We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in North Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

Very good value: our room was quite large, with a private new bathroom. Everything spotless. Heather was a very kind and always busy host :-)! Breakfast not that bad. Some good restaurants in North Sydney. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harbourfront123, Owner at At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
It would be my pleasure to have you visit again.

Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    34
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
51
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

Like others, I was a little skeptical about what we would find with a B&B for $80 - we were surprised. Heather (the host) was super friendly and accomodating! The Harbourfront was a great place to stay. The room was very clean, with a newly finished bathroom. The decor was a bit old fashioned, but the bed was comfortable and we had everything we needed. The breakfast was good - eggs, toast, fruit, coffee juice. For us that was more than enough! We will definitely stay there again if we are ever in the area - great value! oh and if you are taking the ferry, it is literally right across the road - very handy access!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

We had a front room on the second floor with a wonderful view of the harbor and all of the activity associated with the Newfoundland ferries. Room was very comfortable, breakfasts were quite good and it turned out to be a great place to meet interesting people on their way to Newfoundland. The hostess, Heather, could not have nicer and more welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blue_Moon_77766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

Room was very small, bed was lumpy. The breakfast was basic. Heather was a good host. The approach to the property was uninviting both front and rear. Not well organized and appeared to be nickel and diming everything.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weswind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harbourfront123, Owner at At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Thank you for your input. FYI - We are working on upgrading beds and exterior improvements for 2013.

Regards,

Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

I was a little skeptical about staying at a b&b with 5 and 7 year old kids but the Innkeeper (Heather) was very accommodating and welcomed our family with open arms. Even when we didn't show up until 11pm at night. Heather seemed like the type of lady who would treat her guests as if they were part of her family.

The whole place was very clean and well cared for. We stayed in a room on the main floor that had 2 queen beds and a bathroom with a shower. The room couldn't be more perfect and my wife went nuts snapping pics of the room when she first walked in.

Breakfast was very good and satisfying and was a very well balanced meal.

The area where the b&b seemed very nice and was only a couple of blocks from the NFLD ferry. We just parked our car at the front curb and everything was fine.

I would take my family there over and over and we plan on staying the night again on the way back from NFLD.

Ron

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harbourfront123, Owner at At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
I would be pleased to have you stay again. As a grandmother who sees her little ones so seldom, it is always my pleasure to have little ones as my guests. Your were a pleasure.

Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

The room size was sufficient, fine for one night. Configuration not ideal, not great for long term stay, wash room was very tiny... to be expected in 150yr old house. The room/bed was dressed up nicely, but had the thinnest pillows I've ever seen. Breakfast was good, consisted of eggs, ham, yogourt, toast and jams, made up for the minor short comings.

Overall it was ok, but for $75 who's going to complain. Heather was very nice, friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: Although this B&B does have wheel chair ramp bringing you to the street side door of the house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DHPhotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Canaveral, Florida
Level Contributor
146 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

After a long drive from Prince Edward Island and after three on the road we arrived at Harbourfront B&B. Heather, the innkeeper, greeted us warmly and showed us our room, went over the next day's breakfast. She was informative of the area and made us feel right at home. The room was bright and cheerful, updated bathroom, clean towels. Wonderful home like setting even though we knew we could only stay for one night.

The next morning our noses were greeted withe the smell of canadian bacon sizzling, french toast....and coffee. All were delicious. We talked awhile with Heather and found her to be quite delightful.....even told her to look us up if she was ever in Florida.

Room Tip: Always tell your innkeeper what kind of mattress you prefer to sleep on. When available they will h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Sydney
5.9 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
6.6 mi away
Hearthstone Inn Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hotel North
Hotel North
#1 of 4 in North Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
33.6 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 123 Pierce St, North Sydney, Nova Scotia B2A 1P4, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > North Sydney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in North Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Harbourfront is a couple of blocks from the ferry to Newfoundland and across the street from the bus terminal. For travelers touring Cape Breton: we are approx 45 minutes from the start of the Cabot Trail. We are near the city of Sydney with all its entertainment events and casino, about 45 minutes from Glace Bay's Savoy Theatre and Miners Museum, the Fortress of Louisburg and East Bay the home of Rita MacNeil’s Tea Room. Also not too far from the many golf courses and festivals that are part of the summer events in Cape Breton. North Sydney offers free entertainment at the wharf in the summer season. New North Sydney Arena and new Culture and Heritage Centre will add to the pleasure of those visiting the area along with the Sports Museum and Fossil Centre, nearby in Sydney Mines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harbourfront Bed And Breakfast Inn
The Harbourfront Hotel North Sydney
At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn North Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing