We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still love the super 8”
Review of Super 8 Truro NS

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Truro NS
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Truro
Cole Harbour, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Still love the super 8”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Starting to show it's age for sure - the pool area is in need of some work - the kids still love going and we enjoy the quick getaway that is super close to everything. The staff is always great and that is a big plus!! (quick reminder to clean the dust off the top of the TV centers in the suites - it is just from the air conditioning - but is quite bad) I am sure the place was quiet July long weekend (in the rain) due to the online reservation system that was saying that all rooms were booked (we tried Truro, Windsor and Amherst on line all saying the same thing before we called) - SO CALL for a reservation - don't take the online reservation's word if it says that there are no rooms available for the date you are looking for!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Super8t, General Manager at Super 8 Truro NS, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Daer Kathi N,

Thank you for your comments on our property. It is with guest comments that we can ensure that we offer the best service to all guests.
Our pool is scheduled to be retiled September 2013 and we will be replacing the paint with tiles. I have spoken to our housekeeping department and they will keep their eye on the dust, We appreciate you letting us know of the issue.
We have also slated to be replacing room carpeting starting with our first floor starting in July. As we update our property we do hope to bring it all update soon.

Mark H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    85
    59
    31
    14
See reviews for
108
63
11
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bridgewater, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I received a gift certificate through work for this hotel.The friendly front desk upgraded my certificate to a suite when I made our reservation. I was very impressed with our room. It was the first time I have seen two TV's in a room-one in the living area and another in the bedroom. The wireless worked great. The beds were very comfortable and we slept like babies . We like it cool, so was happy the A/C worked fine. In the suite the bathroom sink and vanity is not in the actual bathroom which we found to be convenient for getting ready to leave in the morning but some may prefer not to have to step outside the main bath to use the sink and mirror. All in all, I highly recommend a suite when staying at this hotel. The pool looked fun but it was very crowded so we decided not to try it out. The only downside was a lack of breakfast choices. There weren't any bagels, muffins or waffles, just English Muffins, two types of bread, and a bite size cinnamon bun. Everything else is similar to what one normally expects to find in a Continental breakfast. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hallmarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Super8t, General Manager at Super 8 Truro NS, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear Hallmarker,

Thank you for your kind comments. I will pass this on to our entire team here. We are very proud of our property and everyone here loves to hear when a guest has an enjoyable time with us.

We hope we can be of service to you again in the future.

Mark H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape breton
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed here so our small children could enjoy the pool. Pool is rented out for B-day parties and any member of the public can pay to swim at the pool. This is a small pool which is unsupervised and people not staying at the hotel do not care about the safety and well being of others. Myself and another quest( whom I did not know) both complained to front desk staff who did absolutely nothing. The pool was shut down for the next 2 days because someone from the community crapped in the pool the night before. So day1 pool was not safe to have our little children enjoy it. A group of 20 people from the community used the pool up until another large group had a party there. Day 2 pool out of service Day 3 went somewhere else. Complained to manager and she said she would have the general manager follow up with me--nothing done! Rooms need updating and bed hard to sleep on -very firm.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Super8t, General Manager at Super 8 Truro NS, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear Karen M,

I am sorry to hear of the experience you had while at our Super 8 in Truro. I can not apologize enough for not contacting you, I did not get a message to contact you. I have spoken to all our personnel to ensure they leave me concise reports of any guest issue so I can follow up.
We do rent the pool out at different times and have had no issues to this point. We will monitor this to ensure we do not have this problem again.
The pool had to be closed for the safety of all guests with the problem you mentioned. When this does happen, and very rarely does it happen, but certain measures must be taken to ensure the water is cleaned properly for every ones safety.

I do hope you can contact me to discuss the bad experience you had and hope we can accommodate you again in the future.

Mark H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Truro hotels

Saint John
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2013

My friend and I were driving home from a great stay in NS. We left to come home late and wanted to get home. However, the decision was made to pull off the road for some rest without a reservation. Your hotel staff supplied us with a room and we were able to get the rest we needed. Thank you, the rest of the trip home was great!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Donna Mms S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Super8t, General Manager at Super 8 Truro NS, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Dear Donna Mms S,

Thank you for your comments, everyone here enjoys to hear when a guest has had an enjoyable experience.
We hope we can be of service to you again in the future.

Mark H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Truro
Holiday Inn Truro
#2 of 8 in Truro
324 reviews
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn - Truro
Comfort Inn - Truro
#5 of 8 in Truro
118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Truro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Best Western Truro - Glengarry
1.9 mi away
Willow Bend Motel
Willow Bend Motel
#1 of 8 in Truro
284 reviews
2.7 mi away
Tidal Bore Inn
Tidal Bore Inn
#6 of 8 in Truro
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Truro NS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Truro NS

Property: Super 8 Truro NS
Address: 85 Treaty Trail, Truro, Nova Scotia B6L 1W3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Truro
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Truro NS 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring an 80ft waterslide and family pool, Free SuperStart breakfast, High Speed Internet, Local Calls and parking. Microwave, fridge, coffee maker, iron/board, in-room safes ($) in all rooms . Pet Friendly. Discounts at local Restaurants. Guest Laundry on site. Packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Truro NS reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Truro NS Nova Scotia
Super Eight Truro
Truro Super Eight
Truro Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing