We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chamber's Guest House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 North Sydney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed at this quaint heritage home the night before taking the ferry to Newfoundland. We had such a wonderful stay and would definitely return. The rooms were immaculate and furnished lovingly with antiques. The ensuite washroom was spotless and well equipped with hairdryer and high-end soap and shampoo.
Breakfast was scrumptious and homemade. Cheryl is a great hostess. Be sure to ask her about any item in the house that piques your curiosity, everything has a story!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
72
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed at the Chambers Guest house while driving to Louisbourg, Nova Scotia. Sheryl greeted us and was very proud of her 135 year old house. Our room was perfect and comfortable. The house is nicely located on the main drive and an easy walk to few good restaurants and has an impressive garden around it that warrant a visit. The breakfast was amazing and plentiful with everything home made.

Room Tip: For a better selection of restaurant, the drive to Sydney (About 20 minutes) is worth it with lots o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gcimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
139 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We were greeted by Cheryl who made us feel right at home. We had a great room with a private deck. The room and house was very clean and beautifully decorated. Cheryl has put a huge amount of work into this older home. And as far as breakfast. Cheryl has defined the word "BREAKFAST" in "Bed and Breakfast". Wow is all I can say. I highly recommend this B&B and if you come away from breakfast it's your own fault. Thanks Cheryl.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I stayed at Chambers Guest House overnight August 3, 2013 as I had to catch the ferry to Newfoundland on August 4th. Cheryl, the owner was very accommodating, the Guesthouse is beautifully decorated, clean and quiet. There is a lovely English garden, a big verandah and lots of books and comfortable places to sit and read. I wouls highly recommended it for an overnight or for a longer stay if you're exploring Cape Breton Island.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan20120525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

The breakfast alone is worth half the price of a room. A wonderfully decorated house. Slept sound as sound as I ever have. Great location to catch the ferry in the morning (or whenever you need to catch one). Very nice and friendly host. And the conversation with other guests is worth the other half of the price of a room. So you sleep for free. If you're going to stay in North Sydney, don't pass this one up.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

My wife and I stayed 7 nights with Cheryl and two of our adult children joined us there for 5 nights when we attended a wedding in the area. Everything is as advertised and was very much appreciated with excellent internet, very comfortable beds, lots of hot water, quiet rooms etc. The house itself has a bevy of antiques that are very interesting, each with a story. The most magnificent feature of the B&B however is Cheryl herself. Her accommodation of different schedules (late night arrival or very early morning departures), her wonderful breakfasts and her hospitality definitely made our stay a 5 star experience. Cheryl went above and beyond in many ways to ensure that we had the best stay possible and we will definitely choose her B&B for our next stay in North Sydney!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PetiteTraveller221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Chambers B&B -North Sydney

Lovely Victorian home. We had the room with a queen,2 singles and a private deck The room was very clean. Cheryl is a lovely hostess. Breakfast was good, hard-medium boiled eggs were offered as well as a variety of pastries, cereals, granola and yogurt as well as juices and fruit. The fruit cocktail may have been from a jar, but enhanced with fresh strawberries. Waffles were offered with fresh maple syrup. Fresh teas, coffee and spring water are available for guests 24/7. This is a great stop when heading to or from the Newfoundland Ferry. If you are in North Sydney on a Thursday night, a group of local musicians gather at Rollie's Wharf and bring their fiddles, harmonicas, as well as play the piano. This is free and fun! They start at 8:30 PM

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank em-T-sails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Sydney
0.4 mi away
At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
5.9 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
0.9 mi away
A Boat to Sea
A Boat to Sea
#3 of 6 in North Sydney
35 reviews
0.6 mi away
Heritage Home Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chamber's Guest House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chamber's Guest House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Chamber's Guest House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 64 King St, North Sydney, Nova Scotia B2A 2T1, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > North Sydney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in North Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chamber's Guest House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A North Sydney B&B, tastefully decorated with antiques and art work on a tree-lined lot, 3 minutes from the Newfoundland Ferry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chamber's Guest House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chamber's Guest House Bed And Breakfast North Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing