We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once too often”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Columbia River Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Trail
Certificate of Excellence
Kamloops, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Once too often”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I must say this will be the last time I stay at this location. The price has jumped quite a bit and it was already overpriced for what you get. Small rooms, mediocre appointments and the food at Foxy's is terrible. The only thing worse is that they insist on playing music for a crowd that is 25yrs younger than the patrons. The pub, Foxy's is beautiful but the shine leaves you on the first mouthful. The menu is unimpressive and the food is below average in every way except the price.
I will stay in Castlegar or Rossland from now on and will be happy to take the drive to/from Trail from now on. This place knows most of their patrons are there on business and they feel that you are a captive customer. No more for me, anyone in our company and anyone I know that is visiting the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCRHotelServiceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Columbia River Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Graham B,

Thank you for comments regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback.

We are sorry to hear we did not exceed your expectations. Foxy's Fine Food & Drinks music comes direct from Vancouver and is the identical to what you would find in a Keg Steakhouse or a Cactus Club Cafe. We have designated sections in the dining lounge where music and volume can be customized to your liking. We have just launched a new menu and invite you back to try our new selections and hope we are able to offer something to your liking. Regarding rates we are able to offer regular business local negotiated rates. Best Western also offers a Business Advantage program you may be interested in.

We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 1.800.465.6682.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Sincerely,

Brandon Schroth
Manager of Guest Services
BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    89
    41
    8
    3
See reviews for
44
53
13
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Our stay at the Best Western Plus in Trail was a pleasant suprise. We were intown visiting family over Valentined Day and where concerend that as a couple we would be missing out. Luckily the Best Western had a beautiful onsite restaurant Foxy's where my husband and I could celebrate our special day. Great food, drinks and service complimented by a comfertable sleep in a clean room. If you ever find yourself in Trail this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCRHotelServiceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Columbia River Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Joy W,

Thank you for comments regarding your recent stay at our property.

We are happy to hear we were able to save your Valentines Day!

We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 1.800.465.6682.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Sincerely,

Brandon Schroth
Manager of Guest Services
BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I travel to Trail often on business, and spent one night here. Was greeted (?) by a surly front desk agent and given a room. Parking was limited to behind the hotel, and after four hours of sleep was woken up by front desk because the Mc Donald's delivery truck couldn't make a turn into an alley with my car in its parking spot when he could have backed in to his destination. Wha-wha-what??? Do these people own the Mc Donalds?? Who's paying $165 a night to stay here- me or the Mc Donalds truck driver?? Have stayed at all three motels in Trail, and can honestly say I've had a better night's sleep for a more reasonable cost at the Glenwood and the Ray Lyn than this so-called "boutique" hotel. Won't be back.

Room Tip: If you decide to stay here, try to get a room away from the street. Also, find a parking spot in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Applethecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCRHotelServiceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Columbia River Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Applethecat,

Thank you for comments regarding your recent stay at our property.

We would like to ensure you that our Hotel is in no way affiliated with McDonalds. We apologize for your inconvenience, if you will consider staying with us again we do have designed parking for large vehicles. If you are on business with a specific company we also have negotiated rates that you can take advantage of.

We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 1.800.465.6682.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Sincerely,

Brandon Schroth
Manager of Guest Services
BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Recently stayed here again on a business trip, and as usual I have no complaints. Service was very good, and the dining was excellent as well. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and I had instant access to wifi. Very convenient location. Highly recommended

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meagan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCRHotelServiceTeam, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Columbia River Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Meagan D,

Thank you for comments regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 1.800.465.6682.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Sincerely,

Brandon Schroth
Manager of Guest Services
BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trail, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Our stay at the Trail Best Western was quiet and comfortable. I was scheduled for knee surgery at the Trail hospital the next day so I was able to sleep well and had all the amenities close at hand.The hospital is only a five minute drive from the Best Western which made for a very convenient location. We had supper at the Foxy's lounge which had a superb menu. I had the lamb chops with blueberry chutney with fresh steamed vegetables. I would definitely recommend this as your place to stay in Trail.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Wanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCRHotelServiceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Columbia River Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Wanda P,

Thank you for comments regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. We are happy your surgery went well and we were able to provide you with a comfortable stay.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 1.800.465.6682.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Sincerely,

Brandon Schroth
Manager of Guest Services
BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Creston, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This hotel was OK but should not be a plus. Very small rooms, nothing over and above. Parking is brutal. Very expensive for what you get.. The breakfast buffet was good and lots of selection. One good thing was they accomedated us with the conference room for our young hockey team to play.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCRHotelServiceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Columbia River Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Rod L,

Thank you for comments regarding your recent stay at our property.

We are glad you enjoyed the complimentary conference room for your young hockey team and the free full hot breakfast bar.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 1.800.465.6682.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Sincerely,

Brandon Schroth
Manager of Guest Services
BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I needed to visit Trail BC on business for two days and this was the only chain hotel option in the area. I was not sure what to expect, but it was way above my expectations. Check in was great, the staff friendly, and the rooms were very comfortable, clean and quiet. For such a small town, this hotel was way above my expectations. The bar/restaurant were very comfortable and had great food, drinks and great staff. Great high speed internet access worked really well, and the attached liquor store was a great convenience. The Trail airport is only 5 minutes away as well. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnnyo_and_Kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCRHotelServiceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Columbia River Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Johnnyo and Kim,

Thank you for comments regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 1.800.465.6682.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Sincerely,

Brandon Schroth
Manager of Guest Services
BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trail
1.5 mi away
Glenwood Inn & Suites
4.2 mi away
Prestige Mountain Resort Rossland
14.1 mi away
Sandman Hotel Castlegar
Sandman Hotel Castlegar
#5 of 8 in Castlegar
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites- Castlegar
4.8 mi away
Casa Alpina
Casa Alpina
#4 of 4 in Rossland
53 reviews
14.3 mi away
Super 8 Castlegar BC
Super 8 Castlegar BC
#1 of 8 in Castlegar
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Columbia River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Columbia River Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Columbia River Hotel
Address: 1001 Rossland Ave, Trail, British Columbia V1R 3N7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Trail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Trail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Columbia River Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the mighty Columbia River in the West Kootenay region of British Columbia, Trail is a special place of international sport and civic pride, of natural beauty and industry. You will find our award winning boutique hotel downtown in the heart of Trail's business district - your own personal oasis and a true home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Columbia River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Trail
Trail Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing