We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't miss out!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Valemount
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Solstice Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 15 Valemount B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The view of the mountains was amazing...and the fresh mountain air was so therapeutic. Terrific, accommodating hosts, and adorable rooms. Home made furniture?! We loved it and we are coming back soon!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kris k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

Impossible to fault this B&B as the hospitality, location, food and overall atmosphere are amazing. You will not find a better B&B in Valemount.

If we return to the area we will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petermgordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Everything was simply AMAZING. Owners of this place are the sweetiest one ever, rooms are so clean and cute, food is piece of heaven prepared with love so you can feel it. I would move to live there if I could. Price is very friendly, services perfect, views and surroundings breath-taking. Whole place is charged with love, positive energy and peace. Heaven on earth, indeed!!!!!

Room Tip: Both rooms are simply adorable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mayuskita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Two couples on vacation found this to be a perfect stop on the way to Jasper from Vancouver. Two separate bedrooms, with very comfortable beds and a small living area. This whole area is very private. Tea and coffee were always available and the breakfast was so good and served by our very gracious hostess.
The B&B is at least 500m in from the highway with lots and lots of trees acting as buffer. There is absolutely no noise heard from the highway. The view from deck was one of the best we have ever seen ... snow capped mountains, river valley and trees and more trees. It was obviously a clear August evening! And to cap off everything, the next morning Mount Robson was cloudless although the B&B can hardly take credit for that!
Overall, fantastic value.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussieshepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed at this amazing B&B driving from Edmonton to Vancouver and again a few days later on our return trip home. It was conveniently right off highway #5. It is within a 5 minute drive to Valemount. We received a warm welcome on arrival, shown to our room then we relaxed on the deck with a spectacular view of the creek and mountains. We had a most comfortable night sleep. Both breakfasts were delicious and perfectly presented. We enjoyed both breakfasts with the garden doors open to the spectacular view as mentioned previously. Our hosts have an incredible artistic emphasis on detail. We highly recommend this B&B as a definite stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeDee1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The B&B is situated a couple of kilometers north of Valemount far enough to the west of the highway not to see it, but close enough to hear the howling tires of passing trucks in the evening. I can only guess that the trees between the B&B and the road, absorb the lower frequency noises.
On arrival you may be greeted by a friendly, female, brindled bull mastiff that is neither intrusive nor threatening. There is also a lovely, friendly, also non-intrusive cat, and there is no indication of any of these animals being allowed inside the B&B.
The house is of single story construction, with a log cabin appearance due to the type of siding used. There are gentle fountains in the breakfast room and on the deck, and a gentle waterfall in the attractive goldfish pond below the deck. The deck is huge, and looks over a million dollar view, and considering the color and condition of the present stain, I am sure the owners will have plans to bring this more into line with the appearance of the rest of the B&B. There are also some benches around a fire pit in the lawn below the fire deck, that may be the best place to enjoy the view. The available mosquito spray provided should probably be used if you want to sit there for any period of time, although this may not deter the other insects that you may find buzzing around you after a while.
The B&B section has a separate entrance. It is immaculately clean, fresh, and attractively decorated. The B&B living room is a comfortable size and has a TV. The entire B&B area has fast, reliable wifi access, as does the deck.
We found our room and the breakfast room a bit small. The breakfast room has 4 high backed chairs set around a smallish square table, and while of adequate size for the plates etc., my suggestion is that one should be on good terms with whoever you eat breakfast with. I'm sure there would not be a problem to eat out on the deck, that the breakfast room opens onto.
Our bedroom had a large, comfortable, queen bed, a massive log cabin styled chair, a table, a chest of drawers, bedside tables with lamps, a piece of furniture with shelves in the corner of the room, and an en-suite bathroom.
The en-suite had a toilet, a shower, and a basin, and the suite was, like the rest of the B&B, fresh, attractive, and immaculately clean.
The problem was lack of space. The only accommodation for clothes, was a pair of coat hooks on the wall above the table. The table did not have a chair so the only option to sit at the table, was to move the massive log chair to the table, blocking the door to the room and/or the door to the bathroom. I'm sure this can be easily fixed by putting a small chair in place that can slide under the table.
The bathroom has a small corner shower with glass walls and a diagonal glass door. It has a nice shower fitting that one can also take off the holder to wash and rinse, this compensates for not being able to move much around the cubicle. The shower water had a sulphur like smell, but the hosts did provide filtered drinking water in the breakfast room.
The basin was an modern bowl type set on top of a base. Attractive and functional, but almost too narrow even for the usual shaving or brushing of teeth. The toilet space was also minimal.

The breakfast was ample and attractive, with a chopped fruit salad attractively presented, and a regular egg/bacon/hash brown or toast main serving. It was certainly good enough, unfortunately we have been spoiled by breakfasts fit for kings served in other, albeit more expensive, B&B's elsewhere in BC.
Finally, it may be worth finding a way to re-locate, or perhaps tidy up, the abandoned car and trailer on the side of the driveway as one approached the property, as well as the incinerator in the parking area.
Overall, a quiet, attractive, comfortable B&B with a million dollar view offset by the negatives mentioned above, that are not enough to put us off going back or recommending friends.

Room Tip: The room without the en-suite may be a better choice, as you may be the only one using the separate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EaglesEye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solsticebb, Owner at Solstice Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

I am sorry that you were disappointed in your stay. I find some of your comments misleading and unfair and wish to clarify a few:
We are situated 1 km from the highway. Whilest it is possible to hear some residual noise I do not feel it warrants a comment about howling tires. It is more than quiet enough to hear the river below.
The shed you refer to as an incinerator is actually our wood furnace and heats our house and water.
Our water does not smell like town water as we have chosen a chemical free filtration system. Our water is tested and approved by BC Health.

This B&B is our home and livelihood and it is a wonderful opportunity for us to share this amazing view, property and our home with guests that choose to stay at Solstice Bed & Breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

A beautiful home with a stunning view. Our hosts were warm, lovely people. Outstanding breakfast. We highly recommend this wonderful B & B. Don't miss an opportunity to stay here if you are in Valemount.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rammblat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valemount hotels
8.4 mi away
Bearberry Meadows Guest House
4 mi away
Best Western Plus Valemount Inn & Suites
2.9 mi away
Chalet Continental Motel
Chalet Continental Motel
#4 of 7 in Valemount
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Super 8 Valemount
Super 8 Valemount
#3 of 7 in Valemount
557 reviews
2.8 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn Valemount
2.9 mi away
Alpine Inn
Alpine Inn
#6 of 7 in Valemount
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solstice Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solstice Bed and Breakfast

Address: 3840 Bryan Road, Valemount, British Columbia VOE 2Z0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Valemount
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Valemount
Price Range: £60 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Incredible views of three rugged mountain ranges and the McLennan River. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing