We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem in North Sydney!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chamber's Guest House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 North Sydney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in North Sydney!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Lovely place to stay, both before/after catching the ferry to Newfoundland or at any other time when you need a room in northern Cape Breton. Lovely rooms, #3 and #4 recommended as they both have en-suite bathrooms, Iced tea, lemonade and pinot noir available for self-service all the time! Cheryl, the owner operator, couldn't be nicer or more helpful. Incredible breakfast, fresh fruit, pastries, cereals, toast, croissants, pancakes (with maple syrup she taps herself!), eggs, fresh fruit, yoghurt, the list goes on and on. You have to stay here!

Room Tip: #3 and #4 recommended as they both have en-suite bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HowieBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
72
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Earlier this month, my family stayed at this fantastic B&B in North Sydney, NS when we were returning from our Newfoundland vacation by ferry. The decor was very interesting in this 1880 Victorian home complete with period furniture but very modern comfortable mattresses and modern TV. It was interesting looking at all the interesting artwork and prints in the bedroom, dining room, living room and hallways.
The section we stayed in actually had a private bathroom, an adjoining room and a private balcony. It was extremely spacious which was great for a family of four that had been travelling together for a 1 1/2 weeks. The balcony overlooked the property that was full of gardens, plants and leisure chairs for relaxation.
Our host was especially welcoming. Upon arrival, we were greeted with liquid refreshments. What really was incredible was the huge breakfast provided in the morning . Actually, it was a feast not a breakfast. In all my life, I never had a breakfast as wonderful as I had here. The numerous choices and homemade food was unreal. Not only was the choice and taste great, it was all presented beautifully, It felt we were being dined by the finalist of some fine dining show.
This is the first review I ever wrote about an accommodation I stayed in. I chose to write this review because Chambers Guest House B&B deserves it since it stands way up above the norm.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed for one night while on vacation on our way to NL. The house is beautiful, and filled with antiques. Cheryl is an amazing hostess and we felt very at home there. I would definitely recommend this B and B ....

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Had a fabulous 4 day, 3 nights at Chambers Guest House. Cheryl is a fantastic hostess. The rooms are wonderful, spacious and full of antiques. The food is absolutely wonderful, Cheryl is a wonderful cook and very accommodating, she even makes her own maple syrup. We had a wonderful time and would highly recommend this B&B to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlene N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverview, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We just spent 4 days and 3 nights at Chambers quest house and what a great time we had. The home was beautiful and so were the gardens. Cheryl went above and beyond to make our stay a memorable one. The breakfast was amazing and the selection seemed to be endless from the first time we stepped inside we felt like we were at home. We have traveled from Newfoundland to British Columbia and have stayed in a lot of nice bed and breakfast but Cheryl has the whole package. We will definitely recommend this bed and breakfast to everyone an we would give Chambers quest house a five star rating.. Thanks Cheryl for making our stay one we will never forget your amazing. John and Dallas Dunham,. Riverview New Brunswick

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dallas d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Needed a B&B close to the ferry to Newfoundland - what a treasure we found. After reading all the above reviews, I can only say ditto - Everything was delightful - charming Victorian house with period furniture, polished wood floors and a 5-10 min. walk to the harbor. Sparkling clean, quiet, even though it is located on a fairly busy street, comfortable bed, and amazing breakfast served on white linen tablecloth, with heirloom silver, china and glassware accoutrements. The garden (a gardener's garden - rife with flowers, color, places to sit and read) was relaxing and peaceful. Cheryl herself is a great host - this was one of our favorite B&B's on a 18 day trip (involving 18 different B&B's). We ate dinner at The Black Spoon in North Sydney (Cheryl's wonderful recommendation) - delicious.

Room Tip: We had the large ground floor room - lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gailmontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

A very warm welcome and home-made lemonade greets you at Chambers B&B. The Victorian house and gardens are beautiful and the rooms very comfortable. The breakfast has an extensive choice of cereals, cakes and baked goods, fruit plus coddled eggs. A very homely place. We would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bowspritgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Sydney
0.4 mi away
At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
5.9 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
0.9 mi away
A Boat to Sea
A Boat to Sea
#3 of 6 in North Sydney
35 reviews
0.6 mi away
Heritage Home Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chamber's Guest House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chamber's Guest House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Chamber's Guest House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 64 King St, North Sydney, Nova Scotia B2A 2T1, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > North Sydney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in North Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chamber's Guest House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A North Sydney B&B, tastefully decorated with antiques and art work on a tree-lined lot, 3 minutes from the Newfoundland Ferry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Chamber's Guest House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chamber's Guest House Bed And Breakfast North Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing