will be dealt with asap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela-was-pleased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fred4408689, Manager at Stonehouse Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Thank you for your positive review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn - Truro
Comfort Inn - Truro
#3 of 8 in Truro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Truro
Holiday Inn Truro
#2 of 8 in Truro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Glengarry Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Truro
0.3 mi away
Willow Bend Motel
Willow Bend Motel
#1 of 8 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
1.3 mi away
Berry's Motel
Berry's Motel
#7 of 8 in Truro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonehouse Motel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonehouse Motel & Restaurant

Property: Stonehouse Motel & Restaurant
Address: 165 Willow Street, Truro, Nova Scotia B2N 4Z9, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Truro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Stonehouse Motel & Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are smoking and non-smoking rooms. Each room has an AM/FM alarm clock, television, cable and wireless internet. Hairdryers, irons and ironing boards are available upon request. There is an ATM machine at front desk. Laundry facility on site (coin operated. Ice is available at the front desk. There are three VLT machines available in Julia's Lounge. Dogs are welcomed and please inform the front desk when registering. There is additional charge for dogs. There are some kitchenettes available and some rooms have a pull-out couch. If you require a microwave and/or a fridges please makes these requests when making your reservation. There is a furnished apartment available for long term stays. We offer weekly and monthly rates. Julia's Lounge is a great friendly place to come and relax. Julia's Lounge is open 7 days a week. It is air-conditioned and has an outside patio. There is live local entertainment Wednesday and Friday nights. There is Karaoke on Sundays nights. Parichat's Asia Thai Restaurant is open from 8:00am until 8:00pm. It serves Canadian and Thai food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Stonehouse Motel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonehouse Motel And Restaurant
Stonehouse Motel & Restaurant Hotel Truro
Stonehouse Motel Truro
Stonehouse Hotel Truro
Stonehouse Motel & Restaurant Truro, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing