We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stopping Place on the Way to Cape Breton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Belgravia Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 6 Truro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
342 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Great Stopping Place on the Way to Cape Breton”
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We only stayed in the Belgravia Bed & Breakfast one night. The innkeepers welcomed us and made us feel at home. The rooms were nice, clean, and very large. The house was beautiful, with comfortable common areas, and very large entrance areas and hallways. The innkeepers had small children that kept them busy but did not interfer at all with our stay. It was enjoyable to hear the activity in the afternoon and early evening. The breakfast was great, served by the father of the innkeeper and another friend since the innkeepers had to go to work. They did an excellent job at preparation, serving, and providing casual conversation.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adventurer1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelgraviaBB, Owner at Belgravia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to write such a lovely review. September is such a beautiful month in Nova Scotia (my favourite!) despite the hustle & bustle of back-to-school! D'Arcy & I are both teachers, so we are fortunate to have my father, Dave, and friends Ruthanne and Lori, to help us out with breakfasts on fall mornings! We hope that you were able to make many happy memories during your visit to the Maritime Provinces and will come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
73
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2012

My husband and I stayed here on our trip home from taking our son to St FX. D'Arcy and Anne were perfect hosts. The bed the most comfortable we stayed in away from home. The overnight french toast for breakfast was to die for.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelgraviaBB, Owner at Belgravia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
We're so happy that you found us after dropping your son off at university - we hope he's had a successful year. We enjoyed getting to know you during your stay and hope that you'll be back again before graduation! Thank you for taking the time to write a kind review. It's meeting people like you that make us love living in a Bed & Breakfast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobourg, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We certainly enjoyed our stay at Belgravia. It is one of the best BandB's we have stayed at. The Serenade room was lovely with a great bed. There was a lovely nook on the upstairs landing where one could check emails or relax with a book as well as a comfortable living room downstairs. This is a beautiful old home with such caring hosts. We had scrumptious breakfasts in the elegant dining room. The best muffins we have had--lemon zucchini and orange-cranberry, big bowls of yogurt, granola and abundant fresh berries and that is all before you receive the "big" breakfast of the day!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelgraviaBB, Owner at Belgravia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a wonderful, detailed review. As you experienced, we provide a true family experience. My father, Dave, loves nothing more than chatting with new friends and telling our guests about all the treasures Nova Scotia has to offer. He & my mother, life-long Nova Scotians, love to explore the province in their spare time. Our children have grown up "in the business" and appreciate how lucky they are to meet people from all over the world. I'm sorry that we were not able to accommodate you later in the week, and hope that you will give us a call if you are ever in our area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mon, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

A little late in reviewing. My wife and I stayed here at the end of August. After some not too great inns we stayed at previously, the hosts here made up for everything. Ann and Darcy were very gracious as well as their co-hosts, Dave and Ruth-Anne. They were most helpful in planning the rest of our trip to NS and recommended some excellent accommodations and places to see.
Our room was very comfortable, clean, quiet...they thought of everything.
They have 4 wonderful children but you wouldn't know they were there. The oldest was helpful with the ice. Dave was full of information and knows the region very well. Ann and Darcy are very involved with the community and are well respected. Tried to stay here the following week on our way back to Halifax, unfortunately they were full. Great place to stay. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Front room facing the street was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2012

My wife and I have enjoyed many enjoyable and unique b&b's over the years. The Belgravia ranks with those at the very top of the list. The property is a meticulously maintained circa-1903 home well located in a pleasant community on the eastern tip of the Bay of Fundy. The hosts, Anne and Darcy and their children, are a very warm family, with an obvious passion for opening their home to guests. We stayed 4 nights. We enjoyed a relaxed atmosphere, Maritime humour, and thoughtful conversation with hosts and other guests. Our room was outstanding in every respect - well appointed, roomy, quiet and first-class comfort. The living, dining and entrance areas felt like home, and again, meticulous. Breakfasts were outstanding - fresh fruit, muffins warm from the oven, world class coffee, and outstanding entrees,such as eggs florentine, different every morning. Our daughter, with her team at a hotel nearby, was invited for breakfasts, and welcomed with genuine warmth (fortunately her whole team didn't make an appearance!) All in all, the essence of what the b&b experience is all about. We would go well out of way to return again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lionel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelgraviaBB, Owner at Belgravia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Thank you so much for your thoughtful review. We really enjoyed having you stay with us in August and getting to know not just you, but your daughter as well. We're sorry her ball tournament didn't turn out the way she'd hoped, but are happy that at least she was well fed! In the ten years that we have been welcoming guests into our home, we have felt fortunate to make connections with so many wonderful people; the three of you certainly stand out! We hope that if you make it back this way (on your way to PEI, perhaps) that you will come and stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at this gorgeous B & B a few days ago and we loved it. It was clean, comfortable and very charming! Of all the B & Bs we stayed at, this one was our favourite. The owners made us feel like royalty! The breakfast was superb and surpassed our expectations. (we had home-made muffins, strawberry granola, fresh strawberries, fresh tea served in beautiful china tea cups and even eggs florentine that were so good they could be served in a michelin-star restaurant). It was really the highlight of our trip.

Room Tip: I'm sure all of the rooms were lovely. Ours had a massive bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelgraviaBB, Owner at Belgravia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
We so enjoyed having the two of you stay with us when you were traveling in Nova Scotia and are happy that you enjoyed your breakfast so much. We take pride in our breakfasts, since it is the most important meal of the day! We use local, in-season fruit, and produce from our own garden whenever possible and have a standing order with local farmer-friends who deliver eggs to us regularly. The Eggs Florentine that you had is one that our repeat guests often will ask for. We hope that you enjoyed a break from the Ontario heat while in Nova Scotia and that we will see you again when you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain Park, NC
Level Contributor
112 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We stayed two nights, non-consecutively, during our tour of Nova Scotia. Anne and D'Arcy made our stays comfortable and indulged. Anne even remembered we liked extra pillows on our return for the second night. Breakfasts were delicious and featured local seasonal fruits as well as goodies like waffles and french toast. Our room was lovely, well-appointed. We would be happy to return to Belgravia.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Draftcross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelgraviaBB, Owner at Belgravia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
We were happy to have you stay with us both on your way to, and back from, Cape Breton! We do our best to make our guests feel comfortable and at home, and remebering extra pillows was the least we could do for you! We're also happy to hear that you enjoyed your breakfasts - something that we take a lot of pride in. We feel that when you're traveling, you never know when the next decent meal will be, so we try to send everyone off happy! If you're ever in Nova Scotia again, I hope that we will see you both again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Truro
Holiday Inn Truro
#2 of 8 in Truro
320 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Truro
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn - Truro
Comfort Inn - Truro
#4 of 8 in Truro
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Truro - Glengarry
0.7 mi away
Willow Bend Motel
Willow Bend Motel
#1 of 8 in Truro
276 reviews
1.3 mi away
Baker's Chest Tearoom and B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belgravia Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belgravia Bed & Breakfast

Property: Belgravia Bed & Breakfast
Address: 5 Broad St, Truro, Nova Scotia B2N 3G1, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Truro
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Belgravia Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the warmth & beauty of one of Truro's finest century homes. Located in downtown Truro, your stay promises to provide all the comforts of home whether you're traveling for business or pleasure. All rooms boast free wi-fi, TV, A/C, ensuite bathroom, and full breakfast. Curl up and relax in front of the fireplace, under a tree, or on the deck. Maritime hospitality and tradition await you at this enchanting B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Belgravia Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belgravia Bed & Breakfast Truro, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing