We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a nive place to stay and come back to”
Review of The Clansman Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Clansman Motel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in North Sydney
Reviewed 9 May 2012

It always feels somewhat like coming home when we check in to the Clansman. friendly people, always have a smile and a warm greeting. Clean rooms. Gooid food and plenty of it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2011

On the way to the Newfoundland Ferry, this was AAA rated and has the location. (five minutes from the ferry docks) Reservations were quick and easy, the check-in was flawless. The room was clean but dated. Beds were new and bathroom had been modernized. The furniture and shabby exterior of the building gives the impression that money is not being put back into the motel. Wi-fi worked, TV did not, fridge was new. Overall a functional place to stay if you don't expect to be impressed.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoaminHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

We had planned an auto tour and booked 8 months in advanve confirming with credit card and received a confirmation #. When we arrived exhausted they had given our room away. The desk clerk had our reservation info at the top of their ledger for the eve but could not explain why they gave our room away. There were no other openings and we had to sleep in our car! Avoid this place like the plague!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoe16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2010

We stayed here in August 2010 and were very disappointed in the rooms. WE found them to be old and rundown. Found excellent and cheaper accomodation at princeatprince.com in North Sydney. Beautiful 4 room suite, fully furnished. with top of the line everything.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olympia3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2008

We have stayed at the Clansman two to three times a year for many years. I have rcommended it to family and friends who visit Cape Breton. The management and staff have always gone out of their way to accommodate us and our needs. The motel is clean, welcoming and the food is great!!! They make us feel like old friends when we visit..... I highly recommend The Clansman! Stay in one of their cottages..... WOW!!

Stayed: August 2007
Thank ckieley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2007

First, the good stuff. The room was neat and clean, and beds were relatively comfortable. Everything worked that was supposed to, although the air conditioner was so loud we had to turn it off at night.
I have two main complaints. First, our room had no coffee-maker. Maybe I am spoiled, but it seems as though this should be a basic minimum of all hotel rooms. Especially since the dining room doesn't open until 7 am, and most people who stay at the Clansman are getting an early morning ferry to NL. I woke up at 5:30, no coffee, went to the lobby to see if they had any brewing for guests, and they didn't. They told me that because I had booked a "cheap" room (I paid over $100!!!!) my room didn't come with a coffee maker. I was directed to Tim Hortons. Not good enough.
The second issue I had was that they advertised wireless Internet. We tried to access it, and could see the "Clansman" link, but it was secured instead of being unsecured. I called to the front desk to get the WEP key so I could connect to it, and no-one there even knew what a WEP key was. They either should have open access, or at least be able to tell guest how to log on.
Both of these issues really grated me. But if you are just looking for a bed for the night, go for it. It will be an expensive stay (value for money), but at least the room is clean.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank eastcoasthiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2006

My wife and I stayed here last year for one night prior to taking the ferry to Newfoundland. We had stayed here on three previous occasions but not since 2001. The motel has certainly gone downhill!. It appears that no money is put in to maintaining the property. Everything seems old and shabby.

On this trip we had to get up early (3:30 AM) for the 0600 ferry departure. I discovered upon trying to shower that someone had removed the shower head which made it seem like I was standing under a garden hose. I got dressed and went to the office. Naturally no maintainence person was on duty - it was 8:30 PM on Sunday. The person at reception deducted CAD $14.37 from our bill. Never did find out what this odd amount represented.

There was an old refrigerator & microwave in our room. Loud clanking noises were heard every time the compressor in the fridge cycled on. Turned it off! Then, we had water dripping from the freezer section. Finally got to sleep to be awakened at 11:45 by noise in next room. I guess there's little or no sound-proofing between rooms.

Needless to say, we won't be back again.

  • Stayed: August 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank holyrood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Sydney
1.2 mi away
Hotel North
Hotel North
#1 of 4 in North Sydney
82 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
3.3 mi away
MacNeil's Motel
MacNeil's Motel
#3 of 4 in North Sydney
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn
6.4 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
40.4 mi away
Margaree Riverview Inn
Margaree Riverview Inn
#1 of 1 in Margaree Forks
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clansman Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clansman Motel

Address: 9 Baird St | PO Box 216, North Sydney, Nova Scotia B2A 0A9, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > North Sydney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in North Sydney
Price Range: £76 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Clansman Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clansman Motel is a family owned and operated business in the heart of North Sydney. We strive to make each guest feel like a part of the family. Our property supplies everything you could need on your vacation including its own restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Clansman Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clansman Hotel North Sydney
The Clansman Motel North Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing