We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visiting Family in the Valley”
Review of Aurora Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aurora Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kingston
Oakville, Canada
1 review
“Visiting Family in the Valley”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

My wife and I and our 4 children drove down to visit family near-by. When we visit, we usually stay with relatives, but since we planned to travel around and see the sights, we decided to stay at a hotel. The rooms were clean and the beds were very comfortable. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Good value for the money

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ken K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    52
    28
    10
    2
See reviews for
41
29
5
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bancroft
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We were pleased to find this Best Western along the north shore of Nova Scotia where not many hotels are available. We were pleased with the comfortable room, friendly staff, and availability of the on-site restaurant. The facility is a bit older but updates have been made recently. We had a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom M, General Manager at Aurora Inn, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank you very much. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Safe travels, and hopefully we will see you again should you ever travel through our beautiful Valley again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I stay here a couple of times each year while visiting friends and my review would be just about the same every time...

Very super comfortable clean luxurious beds, with high quality linen and great pillows. I could sleep the day away in these beds - amazing for a Best Western!

Nice, friendly staff, good customer service and they are always very nice to talk to.

The bathtubs aren't properly cleaned - the shower/tub surround is always full of soap scum and I've cleaned a straight line down the middle of the weeks or months worth of scum before just to prove a point! The rest of the room generally seems to be clean enough, but almost every time that I stay here the bathtub is filthy! I think they clean the edges of the tub, the taps and the interior is wiped down, but not along the shower walls higher up. No tip for the housekeeping staff here.

Quaint little restaurant attached to the hotel which is convenient + great service as well.

Rooms here are overpriced for a drive in unit motel - they should be much cheaper, but there really isn't anywhere else to stay nearby so I assume that is why they can charge "hotel" prices.

Very old dated thermostats here too (in farenheit scale which started to phase out in Canada in the early 70's) it can be difficult to get the heat adjusted here. Have experienced on one occasion a room in the winter that the heater wasn't working. Usually, if you turn it up higher, it takes time to heat up, but then becomes quite warm. It is best if you test it to adjust to your preference before going to sleep.

Overall:

If you would like a great night's sleep in a comfortable bed - I would highly recommend!
But if you want to have a clean shower or bath - ask to view a room prior to checking in.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelHelper2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom M, General Manager at Aurora Inn, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank you for your comments. I was quite distressed to read your comments regarding the cleanliness of our guest bathrooms. In all truthfulness, this is the first time a guest has commented negatively on our housekeeping. Rest assured I have brought your comments to the attention of our Room Attendants, and we will obviously do our utmost to correct any deficiencies we may have in this department. Once again, thank you for your comments. Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Spent 3 nights here while waiting to get into our house. A little older motel, very little water pressure, but overall good enough. Rooms are clean and staff is very friendly. The hotel is also pet friendly with lots of room for walks. Right on the main drag, very easy to find.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2013

This hotel (Motel) Excellent beds, comfortable rooms and great service from staff. On the negative side, We stayed in the very last room at the back of the property and had many issues with water pressure for the showers .. at one point there was a trickle from the shower head.

There is clearly a lack of accommodations in this area, but I must say that this location does it's very best to make your stay a comfortable one.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Doesn't look very impressive from the outside as is a converted motel. However, hotel rooms have all standard amenities of any Best Western (super comfy beds). What makes this location stand out, in addition to the lovely and friendly staff, is the cuisine at the on-site restaurant. Biased by its basic appearance and limited seating, we expected very basic food but the meals we got unquestionably blew those expectations out of the water. Beautiful plating and exceptionally delicious food, this could easily be a destination restaurant. I had the mesculin salad (with homemade sweet balsamic vinigarette) three times and the most incredible stuffed pumkin ravioli and my colleagues had equally exceptional meals. The prices are startling reasonable for the quailty of the food and the service staff are delightful. We arrived late to the supper sitting, in competition with a corporate party of 30ish people and the servers were honest to explain that there may be significant delays due to the large corporate party. However, they must have spoken with the chef and our food arrived within 20 minutes. And it was cooked to perfection. If you find yourself in Kingston, treat yourself to a meal here, if not a stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Tera W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingston
23.5 mi away
Slumber Inn
Slumber Inn
#2 of 2 in New Minas
109 reviews
24.0 mi away
Greensboro Inn
Greensboro Inn
#1 of 2 in New Minas
34 reviews
6.8 mi away
No photo provided
Fundy Spray Motel
#2 of 2 in Middleton
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
PillowCase B&B
PillowCase B&B
#1 of 2 in Berwick
25 reviews
8.0 mi away
Middleton Motel and Suites
Middleton Motel and Suites
#3 of 6 in Middleton
18 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hannam House B&B
Hannam House B&B
#5 of 6 in Middleton
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Inn

Property: Aurora Inn
Address: 831 Main Street, Kingston, Nova Scotia B0P 1R0, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN Aurora Inn)
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aurora Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Aurora Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kingston
Kingston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing