We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel With Some Flaws.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Squamish Budget Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Squamish Budget Inn
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Squamish
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Hotel With Some Flaws.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for four nights on our honeymoon. The hotel is nice enough, but some things are just a bit off. Good location, (One block away from downtown Squamish), nice rooms, friendly staff and clean though a bit dusty.

There is no restaurant in the hotel, so there will be no breakfast given. However, free coffee was provided and the restaurant is not too far away.

We had two issues with housekeeping -- one room wasn't ready when we checked in though they thought it was and our other room wasn't cleaned when we returned the afternoon of the second day. Other than that -- we really liked the place!

So all in all an ok hotel that has a potential for improvement!

Room Tip: Front of building is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    2
    4
    6
    21
See reviews for
8
9
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

This event occured on July 5th, 2014 at 7:00pm. My boyfriend and I booked a hotel room directly through the Squamish Budget Inn website, and we received a confirmation email advising us that our booking ($69.00/night for a Queen) was confirmed (they took down our credit card information and everything). Given that we were driving in from Vancouver, we made it a point to call the hotel on the day of our stay to advise them that we may be an hour or two late because we did not want to lose our booking. The front desk person on the phone advised us that it would not be a problem, and even took down our name in the process. We got to the hotel, and the front desk person (sounded like the same person on the phone - an Asian fellow around his late twenties or early thirties, about 5'8, wearing glasses, a worn red t-shirt and blue knee-length sport shorts) told us that we were not booked in his hotel, and demanded that we physically show him our confirmation email. We showed him, and he still continued to assert that our booking didn't go through. He stated that the hotel's website was taken down a "couple weeks ago" and that he never received our booking in his system. However, we booked the hotel only 5 days ago and their website was fully running at the time. He stated that he only had one room available and that he would have to charge us $85.00 for the room (even though we had a confirmation email for the $69.00 room). I explained to him that charging us more was unreasonable, because THEIR company CONFIRMED that we had a room booked for $69.00, and we should not have to pay a higher price for a glitch on their end. We were also concerned that we were going to get billed for a cancellation fee, given how disorganized they are. I also pointed out to him that we had even called him that day to confirm our booking WHILE we were still in Vancouver (we gave him our name and everything), and he did not mention anything about the booking not showing up on his end, even when we gave him our name. At this time, I saw that he was writing down all of his client's booking information in pencil in scraggly writing on a disorganized piece of paper! We continued to insist that we should not have to pay $85.00 for the room, and that it would only be reasonable for us to pay the price we were promised since they were the ones that made the mistake. Any decently run hotel would honor the price they promised, especially when a confirmation email was sent. He proceeded to rudely argue with us that it was by no means his own fault that the website people had not taken down the website when they were told to, and the fact that our booking didn't go through was not in any way their fault or his problem.. He then tried to "negotiate" with us, and asked us to pay "$75.00" instead of "$85.00", and told us that that was the best he could do. He went as far to act like he was doing US a favor. At this point I was so disgusted by his lack of accountability, absence of customer service skills, and the clear mismanagement of the company, that I asked to speak to the owner. He said "you want to speak the owner? Fine. I'll get his number and you can call them yourself!". And then he proceeded to fumble for a bit, as though he was trying to think of what to do. He then said "Actually, I think the owners are in China right now". Something in his attitude and behavior indicated to me that he was lying to cover his own butt. So I asked him to "then let me speak to your manager", and he stated that he WAS the acting manager while they were away. It's absolutely sickening and despicable. I can't imagine anyone who cares about their business would leave such an incompetent individual wearing a worn t-shirt and gym shorts as the front-line person and acting manager while they are out of country. By this point, we knew that he was not someone who could be reasoned with, so we decided to leave. We ended up going from hotel to hotel, looking for a place that wasn't fully booked.

Although we were very frustrated by our experience at the Budget Inn, we've decided to look at the fact that there were no rooms available as a blessing in disguise, because what would have been worse than to not have a booking there was to have a booking there and to be one of those poor unsuspecting customers who stayed there and had a dirty, horrible experience there just to save a buck or two. It's NOT worth it to stay there to save a couple extra bucks!!! We ended up finding a hotel for $85.00 in Squamish. It was WORTH it!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mishmash2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Squamish hotels

Huskisson, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We booked this hotel through Expedia, on arrival they informed us that they would not honour the booking, despite having rooms available.

When we told the staff that we would make a complaint to the booking company about them not honouring the booking, they threatened us and locked the doors.

Please do not stay at this hotel if you are looking for a safe and welcoming place to stay.

Room Tip: dont go here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mart456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

This is definitely the worst hotel I've ever stayed at. We were told that we were getting a "very nice" non-smoking room. When we got into the room.....what a joke! The room was filthy and smelled bad. I'm sure people had (recently) been smoking in it. The bathroom was disgusting (spider in the bathtub and I couldn't seem to get any hot water in the sink) and the whole room was just generally dirty. Certainly not worth the $113 we were charged for one night. Do not stay at this hotel!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MelAnnCholy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Our room was filthy. The bathroom had some disgusting stains and an ancient shower curtain - not that we could shower anyways, as there was no hot water in the morning. The front desk service was incredibly rude, charged us incorrectly, gave us a wake-up call we didn't ask for, and offered no apologies.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank t h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
279 reviews
277 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

i stayed in a single $49 room. it was tiny and the bathroom was even tinyer. it had a twin bed and no counter space or luggage rack, no place to put anything. no air conditioning but i asked for a fan and it helped somewhat. the rooms can be VERY hot in summer. everything needed a major cleaning- all the old furniture had a sticky cigarette smoke film on it. a barebones room, no fridge or microwave; the only good thing was the small flatscreen tv with many channels. the owner spoke very limited english but was nice and tried to respond to any requests that i had.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whomever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

The only thing budget about this motel is the housekeeping. It could use a good scrubbing from top to bottom.

We paid extra for the "kitchenette" because we wanted a fridge. Worst kitchenette ever! It had a sink, microwave and mini-fridge with no freezer. The drawer and cupboard were filthy and contained a bunch of cups, one spoon, and a can opener. No forks, knives, plates, bowls, drying rack, dishcloths, kettle or coffeemaker. Just a lonely spoon.

Also, there are no fans or a/c in summer so better hope to get a room in the shade. There isn't even an alarm clock.

The shower was sketchy and there were random holes in the walls. The room was generally dirty. The comforter was unwashed and had a brown stain.

I am giving it two stars because I actually slept well- it was quiet and the bed was comfortable (after removing the gross comforter!). If they cleaned the rooms properly and made sure that all the stuff that's supposed to be in the room was actually in the room, this would be a good place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zombiepirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Squamish hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Squamish
Hotel Squamish
#3 of 8 in Squamish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sea to Sky Hotel and Conference Centre
1.8 mi away
Sandman Hotel & Suites Squamish
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Executive Suites Hotel & Resort
1.2 mi away
Mountain Retreat Hotel
Mountain Retreat Hotel
#5 of 8 in Squamish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.5 mi away
Squamish Adventure Inn
Squamish Adventure Inn
#1 of 9 in Squamish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Squamish Budget Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Squamish Budget Inn

Property: Squamish Budget Inn
Address: 38012 3rd Ave, Squamish, British Columbia V0N 3G0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Squamish
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Squamish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Squamish Budget Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The best value from Sea to Sky!" The Squamish Budget Inn just completed significant renovations in early 2010. All rooms have new beds and flat screen TVs. Lots of parking, friendly staff, and special wheelchair accessible rooms. The Squamish Budget Inn is close to the heart of Squamish, The Outdoor Recreation Capital of Canada. It is conveniently located between Vancouver and Whistler on the Sea to Sky Highway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Squamish Budget Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing