We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could have stayed longer!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Baker's Chest Tearoom and B&B
Ranked #2 of 6 Truro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leighton Buzzard
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wish we could have stayed longer!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We spent one night at Baker's Chest en route to PEI .
We had a nice welcome from Maarten and Nelly and were shown to a fabulous room with a huge bed. The bathroom had a free standing bath and a walk in shower .
Maarten gave us details of restaurants nearby and instructions how to find them. There are no restaurants within walking distance.
The room was very comfortable and the huge bed meant a good nights sleep.
Breakfast 'en famille' was excellent -- we particularly enjoyed a generous fruit salad served with a thin pancake . Delicious and so fresh.
We wished we were staying longer!
We would definitely recommend Baker's Chest to anyone travelling in Nova Scotia .
The hosts were so nice and friendly .

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JJJLeightonBuzzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    18
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
150
5
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Breton Island, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Dear Marteen & Nelly,
Thank you so much for your great hospitality. You are wonderful hosts.
Your Bedroom is nice and not to forget your delicious Breakfast.
We will highly recommend this place to others.
Thank you so much
Bridget & Joe from 'Fiddlerslake B&B Apartment', Cape Breton

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bridget B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Nelly and Maarten made us feel at home straight away. They are wonderful hosts and their home is extremely clean and comfortable. We were extremely pleased to see the 24hr tea and coffee facility for the guests to use. Our room was huge and the en-suite bathroom even had a roll top bath Breakfast was lovely including dutch breads, egg dish and homemade yoghurt and fruit. Would definitely recommend others to stay if in the area.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Estey room which is at the back of the property so less road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TandyTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We spent one night at Baker's Chest on our recent trip in Atlantic Canada. Nelly and Maarten are super hosts and made us feel welcome immediately. We were lucky to get the last available room that evening, which was spotlessly clean and wonderfully comfortable. It's obvious that Nelly and Maarten have paid a lot of attention to detail to make their guests' stay as pleasant as possible. We really liked that there is 24 hour tea and coffee facilities for guests. Breakfast was great - Nelly prepared a fantastic breakfast that we enjoyed along with the company of other guests and Maarten. We would highly recommend this B+B. Thanks!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Our family of 5 stayed at the Baker's Chest when our daughters had to attend a competition in Truro.We were so happy we did.Nelly and Maarten are amazing hosts,friendly and welcoming.The room was beautiful and clean the breakfast was fantastic. Thankyou Nelly and Maarten for sharing your lovely home with our family!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed for two nights while spending our anniversary in Truro. Maarten and Nelly were very welcoming, and were quick to recommend us places to see/restaurants/etc. We spent time in the hot tub on the first night, and Maarten was very helpful getting us started.

Breakfast on both mornings was amazing, with fresh fruit and homemade baked goods. Nelly and Maarten joined us for conversation in the mornings, and made us feel very much at home.

I would absolutely recommend staying at Baker's Chest to anyone stopping in Truro, and would definitely stay again if we were in the area,

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed at the Baker's Chest on the last day of our trip to the Maritimes and were sorry we couldn't have stayed longer. Maarten and Nellie were very friendly and welcoming. Our room was comfortable and spotless. Their home boasts a gorgeous garden and patio area. Perfect for relaxing. Breakfast featured homemade dutch breads (very tasty) and a fruit crepe. Our hosts joined us and we had a great conversation during breakfast before heading out. I would definitely stay at this B&B again.

Room Tip: Very central and a good distance to the Halifax airport. And lots to see in Truro and the surroundi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Truro
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Truro
Holiday Inn Truro
#2 of 8 in Truro
320 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn - Truro
Comfort Inn - Truro
#5 of 8 in Truro
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Best Western Truro - Glengarry
0.0 mi away
Tulips and Thistle Bed & Breakfast
2.0 mi away
Willow Bend Motel
Willow Bend Motel
#1 of 8 in Truro
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baker's Chest Tearoom and B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baker's Chest Tearoom and B&B

Property: Baker's Chest Tearoom and B&B
Address: 53 Farnham Rd, Truro, Nova Scotia B2N 2X6, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Truro
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Baker's Chest Tearoom and B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Baker's Chest Tearoom and B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baker's Chest Tearoom And B&B Truro, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing