We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wait, Am I in Truro?”
Review of Split Crow Pub - CLOSED

Split Crow Pub
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: Pub, Brew Pub
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wait, Am I in Truro?”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Surprisingly hip bar for rather unhip Truro. Great selection of beers on tap, including some in-house brews, decent pub food, and very un-(60s,70s,80s) type music. Outdoor patio is right in what passes for the main drag. Not what I have come to expect in Truro (and that's a good thing).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Owen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    18
    11
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“$5 cover for nothing”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

So I stopped by to see some nice east coast music thinking this would be the place to do just that. I was charged $5 for a cover for a band I assumed would be coming on in just a brief moment. An hour and a half later the band finally came on. Honestly I only came in to get a sample of the music and have maybe a pitcher of beer and now I really am leaving the east coast on a bad note. Very dissapointing!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Candacedjanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lunenburg, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
104 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great local pub/restaurant”
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

We asked around and the locals sent us here. We all (4 of us) had great meals. We tried the Poutines and really enjoyed them. Nothing like it in the States. Awesome and friendly waitress, very quick and friendly. Dessert sampler was great. Beers cold and fresh. Wish we had time for repeat visits but we must keep going.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bowtiebiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“More than just a place to eat :)”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

great food menu and daily specials; lots on tap to choose from; and, if you get a table on the patio or close to the patio ... a great view of the many vehicles going down the street of which there were numerous motorcycles and cars worthy of bike/car show status and fortunately only one vehicle going the wrong way down the one way street ... fortunately no one hurt and no accident, it did provide some entertainment for those of us in the restaurant though

friendly and efficient service ...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LoriLeeTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“For Craft Beer and Music Lovers”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

The Split Crow is a great little pub for beer lovers. In addition to standard beers, they carry excellent local craft beers, such as Propeller and Garrison - and they have great pricing specials on these awesome beers (just ask the servers, they're great). If you like IPAs, Bitters, and Cream Ales, this is the best spot in town!

The kitchen made many improvements in food service over the past year. The menu is not the cheapest pub food in town, it's middle of the road, but quality is good and luncheon specials make a great lunch/beer break in the day.

Despite being on a busy street, the deck is a great location and overlooks a commercial/green area of town.

They make a big effort to bring in local original musicians - there's always great entertainment on the weekends. Site lines are not super, but it's not a big venue so one can easily get close to the stage/action.

Only Complaint: Lighting still blows. It feels like "lights on" all the time.

I love this pub.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrennanGillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Split Crow Pub also viewed

 
Truro, Nova Scotia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing