We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not A Great Stay”
Review of Dreamcatcher Lodge

Dreamcatcher Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dreamcatcher Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stephenville
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not A Great Stay”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I.m sorry to say this was not a very good choice! For the momey charged this was a very dated and poorly maintained room. I stayed at the B building to have a smoking room room and it was very hot and musty smelling. My biggest concern however was the electrical as when I tried to turn the bedroom light on the the walls from the outlet to the panel hummed VERY LOUDLY for several seconds till the breaker tripped and the cord to the lamp got so hot it all most caught a fire!!! Also the fan in the bathroom hummed loudly till I turned the breaker off to it. I turned the power off for the entire room to feel safe to sleep. When I left the next morning I told them what happened and not only did they make no effort to offer compensation but seemed sceptical of what Iwas telling them! I would not recommend staying here,or Stephenville for that matter,not much for scenery and seems to be a dying town in general. With so many nice areas close by avoid this part of NL all together is what I would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella C, Owner at Dreamcatcher Lodge, responded to this review, 24 November 2015
Dear Stephen H. Thank you for your review. It is regretful that your experience at DCL was so poor and I agree the room you were in left a lot to be desired. The electrical issues in this room have been resolved and the room has been updated. Should you find yourself back this way and on our premises, ask to speak to Jacey and she will compensate you for your troubles. Thanks again, Stella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    5
    7
    7
    7
See reviews for
9
6
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I had some visitors from Europe visiting for my wedding and we planned to stay at the Dreamcatcher and go bar hopping for my bachelorette. I had asked for a non-smoking, clean room and was told the day of my booking that they had made a mistake and my room was taken by someone else so my guests would have to stay in a smoking room. I called all over town but no other rooms were available anywhere else. I figured it couldn't be too bad but I was horribly wrong. The hallway was disgusting, and the efficiency unit was even worse. It smelt of old cigarettes, entire place was dirty, couch was ripped, the kitchen sink did not drain, the screen was missing from the bedroom window and the bathroom smelt funny. There was even a paper towel on a table next to a bottle of lysol that said 'sorry for the inconvenience'. The only part of my wedding week that stressed me to the point of tears was this hotel. I moved the gathering for my bachelorette to my wonderful in laws house and moved two of my friends to my aunts. My other two friends roughed it out but had a terrrible night. The smell, the noise and it just didn't feel safe with drunk idiots partying and roaming the halls. I used to waitress at the restaurant at the Dreamcatcher so I defended the hotel when people talked poorly of it, that will never happen again. This place is digusting and an embarrassment to the beautiful Bay St.George Area. The lady at the front deak ended up not charging us for the room and was very nice, but the damage was done. DO NOT STAY HERE!

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nahbenoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella C, Owner at Dreamcatcher Lodge, responded to this review, 24 November 2015
Dear Natasha. This is a terrible review and very disheartening to receive. It is also a difficult one to address and for that reason it has taken me this long to respond. I have a very good sense of how embarrassed you must have been and I am so grateful the Front Desk Clerk did not charge you for this room. As a result of your review I did a full appraisal of the building you were in and I was frankly appalled by some of what I learned. There have been many upgrades to these rooms since and I would like you to return to the DCL as our guest and review us again. Should you decide to do so, please let me know you have booked. For your terrible experience, you have my deepest apologies. Stella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I Stayed at the Dream Catcher only because it was booked by someone else. I have been reading some of the reviews from way back and the response from Stella "" it is a work in progress"" Well most of the complaints still exist except the windows not opening and the floors have been re-done and a paint job. The mat for the tub was mouldy. The internet sucks. Beds were comfortable. The water pressure was good in the shower. There was some sort of function happening there the night I stayed it was loud. You could hear everything in the building. A small cat could fit under the door (not quite) I did not feel safe the locking system on the doors was poor )I could push my door open when locked) around 1:45 am it was pushed open by someone (the chain was across) saying let me in let me in. He was going back and forth the hall knocking on doors then a large thump (sounded like he fell down stairs or something) I called the front desk a around 2:00 am to complain she said she would send someone up I was awake no one came to the best of my knowledge the noise continued for a while after. In the morning I went down for a smoke the hall smelled like a brewery and a smell of vomit as I rounded the first corner there was someone asleep in the hall (was gone when I came back up) over all maybe 3-4 hours sleep. I left at 8:00 am that morning Could not wait any longer. the rating below if not indicated means I never used it.

Room Tip: Not Here Consider booking another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank PoorExperience2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella C, Owner at Dreamcatcher Lodge, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear PoorExperience2014, I am very disheartened by your review. To feel you have to join Trip Advisor and share this poor experience publically surely is an indicator of how bad it really was. I do thank you for acknowledging the upgrades we have made. I spoke with the Front Desk Clerk regarding her response to your complaint and she did assist the individual to his room. It is unfortunate that your stay coincided with a provincial tournament, it is a busy and noisy time for any hotel. The internet issue is a frustrating one for sure and it is an issue that I too have experienced at other hotels and this day and age, it is intolerable. There is no good reason for this and I am angry that it is an issue I have to be continually dealing with. That being said, I am still on it..... In future, when you have this type of experience in a hotel, advise the Front Desk Clerk on check out. We certainly would have given you a substantial discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

I just got back from a 4 night stay at Dream Catchers and I have to say it was most enjoyable and I would recommend to all to give it a try. I have read down through all the comments and I have to say to the negative people that your comments are cruel to say the least. No pictures on the wall....well now that is terrible isn't it....who really cares about a picture on the wall. No internet....maybe you didn't know how to use your laptop because I had internet and it worked just fine. The outdated rooms and kitchen area....I had a very comfortable sofa and I had a tv that although wasn't a flat screen...worked just fine and I cooked every day in my outdated kitchen and enjoyed the meals.The staff did well and beyond for us and made each day a new memory. I will most definitely be back there and cant wait to see them all again and have laughs and chats with them all. Stella you and your staff got nothing to worry about or feel bad about. You cant please some people and some I wouldn't even try....Rod Hanlon & Marlene Harris

Room Tip: I had room 204 and no issues at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarleneHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella C, Owner at Dreamcatcher Lodge, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Ms. Harris, thank you so much for your kind review. We work hard at this business and the negative remarks are very disheartening. Thank you for giving me courage to keep going forward....best regards, Stella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

The room was quite nice. Unfortunately for me, the one service that is most important for me was terrible - if you are looking for ANY internet then don't go here. I had to go to the local restarants just to check my email. Very noisy too with some of the locals staying in the main lodge. Bring earplugs. LIke I say, the room was mostlly excellent. A good choice over the other hotels in town if it wasn't for their problems. Hope they get things together. I might give it another try.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark_S36669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella C, Owner at Dreamcatcher Lodge, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Hi Mark. I appreciate your frustration with the Internet connection at the Dreamcatcher. It seems to go on and offline at will. I have contacted Eastlink and requested a full assessment of our system and we are committed to making whatever upgrades are recommended by the Service Technician. Hopefully, this problem is being corrected as I write this response. I appreciate the fairness to your overall appraisal. We hope to see you again in the future. Stella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

My family booked an efficiency unit for the weekend while visiting stephenville, and was so disgusted that we couldn't stay both nights; one night was enough! We even considered sleeping in the car, but I doubt our infant and toddler would enjoy that. I have spent a lot of nights in hotel rooms over the years, and I must say, this place is the worst I have even seen. I have never wrote a complaint in my life, but felt the need to warn people and maybe open managements eyes for some future change. First of all, this place is outdated with an old dirty looking furniture , outdated kitchen unit that looks like it will explode if utilized , crappy tv that didn't have a clear picture , no ac, no fans, no hair dryer, no iron , disgusting soap and not one decoration!! Ha ha .. Not even one picture on the wall. We had to hang a blanket over the front door as the amount of wind coming in was unreal. By the time we left our socks were filthy and our wallets smaller. Thanks

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Caper2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella C, Owner at Dreamcatcher Lodge, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear Caper2013, I find it difficult to even repond to this review. To say it is discouraging would be putting it lightly. Our rooms are all in some state of progress forward due to the age of the buildings and the heavy usage. We do try our best to provide value for your money and obviously we were unsuccessful in your case. I am trying to replace furniture and tv's first so the art work will have to wait. As unlikely as it may be, should you find youself in this situation again, please contact the Front Desk Clerk and request to be moved to a newer room. I would be happy to discuss this further with you via telephone. Feel free to contact me. Best regards, Stella.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We spent 1 night at the lodge with 2 other couples. The guide book listed it with a full breakfast included. The lobby was nice, but from there it went downhill. Hallway dirty and trashy, lamps, tv, etc. were all plugged into one outlet with entension cords. We had 2 full beds. One was sloped on more than a 45* angle. The chair put you on the floor. After the shock of seeing our rooms, we asked what time was breakfast as we were headed to the ferry early in the morning, the receptionist said there was no breakfast, "it was false advertising". She did offer our money back, but at that point everyone was tired and we just laughed about the place for days.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella C, Owner at Dreamcatcher Lodge, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear BC, I am very pleased that the Front Desk Clerk offered you your money back, that is good customer service. I agree the 'wiring' situation is a bit much. Unfortunately, the building is very old and electrical outlets are limited. I will have a look though and see what can be done to improve that. I checked the Travel Guide for 2013 and it said 'breakfast buffet' which we did offer when the restaurant was open. I will make sure that is corrected for the 2014 publication. Thanks for bring these issues to my attention. Stella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Dreamcatcher Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreamcatcher Lodge

Property: Dreamcatcher Lodge
Address: 14 Main St, Stephenville, Newfoundland and Labrador A2N 1H2, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Stephenville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stephenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Dreamcatcher Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dream catcher Lodge is an exciting new landmark in Stephenville, NL. We have renovated and refurbished this aged and historic bldg (formerly White's Hotel). Our well trained and friendly staff will be more than happy to accommodate you with the traditional Newfoundland and Labrador hospitality we have become famous for. Our management's aim is not only to please you while you're here, but also to welcome you back again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Dreamcatcher Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing