We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“busy place!”
Review of black spoon bistro

black spoon bistro
Ranked #1 of 27 Restaurants in North Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: This has a variety of food and we ate there once while in town. The food is good and the service great.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“busy place!”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We were lucky enough to get a table for lunch, found the place by accident while walking along the main street in North Sydney. Although not too kid friendly (limited kids menu) the food and service was good and a fairly modern menu compared with what we usually see on Cape Breton! Just a bit too much bread on the sandwiches, imho.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ephedra7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    55
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Books and Covers: Never Judge”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Living in Mayfair, Central London I have access to some of the world's finest restaurants, so I wasn't expecting much in this dark little establishment off the beaten track in Eastern Nova Scotia. I was deeply skeptical and nearly lost my nerve whilst waiting for a table. To be honest the place doesn't look like much, but amazingly, my skepticism was hugely misplaced. This is, by and large, a lunch time place but what terrific fresh food. The soups are great and the salads imaginative. The chowder was light and full of seafood. No stodge there. Try the fantastic maple and balsamic salad dressing. First class. I had their "trio" of salad, soup and sandwich for $9.99. A steal. The desserts were a little too decorative for me, nonetheless, I wish it were my "local" in London so I could visit regularity. Well done Chef.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We had an excellent meal at a reasonable price here. The staff are friendly and attentive and the service was great. The atmosphere and ambiance of this restaurant were fabulous.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BJCrease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“What a find!!”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

While waiting (got there early) for the ferry to Newfoundland, we picked up on this place through other travel web sites and WHAM............what a surprise. This was probably the best meal we had in two weeks in Canada Maritimes! This "hole in the wall" spot was "spot on" in terms of service, food, dessert, ambiance, and we couldn't have been more pleased. We thought that at best, in North Sydney, we would find a quick place for dinner and wait a bit for the ferry, etc., but it turned out to be a foodie experience. The chef came out with almost every served entree, and we could see him and the sous chef preparing in the kitchen. Looked like something out of "Master Chef" on TV. Anyway, a great find, great dinner, and recommend with no hesitation at all.................

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampstead
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice surprise!”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Quick personalized service, attentive but not bothersome staff, and tasty, reasonably priced food. Additionally, the bartender knew how to make a proper gin martini, well played BSB, well played!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodJudge4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed black spoon bistro also viewed

North Sydney, Cape Breton Island
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
 
Pleasant Bay, Cape Breton Island
Mabou, Cape Breton Island
 
Cheticamp, Cape Breton Island
Sydney, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to black spoon bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing