We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room and facilities let down by reception staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Valemount Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Valemount
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We always stay here if we are en-route to the Rockies and have found it good. This trip we were 'greeted' by unfriendly reception staff and our room not ready. We checked in at 5.15pm and when we looked surprised were told that usual check in time was 5pm and so it was only 15 minutes over! We were travelling with someone else so were able to leave our bags in her room until our room was ready. Reception said they would call us when it was ready but no call so had to go down to be told yes it was ready. The old maxim 'you only get one chance to make a good first impression' comes into play here. Maybe they had just had a bad day.

The young woman that helped us with our luggage and the woman serving at the bar were, by contrast, friendly and helpful.

We got a good room which was up to the usual BW standard but the initial unfriendly reception is what we will remember.

For somewhere to eat the Caribou Lodge takes some beating which is at the far end of the main street on the left.

Room Tip: Hotel is on the highway which is a busy truck route so if you like peace and quiet ask for a room at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VANDICARLTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (660)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

391 - 397 of 660 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

Great hotel. Helpful staff. Rooms were comfortable. Glasses were dirty so I just wen t down do lobby and grabbed some plastic ones. Staff were friendly and helpful. We would stay here again. Love the kids suite.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Brandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Other than the elevator being out of service, the bed in our room was quite possibly the most comfortable bed I've ever slept on in a hotel. The staff was very friendly and the room was clean and quiet. The location can't be beat as the hotel is on the very edge of Valemount with very few other buildings around it.
Our room wasn't ready for us when we arrived to check-in at 4:30pm, but we were able to find a wonderful restaurant in Valemount to have dinner and then checked in later.
I would definitely recommend this location to anyone looking to stay in Valemount.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inlovewithsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed for one night here enroute to Edmonton and couldn't have had a better stay. My girls absolutely LOVED the pool with waterslide. The room was perfect for us, great decor, staff was friendly and the food in the restaurant was great with good service.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank leahb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

After riding 600 km on our motorcycles, we really looked forward to the pool and hot tub. The pool could use a bit of sprucing up but the rest of the hotel and amenities was very nice and the restaurant has a very nice reasonable menu.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

After a long drive from Vancouver, my family and I were ready to crash into a bed, and what a surprise! I have had some not so super experiences in the past with BW and some were great too. However, this just blew our minds away. Large, clean and nicely decorated rooms, two huge queen size beds and the swimming pool and hot tub! It was difficult to get the kids to leave the next morning. Will be doing again certainly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Worlanyo M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Excellent place. Motel can be pricey in the busy season, Didn't eat at their restaurant this time but was good the last time we did so. In town, the Caribou Grill, is a most excellent place and may seem a bit pricey but is always excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valemount
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Valemount
Super 8 Valemount
#3 of 7 in Valemount
561 reviews
1.2 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn Valemount
1.2 mi away
Chalet Continental Motel
Chalet Continental Motel
#4 of 7 in Valemount
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Mt. Robson Mountain River Lodge
1.1 mi away
Yellowhead Motel
Yellowhead Motel
#2 of 7 in Valemount
132 reviews
21.2 mi away
Terracana Ranch Resort
Terracana Ranch Resort
#1 of 15 in Valemount
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Valemount Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Valemount Inn & Suites

Address: 1950 Highway 5 South, Valemount, British Columbia V0E 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Valemount
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Valemount
Price Range: £110 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Valemount Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valemount's newest hotel located in the Rocky Mountains, directly adjacent to the RW Starratt Wildlife Sanctuary & only a few minutes into the Village of Valemount. Enjoy a relaxing evening sitting in the Cranberry Lounge, enjoy breakfast or dinner in our licensed Summit Grill Restaurant, take a dip in the warm indoor pool, or take a trip down the waterslide. We have a room to suit you and your family or friends. Needing a break from City living? This is the hotel to relax and breathe the fresh mountain air. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Valemount Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Valemount Hotel Valemount
Best Western Valemount Inn And Suites
Valemount Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing